We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming town house in town centre.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Huys van Leyden

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Huys van Leyden to your Saves list
Huys van Leyden
Oude Singel 212, 2312 RJ Leiden, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Leiden
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Charming town house in town centre.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

We had a warm welcome by the owner who showed us to the room and helped us to orientate ourselves with recommendations of good places to eat, drink and visit.
The attic room we had is small and may not be so suitable if you are on the tall side, however it was fully equipped with everything you may need such as coffee- and tea making, mini-fridge, large flat-screen TV and en-suite bathroom. The mini-safe was rather pointless you as it wasn't bolted to the floor or furniture...someone with the wrong intentions could simply carry them out (including your valuables), hidden in a shopping bag.
Breakfast was excellent with good breads, cheeses, cold meats, cereals and yoghurts, as well as a choice of egg dishes.
The location in the old town center of Leiden is excellent with everything within walking distance.

Room Tip: Very tall people may not want the attic room, with restricted head space. If you struggle with narr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    8
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
39
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

We were picked up at the airport and cared for like family. The breakfasts were fantastic. Wonderful bed and room with a private deck on the back. Very quiet. Within walking distance of everything we wanted to see in Leiden. Many thanks, Gaston, Vera, and Leah and Alex.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

A wonderful place to stay the Loft apartment is a few houses away from the main hotel, and both overlook the canal. It's in a conservation zone and very pretty, within a few minutes walk of all the main sights.it is a peaceful area, and you are more likely to hear ducks or bicycle bells than cars. The Loft is up very steep flights of stairs but Gustav had no problems carrying our luggage up there. It's luxurious and a real retreat from the world, with everything you need. Gustav was charming and told us about an exhibition in the nearby art gallery and pointed out possible places to eat, though the hotel has an interesting lunch and dinner menu as well. I have stayed at various top hotels, and this matched the service at many much larger hotels. Loft living seems popular in this town, which is centrally placed to visit most of Holland's attractions. For example, Keukenhof gardens are about 25 minutes drive away. We peeked into a couple of rooms at the main hotel, and they also looked very luxurious.

Room Tip: Choose the Loft if you can manage steep stairs, if not try the Delft room in the main hotel, it'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

This hotel is in a very convenient location, quiet but not far from the main sights. It is a very atmospheric and characterful building with lovely views over the canal. The hospitality was excellent and the tasty breakfast is also highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Stayed at the Huys Van Leiden hotel for 5 nights over the Christmas break. Two things struck me as we first entered; the friendliness of the owner and the presentation of the interior of the building. We stayed on the top floor in the honeymoon suite ( it wasn't my wedding I may add) and the view from the window overlooking the canal was exceptional. The room was full of little touches which enhanced the experience
We had a power cut on the first night which left us with no hot water or heating in the room in the morning. However this was quickly rectified when power was restored.
You couldn't blame the hotel for this mishap though. The wind was horrendous throughout the night.
A good breakfast, perfectly cooked in the morning restored my faith.
Leiden is a lovely city to explore - full of charm and character, with bells that peel out throughout the day from the numerous bell towers scattered around the city quarters.
Eating places are plentiful, as are coffee shops.
We walked everywhere as the city is compact. Just be careful of the cyclists! It's not that they are dangerous. It's the fact they are silent and you must look around you before crossing or stepping out to pass other fellow walkers. Leiden has numerous cyclists ( typically Dutch ) but getting around from A to B is very easy in the city if you're careful.
Take advantage of the Wellness Room on the hotel. The sauna and jacuzzi are excellent. We booked it twice and spent a very enjoyable hour relaxing after visiting family or sightseeing.
The hotel can book a restaurant for you and provide a taxi service. They go that extra mile to ensure your stay is a pleasant experience, and it was.

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobram, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

We really enjoyed staying at this fabulous, small, friendly B & B. We stayed in the downstairs room, right on the street & were a little concerned that it would be noisy. We were surprised to find that it was quiet & we had excellent nights' sleep there. Great bed & great shower. The dining room is gorgeous, especially if you can get a window seat; eat breakfast looking over the canal. Good choices at breakfast & they provided us with gluten free bread. Leiden is pretty & a pleasant place to wander around - watch out for the cyclists though as they will not watch out for you.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, Scotland
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

My wife and I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights. From the outset we were made to feel at home and this theme continued through the visit.

It has a very picturesque location beside a canal and not too far from the town centre. We never ate in the evening but the breakfasts were very good.

Our bedroom was quite spacious but the bathroom was a wee bit small but had all the necessary fitments. It is appreciated that there must be certain restrictions in a old property like this.

During our stay I unfortunately acquired the Leiden Flu and Gaston could not have been more attentive. He even extended our stay in the room, without asking and without charge, to link in with our departure time. Customer service at its best.

We would thoroughly recommend this boutique hotel and hope to return one day and do the things the flu prevented us doing.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Huys van Leyden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huys van Leyden

Address: Oude Singel 212, 2312 RJ Leiden, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Leiden
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Leiden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Huys van Leyden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Huys van Leyden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.