We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Leiden Centre

Save Saved
You added Ibis Leiden Centre to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ibis Leiden Centre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stationsplein 240-242, 2312 AR Leiden, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 12 hotels in Leiden
Write a Review

222 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    62
    110
    41
    9
    0
See reviews for
45
60
41
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cumbria
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Made a return visit with two friends. The hotel is very convenient for the town and the Railway Station. The Hotel is modern, clean and the staff friendly and helpful. The best Ibis I have stayed in. The weather was very hot and the Air-con was well up to the task . Bathrooms are fine and have a big walk in shower. The views from the top floors are good and overlook over the town. The room rate was very competitive, booked on a promotion deal on the Ibis web site. The rate did not include breakfast but we chose not to pay the 15 Euro per day as there are cheaper alternatives near by. Leiden is a charming town and being close to the station, the transfer from the airport is easy It is also simple to use the Hotel as a base to visit Amsterdam and Den Haag.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brummen, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

We live in the Netherlands, but we wanted to explore a different city - not to mention giving my in- laws a break from us as we live in their house while we wait to occupy our own.
We decided to visit Leiden and stay in the Ibis Hotel. What a great choice! As mentioned, it is a no frills hotel, and some folks may find it a bit cramped, but it is very clean, the staff is friendly and accommodating, and the our air conditioning worked just fine- a welcome respite from the heat wave we have been experiencing. The rooms are soundproofed, so there was no disturbance from the trains on the (far) opposite side of the street. The hotel is in easy walking distance of shopping, restaurants and nightlife.
My husband and I went walking early Sunday morning in Leiden, and it was very quiet, with hardly anyone about. You won't be able to do that in Amsterdam!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

This hotel is so inexpensive that you'll be leaving with the uneasy feeling that you have been stealing from it.

Don't expect any frills. If you want to sit in a hotel room all day and enjoy questionable luxuries like an iron and an ironing board, a wall-filling TV screen and/or a water cooker, this is not the hotel for you. The rooms are very basic but functional. Me and my wife don't care for ironing or hot water so much, so we were fine with it.

We had a bit of an issue with the airconditioning, though.
It tended to stop conditioning the air once in a while and started flashing error codes at us in the middle of the night. After the error codes stopped flashing, I could turn the airconditioning on again. As this behaviour was unpredictable, the AC repairman couldn't do much for us.
But oh well, it was so inexpensive, I wouldn't dare complaining about this.

I'm not even complaining about that one time the TV set turned itself on in the middle of the night!

The staff is friendlier than in more expensive hotels, as is often the case.

I would recommend this hotel to everyone who wants to visit Leiden and doesn't need a luxurious stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

This Hotel was excellent for a two night stay in Leiden to visit my university student son. It was very clean, new and a short walk from the station. Although it was on a main road and close to the main bus terminus, my room, which was on the back of the building, was quiet and comfortable.
There is a short cut through the car park at the back of the building for access to the centre of Leiden and there are beautiful canal walks, boat trips and shopping streets within easy distance.
All in all the hotel made an excellent base for exploring the town and for a short stay.
Purchasing travel tickets couldn't be easier from the station and Amsterdam, The Hague, Rotterdam and numerous picturesque small towns are within easy travelling distance. The sea is but a 30minute flat bike ride away. Leiden makes a wonderful less dirty, less crowded base to explore this western side of the Nederlands than Amsterdam which I found expensive and overrated.

Room Tip: The rear of the building is quieter and there is a view of the town from the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

After staying in 21 different hotels in a month of touring, coming to Leiden was a welcomed relief!
Taking the train from Schiphol airport to Leiden was easy and when I arrived at the hotel, the staff were very polite and spoke English well. I had a lovely room on the 6th floor overlooking Leiden city. The room was large and clean. The bathroom was larger than a lot of places I've stayed. The bed was the best part, as soon as I got in it felt like I was sleeping on a cloud, the pillows and mattress were marvellous and by far the best out of the previous hotels I'd stayed in. A pleasant stay for sure and so glad I spent 4 nights here. Also Breakfasts were satisfying with a variety of foods to choose from. Highly recommended for sure.

Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2312ARibisLeiden, Manager at Ibis Leiden Centre, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review. It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.
Kind regards,
Ibis Leiden Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

It's only an Ibis hotel, so do not expect a lot of extra's. But it has an excellent location and good service. Next to the railway and bus station. Buying a ticket for train or bus can be little difficult, though. Ask at the desk. There are two wharehouses in the very close neighbourhood and the Kruidvat shop can provide you with all the cosmetic essentials. Rental bikes for hire at 16 euro a day, but you do not realy need them for a visit to Leiden town.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ibis Leiden Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Leiden Centre

Address: Stationsplein 240-242, 2312 AR Leiden, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Leiden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 hotels in Leiden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Leiden Centre 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Leiden lies right next to the Central Station and just minutes’ walking from the historical Leiden centre city. It offers modern, compact accommodation with flat-screen cable TV and free Wi-Fi.The contemporary designed rooms have comfortable box-spring beds and a private bathroom with free toiletries. Other amenities include pay TV channels and a work desk.Bar Rendez-Vous offers an extensive breakfast every morning. During the day guests of Ibis Leiden Centre can enjoy a coffee, a drink or a snack here. Leiden’s city centre offers a wide range of restaurants and bars.Schiphol Airport is just 20 minutes away by train from Ibis Leiden Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, Despegar.com, Agoda and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Ibis Leiden Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Leiden Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.