We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Huys van Leyden

Save Saved
You added Huys van Leyden to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Huys van Leyden
Oude Singel 212, 2312 RJ Leiden, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Leiden
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

This is a very nice hotel with beautiful rooms. It is situated in an 16th century, characterful building, and the room we stayed in had nice wooden baulks along the ceiling and a view over the lovely roof terrace. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The room was clean, and the shower was excellent. We choose to have our nice and extensive breakfast in bed, which is a possibility for only a small surcharge. The location is within easy walking distance from town centre, along one of the town's canals.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    5
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
34
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Afula, Israel
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

This is a great hotel with a very good location for avoiding excessive noise and traffic. It is off the (Singel) canal within fairly easy walking for certain sites, e.g. Lakenhal, Rijksmuseum for Folkart. For getting to the university the walk is longer, or take the bus on the street parallel to the hotel to the Witte Singel. For walking to the central train station allow yourself at least 10 minutes.
If steps and elevators are an issue, be aware that the staircases in this apartment are a bit steep. The rewards however, for enjoying a quiet atmosphere make that challenge worthwhile. The kitchenette is very useful; be prepared for a fancy, high-tech electronic cooking stove. The hotel owners were very accomodating, friendly and helpful. We arrived in the middle of the night, and the management made sure someone was there to great us with a smile, help us with our luggage and with our car. Their car park arrangement is very fair and extremely useful.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We just spent over a week at the Huys van Leyden. Our first 8 nights were spent in the studio, which is just around the corner from the hotel The room was very clean and well appointed, if you were wanting to make a meal at all. The bed was very comfortable and with lovely linens. Only wished there had been a couple chairs or a couch to sit and read or relax after a busy day. The location is excellent though and the breakfasts (taken at the hotel) were more than sufficient. We had plans to leave the hotel and move to another town, however plans changed and we were able to rebook into the hotel for our last 3 nights. We were booked into a room at the back, which had a sitting area downstairs and the bedroom upstairs. We had direct access to the terrace from upstairs and loved it. We would sit out there in the evenings and enjoy the quiet.
Can't say enough about the staff, very friendly and helpful. Gaston, thank you for your patience, with my date changes, right up till the end! You were accommodating and understanding.
Overall a wonderful stay in Leiden. Should we return, this is where we will be staying!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Excellent location, clean and comfortable room. Warm welcome. Beautiful decor and delicious breakfast. Steep stairs to breakfast room and in our particular room. Lovely roof top balcony to enjoy pre dinner drink

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boxford, Suffolk
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

We stayed for two nights in the loft apartment and were delighted with the facilities and space in the spotlessly clean and well-appointed accommodation. Gaston was very welcoming and gave us some good recommendations for lunch. The stairs to the loft, like most canal-side houses in the Netherlands, are a bit treacherous and you wouldn't want to have heavy bags or dodgy knees!
Leiden is very pretty although the weather was poor when we were there, which made the lounge and kitchen in the Loft really useful when we didn't want to go out.
Highly recommend this hotel and particularly the loft.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We stayed at their apartment which is around the corner from the hotel. For the most part it was a positive stay. This was a last minute reservation so if we could have stayed at the hotel that would have been our preference. Having said that the breakfast was very nice and worth spending the extra $$. We took the city tour which was great and used the taxi service to go to Keukahof for the day. If you have a car ask about garaging it and walk.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here on my birthday and had the canal facing room. It was an absolutely lovely, beamed room. The staff were friendly. The location was great and Leiden has a lovely atmosphere. Breakfast was plentiful. I would recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to stay in Leiden.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Huys van Leyden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huys van Leyden

Address: Oude Singel 212, 2312 RJ Leiden, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Leiden
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Leiden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Huys van Leyden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Huys van Leyden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;