We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, fast wi-fi, too bad for breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Leiden Centre

Save Saved
You added Ibis Leiden Centre to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ibis Leiden Centre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stationsplein 240-242, Leiden 2312 AR, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 12 hotels in Leiden
Basel, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, fast wi-fi, too bad for breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

I was there for two weeks for work.
The hotel is quite pricey, but they we were not able to find a cheaper location nearby, so that's probably in the normal Leiden price range.
The room was big, the bathroom big and very clean, and the wifi quite fast for an hotel.
The hotel was very quite and I never had any trouble sleeping

The only disappointment was the breakfast: not included in the price, you could have it for 10 euros a day.... and it was really nothing special. After the first day I always went to the Starbucks close by.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2312ARibisLeiden, Manager at Ibis Leiden Centre, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thanks for your review. I am glad you had a good stay with us. See you on your next trip to Leiden hopefully!
Kind regards,
Ibis Leicen Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    62
    109
    40
    9
    0
See reviews for
45
58
41
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

The hotel is right outside the central station. There are 2 supermarkets nearby, the ALDI is next door; Jumbo is further down the corner.

Everything in Leiden is within walking distance. Walk around, you will find everything you need.

Not much to say about the room besides it is ibis standard, nice and clean. Our room is on the second floor overlooking a residential garden.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2312ARibisLeiden, Manager at Ibis Leiden Centre, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review. It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.
Kind regards
Ibis Leiden Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Düsseldorf
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Tidy, cheap and well situated for day trips and sights. Spartan rooms, good matresses, only one towel per person, no toilett brush, no safe in the room. Thin walls and doors, you can hear everybody who is having a shower, talking in the hall (if you have a room on the First floor), or coming home late - the closing of the door is very loud. Tables in the bar and the breakfast room are not wippend, breakfast nothing special. No private parking place as indicated, only 3 parking places for 15 minutes' parking, but public parking at the back for 12.40 euros per day. Parking place difficult to find as there are no signs.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back side less noisy, busy street in front of the hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2312ARibisLeiden, Manager at Ibis Leiden Centre, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We treat all of our comments with the utmost seriousness and we will be investigating this matter accordingly.
Kind regards,
Ibis Leiden Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We have not stayed in an IBIS for quite a while as we had a poor experience, elsewhere a while ago. However this IBIS is really good.
We were in Leiden as we had visited the Keukenkof Gardens.
Must say it was tricky to find the car park round the back and of course our sat nav took us to the front and this is buses only.
We had one of the most comfortable beds we have slept in for a while and the room was really well appointed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2312ARibisLeiden, Manager at Ibis Leiden Centre, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review. It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.
Kind regards
Ibis Leiden Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Being from the US, when I think of a hotel by the train station I immediately think it will be a bad part of town or a trashy hotel...this is the opposite case for the Ibis Leiden hotel! The proximity to the train station merely adds to the convenience (we stayed there 2 nights before departing for home and were a 15-20 minute train ride to the Schipol airport). The rooms were somewhat small but organized well with a cubby area and open closet space. The front desk staff were very helpful and friendly. The hotel is also located right by a bunch of shopping and restaurants. I'd definitely recommend staying here if it fits your travel needs.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2312ARibisLeiden, Manager at Ibis Leiden Centre, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
We are delighted to read that you had an excellent stay and enjoyed your visit at our hotel. It is always encouraging to learn that guests are satisfied with our service.
Hopefully we are able to welcome you once more in our hotel.

With kind regards,
Team ibis Leiden Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Very good value- no complaints! Met or exceeded all my expectations for a hotel in this price range. Was perfectly sited for my need which was to be near the railway station. My room was very well sound-proofed and I wasn't aware of the trains running nearby. Everything was clean and tidy. I believe that the hotel opened recently which of course is a benefit!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2312ARibisLeiden, Manager at Ibis Leiden Centre, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you very much for having taken the time to post your review. We are happy to hear that you had such a pleasant stay. I am sure that the team will be pleased to read your compliment about their service.
Hopefully we are able to welcome you the next time that you are visiting Leiden.

Kind regards,
ibis Leiden Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, North Yorkshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Excellent Hotel, reasonable price and just near the Raiway Station. Could do with more plugs as every one has phones, laptops and tablets which need charging. Short on storage if staying more than overnight. I would use this hotel again next time I am in Leiden

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2312ARibisLeiden, Manager at Ibis Leiden Centre, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you very much for having taken the time to post your review. We are happy to hear that you had such a pleasant stay. I am sure that the team will be pleased to read your compliment about their service.
Hopefully we are able to welcome you the next time that you are visiting Leiden.

Kind regards,
ibis Leiden Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ibis Leiden Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Leiden Centre

Address: Stationsplein 240-242, Leiden 2312 AR, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Leiden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 hotels in Leiden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Leiden Centre 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Leiden lies right next to the Central Station and just minutes’ walking from the historical Leiden centre city. It offers modern, compact accommodation with flat-screen cable TV and free Wi-Fi.The contemporary designed rooms have comfortable box-spring beds and a private bathroom with free toiletries. Other amenities include pay TV channels and a work desk.Bar Rendez-Vous offers an extensive breakfast every morning. During the day guests of Ibis Leiden Centre can enjoy a coffee, a drink or a snack here. Leiden’s city centre offers a wide range of restaurants and bars.Schiphol Airport is just 20 minutes away by train from Ibis Leiden Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, ACCOR, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Ibis Leiden Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Leiden Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.