We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good diner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Woo Ping

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Woo Ping
Diefsteeg 13-15, Leiden, The Netherlands
Improve this listing
Ranked #100 of 182 Restaurants in Leiden
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Very good diner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We went to this restaurant and had a really nice dinner! We had the Chinese menu deluxe and enjoyed all courses. Service was great and very friendly. The food was very good, tasteful and the portion size was exactly right. We will come back for sure. A good Chinese/ Indonesian restaurant in " downtown" Leiden.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    11
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Groningen, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Distinctly average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

Went there on Saturday for lunch. It was quiet- four people including two of us, plus the owners grown up children who sitting around and having loud conversation with their parents.. The menu was a bit pricey for Chinese restaurant, average second course about 18 Euros and we started to think that it might be a sign of quality. I now suspect its its rather due to a lack competition locally... The food came quickly, but it was sub-standard, well, for that price anyway. Beijing duck pancakes were made out of some unusual substance, most likely regular, not a rice dough... The beef noodles contained canned mushrooms. The food wasn't particularly tasty... Won't be back, far more choice and quality available in Den Haag China town, only 20 mins by car from Leiden!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kibbutz Lotan, ISRAEL
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A good deal for Chinese food either eat in or takeaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

As a mixed group of three adults and two adolescents we needed a lot of food and variety and we got both here! Their loempias (kind of like egg rolls x 10) are huge, crispy and very filling so better to share one between two people. We had Peking duck for two which was very tasty but unlike the type I've been served in US restaurants, having no pancakes, scallions or hoisin sauce served with it and being sliced right thru from top to bottom, skin, meat, bones in each slice. Both lamb dishes were good but had more sauce than meat. We don't eat pork or shellfish and the chnese noodles that came with the entrees ha both. When we explained the situation the staff was very gracious and made two more noodle side dishes without meat!!
We paid €20 per person for appetizers, main course with side dish each and soft drinks and we had leftovers for another meal! Great value and very close to the shops on the Breestraat.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Chinese food for an affordable price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

I use this restaurant for takeaway and online ordering. When getting take away I always get offered a free beer by the owner, she's a great woman who loves a chat with her costumers while they're waiting for their order to be finished. The food is good, and really cheap. Great value for money compared to other Chinese restaurants in Leiden.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perthshire,Scotland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very Tasty Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012 via mobile

As well as being one of the seemingly few places which serves food after ten ( ?!?! ) We found this restaurant to be very friendly and serve up some of the tastiest Chinese food around. The menu is extensive, in English and the large portions do not come at the expense of quality. A good find and well worth a visit.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Woo Ping also viewed

Leiden, South Holland Province
Leiden, South Holland Province
 
Leiden, South Holland Province
Leiden, South Holland Province
 

Been to Woo Ping? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Woo Ping, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.