We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As expected” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Leiden Centre

Save Saved
You added Ibis Leiden Centre to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ibis Leiden Centre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stationsplein 240-242, 2312 AR Leiden, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
EARLY BOOKING - UP TO 30%
Ranked #4 of 15 hotels in Leiden
Belgium
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“As expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

With the IBIS chain you know what to expect. Comfortable bed, good but basic room and bathroom. Clean, but 'sterile' atmosphere. In this hotel they installed some 'cosy' corners at the lobby, but is stays impersonal. Breakfast is rather expensive.
Location is fine, one step from the train and bus station, two steps from the very idyllic centre of Leiden. If you come by car, you can use the parking at ‘Haagweg’, it is the cheapest in town and they have a free city shuttle.
I would recommend this hotel for business or citytrip.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    65
    110
    44
    10
    0
See reviews for
48
61
44
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
kishanganj
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

stayed in a group.they did not ask for our ID. Great.the rooms were very small and they had a baby cot when we checked in .we informed the reception but after waiting for some time we decided to keep it out ourselves.so much for room service. our rooms were booked with the condition that tea makers will be provided but there were no tea makers in the room.its only after a discussion we did get one.they provided tea bags only one the first day only.breakfast menu was at best mediocre and they had same menu on all five days.would prefer another hotel

Room Tip: avoid if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Great location next to Leiden Centraal station - Schiphol Airport 20mins. - Amsterdam Centraal 35mins - den Haag Centraal 13mins - Rotterdam 33 mins see www.ns.nl
Rooms were very clean, comfortable and well thought out.
Reception staff were very pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was charged at an exorbitant 15 Euros !

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Since the first to the last day all was just excellent services, great rooms and very good safety. The room was very confortable with all the services you can expect to have, the people at the frontdesk were very helpfull for all our needs.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Terrific location. So convenient for trains and buses. Staff are so polite and helpful. It is probably the cleanest hotel that I have ever stayed in ! The four-day stay we had was very pleasant.
Leiden is a very pretty and bustling student city with plenty of bars and restaurants.
I will visit again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights whilst visiting family in a nearby town. The location is perfect, next to the bus and train stations and close to the city centre too. This was my first stay at an Ibis and was expecting pretty average quality but I was surprised at how comfortable the bed was and how modern the fittings were. It is quite basic but I still had a flat-screen TV, built-in desk with kettle and tea/coffee. The air-con worked brilliantly. The lobby is nice enough with a bar, seating are and two computers. The wifi works throughout the hotel and is fast and a strong connection everywhere. The only downsides were that breakfast was pretty limited and the main hot dish of scrambled eggs was only refilled when asked requested by customers and then there was a 15 minute wait - not a huge problem but i've had better in hotels charging €15 for breakfast. The staff however were friendly and professional so overall i have to say this hotel changed my perception of Ibis hotels for the better.

Room Tip: My 6th floor bedroom at the back of the hotel had a view over central Leiden
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corsham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed here for three nights whilst our son started at University. It was ideally located between the centre of town and the northern university campus and some of the halls of residence at Schmaaraglaan). The bed was really comfy even though the room was pretty basic, but it is well priced and only a minute from the train station, making it a great base to explore all of Leiden from. The staff are very friendly and incredibly helpful. We did not eat there, but would definitely use it again when we next visit and it is good value for money compared with the more boutique and central hotels, especially if you intend to hire a car for a day or two, as there is a car park right behind the hotel.

Room Tip: Higher rooms at the rear get a city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Leiden Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Leiden Centre

Address: Stationsplein 240-242, 2312 AR Leiden, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Leiden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 hotels in Leiden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Leiden Centre 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Leiden lies right next to the Central Station and just minutes’ walking from the historical Leiden centre city. It offers modern, compact accommodation with flat-screen cable TV and free Wi-Fi.The contemporary designed rooms have comfortable box-spring beds and a private bathroom with free toiletries. Other amenities include pay TV channels and a work desk.Bar Rendez-Vous offers an extensive breakfast every morning. During the day guests of Ibis Leiden Centre can enjoy a coffee, a drink or a snack here. Leiden’s city centre offers a wide range of restaurants and bars.Schiphol Airport is just 20 minutes away by train from Ibis Leiden Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, ACCOR, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Ibis Leiden Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Leiden Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.