We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“too expensive for average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bastion Hotel Leiden/Voorschoten

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Bastion Hotel Leiden/Voorschoten to your Saves list
Bastion Hotel Leiden/Voorschoten
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Voorschoterweg 8, 2324 NE Leiden, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Leiden
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    7
    11
    1
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
11
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Llanidloes, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for three nights at the end of September. My partner had booked through Booking.com and prepaid - but when we arrived, the receipt we were given somehow included unbooked breakfasts and a further unspecified extra amount. In total €103 euros more than shown on the printout of the receipt, which he had thoughtfully taken with him, had been taken from his account. Apologies and an explanation that the difference was due to a mistake about breakfast - but no mention of the remaining overcharge of €39 other than to say that the receptionist was telling me (in Dutch - a language which I speak fluently) why it had been charged (although she didn't actually manage to give the reason!). She did credit him with the correct amount though - so perhaps the cautionary aspect of this review is to say: be aware and check your bill
This hotel is not really in a residential area - but is quite quiet - except on Sunday mornings when the sports fields immediately behind it are utilised to the full.
The room was unexceptional - but did NOT contain a double bed. It appears that the hotel only provides twins. I spent an uncomfortable time in the gap after pushing the two beds together.
There was a safe in the room, furnishings were perfectly adequate - although the toiletries provided were meagre for the price, but there was an excellent supply of salmiac lollies and peppermints in reception
Cleaners were very enthousiastic - knocking at the door several times before we checked out, and in general the staff were helpful and friendly. The hotel is no-frills and probably more suited to catering for weekday business travellers (which leaves me wondering why the prices doubled at weekends) and is well placed to access major roads.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Hotel Leiden/Voorschoten, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for the comments which you wrote on Tripadvisor. I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. I assure you that I will take appropriate actions in order to improve our services. We regularly train our associates in assuring our perfect service and taking ownership.

I hope you accept my apologies ,

With kind regards,
Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

The hotel, a standard three star hotel is fine in all aspects. But.... I booked through Booking.com and I took my paperwork with me. At the check in I was given an invoice - they had already taken the money via Visa Debit card - and it was 103 euros more.

Now the booking was a simple unchanged booking so no excuse or confusion. They refunded the over charge without question but without explaination either (I had a dutch speaker with me so no language problems). I've checked my bank account and it's as it should be. I trust this is a one off error.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Hotel Leiden/Voorschoten, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for the comments which you wrote on Tripadvisor. I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. I assure you that I will take appropriate actions in order to improve our services. We regularly train our associates in assuring our perfect service and taking ownership.

I hope you accept my apologies ,

With kind regards,
Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Bastion Hotel is a good deal for those expecting the avarage... Almost everyting is avarage; the rooms, cleanliness, etc. The bathroom was a little below avarage. And the rooms upstairs can only be reached by stairs, so for those travelling with luggage must be cafrefull! The hotel is situated in a very quiet residential zone, but it is a little far from the center.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

This is a hotel for the business or leisure traveller in a hurry. Very clean, professional ambiance, enough parking, an opening in the porch bang on the cycle path and lush green road side, the hotel seats conveniently on a corner of Leiden to Voorschoten highway. The lobby internet is always connected (online) and the staff very friendly. But the best of all is its price-tag. In The Netherlands, you do not have many such options, when it comes to the combination of price and comfert.

Room Tip: A room on the ground floor is always good in this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2011

If you have a car/bicycle or OK with buses, than it is a very good choice. The breakfast was excellent, the rooms were cosy and very clean.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2010

Booked at short notice whilst travelling back to blighty following a business trip.
Paid 80 euro for a twin room with breakfast.
Dinner was better than a comparable travelodge by some margin but it served a purpose, to fill a hole.
Room was very clean and adequate but I wouldn't use it if I was taking wife on a city break, too far from centre to stagger back.
Breakfast was continental buffet and very good, with bacon and eggs as well.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bastion Hotel Leiden/Voorschoten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bastion Hotel Leiden/Voorschoten

Address: Voorschoterweg 8, 2324 NE Leiden, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Leiden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Leiden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bastion Hotel Leiden/Voorschoten 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bastion Hotel Groep stands for a personal atmosphere, hospitality, comfort and good facilities for an attractive rate. Bastion Hotel Leiden/Voorschoten offers a 24 hour front office, comfortable rooms and an extensive choice of dishes from the a la carte menu in the atmospheric restaurant. For relaxation and a nice ending of the day guests are always welcome in the cozy hotel bar or smoking lounge. This lounge contains an lcd television and relaxing lounge chairs. The hotel also has free wireless internet in the entire hotel. In the lobby the hotel has a computer available, for guests, for free use of the internet. Domestic animals are not allowed. Location / accessibility Bastion Hotel Leiden/Voorschoten is situated along the A4, exit Leiden/Voorschoten. This location has a good accessibility by car. The hotel can be easily reached by public transportation as well. The hotel is situated on approximately 3 km from the train station and it is near to the beautiful city center of the enchanting student city Leiden. The beach is situated on approximately 10 km from the hotel. The hotel staff is happy help and give guests touristic information about Leiden and surroundings. They will also do their utmost best to make the guests' stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. Rooms The hotel has 40 comfortable rooms. The rooms are equipped with two twin beds, a television, a telephone, a modem, a safe, free coffee and tea making facilities and a bathroom with a shower and a toilet. Food & Beverage At Bastion Hotel Leiden/Voorschoten guests can enjoy an extensive continental breakfast buffet, on weekdays from 06.00 Till 09.00 And in weekends from 07.00 Till 10.30. The atmospheric hotel is opened from 11.00 Till 23.00 For lunch and diner. When guests have a very busy schedule they can ask the hotel staff about the possibilities for a lunch package. The cozy hotelbar is opened till 23.30. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Otel, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Bastion Hotel Leiden/Voorschoten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bastion Hotel Leiden/Voorschoten, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.