We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spartan” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Leiden Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Leiden Centre to your Saves list
Ibis Leiden Centre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stationsplein 240-242, 2312 AR Leiden, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
EARLY BOOKING - UP TO 30%
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Leiden
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Spartan”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

I have always thought of Ibis as on a par with Holiday Inn but this with hotel it appears Ibis have decided to plunge down market as I feel it equates to Travelodge.
The hotel only opened in May2011 so still has a newness about it which has not had time to be eroded yet.
Reception staff were helpful and I was directed to the 5th floor.
On entering the double room I was struck by how cramped it was, the bed taking up all the space, yet there was nothing in the room other than the bed. The ability to make a hot drink after a long trip would have been pleasant but there probably wasn't space for a kettle!
Breakfast was very poor with a limited choice including the slices of cheese with curling corners & no toaster. Price for this offering was a most unreasonable €15.
Back to the Golden Tulip on my next visit.

Room Tip: My room faced the rail station but I am a heavy sleeper. If you sleep light, best to check.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2312ARibisLeiden, Manager at Ibis Leiden Centre, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback with regards to your recent stay in our hotel. Feedback like this gives us the possibility to adjust our services and products where needed.

Kind Regards, ibis Leiden Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    140
    54
    11
    1
See reviews for
57
80
51
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Come out of Leiden Station and the Ibis Hotel is opposite as you look to your right. The buses
stop in front of the station and it is possible to get to Amsterdam or Keiukenhof in 30 minutes.
The hotel room on the 5th floor had a lovely view of a windmill. There was a comfortable double bed, tea making facilities and shower room. Clothes storage was adequate for a few days.

The buffet breakfast was very nice, no bacon but plenty of everything else. The staff all spoke English and were extremely polite and helpful. It was easy to stroll out of the hotel and turn either left or right into the centre of Leiden. Canals to walk alongside and plenty of restaurants, bars and a Saturday market. Definitely an alternative to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2312ARibisLeiden, Manager at Ibis Leiden Centre, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit. I look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Kind regards, ibis Leiden Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

the ibis leiden center is great place to stay which is right across the train & bus station. i stayed there in mid april and it is very convenient to get a bus to kuekenhof and train to amsterdam. the staff were extremely polite and helpful with answers for every question I had. a stroll to the main street gets you to tons of restaurants from italian, surinamese, indonesian, chinese,etc..i recommend this hotel to anyone planning to visit the tulip fest. try the fries place in the station, the best.

Room Tip: choose the higher floors for a nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2312ARibisLeiden, Manager at Ibis Leiden Centre, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
"Thank you for your kind comments and compliments – I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Team ibis Leiden centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
353 reviews 353 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

Got to browse a lot of hotels around Leiden Centraal Station then found this hotel & booked it for a night without much good expectation just to surprised my loving wife for our 25th wedding anniversary, my wife loves Tulips then I decided to book a hotel near to Train Station to bring her to Keukonhof early Saturday morning. We are coming from Frankfurt, Germany to Schiphol and we will be checking in late then called them in advance told them what will be the situation, my wife told me when we arrived to LCS from airport - "this is cool, very close to train station and very modern". Our room in 5th Floor with a view of the famous windmill in Leiden-my wife's so excited and surprisingly saw the bottle of red wine- on the house, with pink Tulip flowers placed in a very big vase & she can't help it suddenly hugged me whispered to my ear, " I love You & Thank You...! Kissed her back and the back of my mind Thank You Leiden Staff- you are so great Guys ... You made our stay so memorable we will definitely go back and would highly recommend you to our peers...! Keep up for being nice, this hotel is clean, very elegant room- it's true now I believe " that the Dutch People were among the handsome & beautiful inside & out... And God created the World but you (Dutch) created Holland not only for yourselves but for everybody to share your kindness & hospitality..!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2312ARibisLeiden, Manager at Ibis Leiden Centre, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Many thanks for your kind review. I am glad my team made your stay enjoyable.
Staff ibis Leiden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Really a good Quality/Price ratio: easy to get there from the airport with train, near to the center of Leiden, rooms simple but well organized and really clean. Despite the station is really quiet in the night. Good buffet for breakfast and nice and efficient staff.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2312ARibisLeiden, Manager at Ibis Leiden Centre, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments and compliments – I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, ibis Leiden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rasht, Iran
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

I stayed at Ibis hotel for 3 nights during Leiden medical students congress (LIMSC 2013). I wanna say if u want to be close to everything this is a smart choice for u !
Leiden central is only on ur 2 min walk! same as LUMS (university and hospital of Leiden) !which was only 2 min far from there!
the service for breakfast was nice!receptionists were polite and helpful!rooms were in a normal size!
but I guess for double rooms the beds were too close to each other! TOO CLOSE !
if u go there u will get what i mean ;) plus that there were no locker in the room! I mean real lockers!
to sum up it deserve being in top of Leiden hotels!:D but they can be better if they reduce their price a little bit ....

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2312ARibisLeiden, Manager at Ibis Leiden Centre, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thanks for your review. I am glad you had a good stay with us. See you on your next trip hopefully! Kind regards, ibis Leiden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

1 minute from train and bus stations.Very modern hotel,friendly and helpful staff.Highly recommended.
Breakfast not cheap but plenty of eateries nearby,try the breakfast bars in the train station.
Tea/coffee making facilities not provided but kettles are available from reception.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2312ARibisLeiden, Manager at Ibis Leiden Centre, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, we are happy you had a good stay and I am glad my team made your stay enjoyable.
Kind regards ibis Leiden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Leiden Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Leiden Centre

Address: Stationsplein 240-242, 2312 AR Leiden, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Leiden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Leiden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Leiden Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Leiden lies right next to the Central Station and just minutes’ walking from the historical Leiden centre city. It offers modern, compact accommodation with flat-screen cable TV and free Wi-Fi.The contemporary designed rooms have comfortable box-spring beds and a private bathroom with free toiletries. Other amenities include pay TV channels and a work desk.Bar Rendez-Vous offers an extensive breakfast every morning. During the day guests of Ibis Leiden Centre can enjoy a coffee, a drink or a snack here. Leiden’s city centre offers a wide range of restaurants and bars.Schiphol Airport is just 20 minutes away by train from Ibis Leiden Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Ibis Leiden Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Leiden Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.