We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost perfect, almost..” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dartel

Dartel
Kloksteeg 13, Leiden, The Netherlands
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 183 Restaurants in Leiden
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Almost perfect, almost..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012 via mobile

I was taken out to dinner at Dartel for my birthday (Jan 2012) I tried some of the most interesting and well executed dishes I have ever tried in NL, on par with Okura and IVY.

Expect to spend more than 6 hours here.. ( really ) while you are serves dish after dish of culinary art.

Wine menu was alright. The atmosphere is small and charming - there is a nice fireplace where we sat in he winter. A shame that the toilet doors lead right into the dining area.

The Maine service was perfect, we were greeted well, welcomed explained the entire menu and every dish - felt very at home here. I believe the two may have been the chef and head of the restaurant ?

The only issue I had was with the service after the start of our night, which just went down hill and became borderline rude.

Nevertheless, Worth a visit of you are in Leiden.

@NLFoodie - follow me

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    12
    2
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leiden, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Fine dining for a matching price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

Prepare to splurge and pull your wallet. Make no plans for the rest of the evening; or the morning after. Exquisite cuisine to be enjoyed leisurely.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annecy, France
2 reviews
“Excellent food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

I hosted a customer here. Quiet and relaxed. Would be great for a special occasion also. Price seemed about average for this type of restaurant offering 4 - 6 courses for a fixed price. This is fine dining so expect portions that will satisfy but not overfill, with sensational taste combinations. Nice wines too. Service was great, attentative and informed staff. There was a quite a lot of time between courses, but I am sure if we'd asked for the meal to be served more rapidly this would not have been a problem, we just didn't ask.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Star level”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

Excellent restaurant on Michelin star level (but not over expensive). Also ideal for vegetarians. Chef himself gives explanation on items on the menu. It is is located in a very old part of town.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“best restaurant in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

competing with the nearby restaurant 'de gapende eter' to be the best restaurant in Leiden. Excellent location in old town.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dartel also viewed

Leiden, South Holland Province
Leiden, South Holland Province
 
Leiden, South Holland Province
Leiden, South Holland Province
 

Been to Dartel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dartel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.