We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous for families” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Leiden

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Leiden to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Leiden
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Haagse Schouwweg 10, 2332 KG Leiden, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Leiden
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous for families”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

The title of this review says it all. Our only regret is that we could only stay here for one night. We absolutely loved the atmosphere and the customer service, we didn't book through booking.com so had no problems. The facilities are immaculate and the rooms are very clean and very comfortable. The dinner at the restaurant was excellent, as was breakfast. We are planning on staying here the next time we fly to Holland, even though I have relatives we could stay with.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pedro008, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Leiden, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear guest, What a nice review, THANK YOU! We're glad you and your family enjoyed your stay with us in Leiden en needless to say, please come back soon!!! Kindest regards, The Holiday Inn Leiden Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    135
    66
    23
    8
See reviews for
149
46
18
74
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Waldmohr, Germany
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

After reading all the reviews, I had the unfortunate opportunity of booking at this hotel. Upon arriving late in the evening after a long but joyful day out in Amsterdam we were received by a young lady that was more than disgraceful to say the least. After giving her our confirmation from booking.com, she proceeded to tell us that we will have to pay an addition 75 euro for our children. After asking why, she said there is an issue with booking.com giving erroneous prices for their family room. The prices that they are displaying are for adults only. This was an issue that they have been having lately and need to take it up with booking.com. Of course, I refused. This was not our issue. My confirmation clearly stated 2 family rooms to include 2 adults and 3 children. I even showed her their website via my IPAD stating up to 4 people were allowed in the rooms. I didn't feel it was right for the hotel to put that on us. We wanted what was advertised and what we paid for. After getting nowhere with her, I asked to speak to the manager which only escalated things. He or she refused to come out and speak to us and refused to let us have the room as stated in our confirmation. To say the least I was tired, furious and frustrated at this point. So, I told her to go ahead and give us the rooms. She asked where were the children going to stay because they aren't allowed in the room. I responded by saying do you want me to make them sleep in the car? She responded by saying anywhere but in the rooms because they aren't allowed. So, I said yes they will sleep in the car. She handed me the keys and we proceeded to our rooms. Of course, my children slept in the rooms. We had two family rooms. Why would 2 adults get 2 family rooms? The next morning, we went to breakfast which was included in the room rate. Unfortunately, the same disgraceful person was at the service desk. We were told only 2 of us could eat breakfast and the other 3 people would have to pay. My husband nor I ate but my children did eat. I didn't pay any extra. To avoid a heated discussion with this person, my husband went to check out. Upon checking out, she had the audacity to ask my husband if we put our children up in other accommodations for the night. Seriously? Needless to say, I will not be going back to that disgusting place.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pedro008, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Leiden, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear guest, thank you for your feed back although we do wonder if you have the correct hotel? There is worldwide an issue at booking.com concerning booking children on their site, but one can see very clearly on their site there are costs involved for children. We advice you to address your comments to booking.com. Two adults and 3 children in two family rooms can never be an issue, neither the comment that children are not allowed to sleep in the rooms. Needless to say we really want to check all of this, unfortunately we see no names nor dates in your feed back. Please feel free to forward them to us, we'll be happy to check all your comments. Kindest regards, The Holiday In Leiden Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We always like to go back to this hotel, especially in the winter but not only.
Kids can enjoy the swiming pool, tennis, ping pong.
breakfast is great and room is wide enough for 2 kids ( no option for 3 kids in 1room).

disadvantage : no windows in the rooms pointing to the main room.
might be noisy in the evening.

Overall a good hotel we always go back to (4 time already).

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pedro008, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Leiden, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you! Such nice words from our regular guests is great to hear. We're glad you always enjoy your stay with us. Rooms on the interior side of the hotel may be a bit less quiet than the exterior rooms facing the parking lot. Again, thank you for your feed back and needless to say we very much look forward to seeing you all again soon. Kindest regards, The Holiday Inn Leiden Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

Really everything that my wife scotlandtiger999 states is correct.
great staff and service. JW, and the Ocean room bar staff were always friendly and gave us some really good advice if eating out in leiden. The hotel is only 2e away from the town by public teansport.
thanks again for a great break.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pedro008, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Leiden, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear guest, Thank you for your feed back, we'll forward your comments to our entire staff. They all, and especially JW from our Ocean bar-restaurant, will really appreciate your kind words. Good to hear you all had a great break here in Leiden, may we welcome you back soon? We do hope so. Kind regards, The Holiday Inn Leiden Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Also stayed in this holiday part of a group booking (also for hockey, not the same team!). Found it very pleasant. Nothing was too much trouble. We had an outside twin room which was very quiet and consisted of two double beds, a desk, two small armchairs and table and the usual wardrobe and drawers/small cupboard which housed safe and tea/coffee making facilities. Plenty of space. They have a good scheme that if you do not have your room cleaned they give you a 5€ voucher per day to spend in the bar. A good incentive to help the environment! The down side to the hotel is that there are no restaurants nearby so it means a trip into town or to the coast for eating. We visited Katwijk which is on the coast about 20 min drive for restaurants. They are right on the beach looking out over the sea. Lovely to watch the sun set which we did on three occasions. Good variety of food at reasonable (for Holland) prices. The hotel restaurant is nice, we had two team meals there and the hotel was very accommodating and helpful.

Will not repeat what previous reviewer has written but would agree fully with that review.

Would recommend this hotel if you don't mind eating at the hotel or travelling to restaurants.

Room Tip: Ask for an outside room and inner rooms can be bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pedro008, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Leiden, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear guest, Thank you, what a lovely review. We're very glad you enjoyed our accommoadtion and its facilities. Surely we'll forward your nice comments to our entire staff, they will really appreciate it. Also good to hear you appreciate we help the environment, we noticed a lot of guests appreciate this as well. Again, thank you very much for your feed back. And for the future, hockey tournement or not, please come back soon! Kindest regards, The Holiday Inn Leiden Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

I was here for 10 days on a group booking and the hotel and staff could not have been more flexible and helpful to us. They helped us organise a birthday party, gave us access to a meeting room every day, provided an information board and helped out with all manner of enquiries. And none of it seemed any trouble. Rooms and amenities were good, bar area had atmosphere and decent food. All in all a very good experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pedro008, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Leiden, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Thank you for your review! We really appreciate all your kind words and we'll share them with our staff. Good to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you appreciated the help from our employees. May we have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon? Please do! Kindest regards from The Holiday Inn Leiden Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
219 reviews 219 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Stayed 11 nights part of a group booking ( playing hockey) so a longer stay than normal holidays. Friendly welcoming efficient staff on checking in, who explained parking at rear for easier access to our room, Our room on first floor 253, the walkway outside our room overlooked part of the restaurant and the play area, yes there was some noise our first weekend, but it wsnt too early, I believe it was a local holiday, similar to our long weekends Fri to Mon, so the hotel restaurant was busy with familys, play area was busy too, but the hotel is really family friendly, with the play area, table tennis, pool, cycle hire, so its your choice if you want to stay here, after the Monday it wasnt so busy. Room with air condition (not everyones favourite) was clean and spacious queen size bed,( as we got an upgrade), fridge, tv, desk, easy chair very comfortable, spacious bath with shower, good quality towels, room cleaned to a very high standard.Good choice of food for breakfast, everything you could ask for, fruit, cereal, cold meat, cheese, rolls toast, bacon eggs sauages etc something to suit all tastes, the staff very friendly. Didnt eat in the restaurant , there was a lobster deal on , which made the restaurant very busy every evening, but as we ate out this didnt effect us noise wise. Theres a bar next to the restaurant with friendly staff, if during the day you want to have a drink and take it outside. The Ocean Bar inside the hotel is also very nice, very friendly staff, thank you to Nico, J W & Colinda, during our stay they made ourselfs and the rest of our group very welcome, and remembered our drinks and room number when we both visited, special thanks to J W for booking the restaurant and taxi for us, on our last night (Saturday 14th June) the four of us really appreciated, your very kind gesture at the restaurant, we did go into the bar to say thank you properly but you had finished working. The hotel has a courtesy bus into Leiden but due to the times when we went out it wasnt running, but a very handy bus stop just round the corner at McDonalds its only 2e into the centraal, stops on the opposite side of the road on your return, or you could walk 20 minutes or so, or hire a bike from the hotel and cycle, hotel is very central. A really good hotel, and Leiden is a very nice place, plenty of restaurants to choose from, some which can be a bit expensive, if your on a budget there are still plenty that are cheaper and just as good, as a team we visited both, the place is very laid back, so dont expect speedy service, in bars, cafes & restaurants as they all take their time, its just their way, its nice they dont rush you, you just take your time, have a drink sit by a canal and watch the boats go by, bliss :)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pedro008, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Leiden, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear guest, Thank you for your extended review concerning your stay with us (hockey group). We forwarded your nice comments to our entire staff and we especially inform Nico, JW and Colinda, they all will really appreciate your kind words. We're glad you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and the city of Leiden. Thank you. Kindest regards, The Holiday Inn Leiden Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Leiden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Leiden

Address: Haagse Schouwweg 10, 2332 KG Leiden, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Leiden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Leiden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Leiden 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Leiden is located in Leiden which is best known as Rembrandt's birthplace. Famous for her cobbled streets, beautiful canals, Pilgrim fathers and museums ( Corpus, Naturalis). We are centrally located between Amsterdam and The Hague, near North sea beaches, Leiden University and Bio Science Parc. Holiday Inn Leiden offers 200 comfortable Superior, King- and Executive hotel rooms with air conditioning, a variety of leisure facilities, a stylish Garden restaurant, Ocean bar, gift shop and meeting facilities. Hotel guests have free access to our private parking For the necessary relaxation our mini gym, indoor swimming pool with sauna, kids play area and bike rental are at hand on our own property. Please note all public areas are non smoking. Our comfortable standard rooms are provided with 2 double beds and can accommodate a maximum of 4 guests. King rooms and Executive rooms (max. 2 persons) are also available. We guarantee a successful meeting in one of our 14 meeting rooms. All meeting rooms are provided with air conditioning, wireless high speed internet (at a surcharge) and comfortable seats. All technical equipment upon request. Thanks to the combination of all these ingredients, Holiday Inn Leiden can provide lively and stylish accommodation for you in the heart of the Randstad conurbation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Leiden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Leiden Hotel Leiden
Leiden Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Leiden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.