We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid mid range hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Leiden

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Leiden to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Leiden
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Haagse Schouwweg 10, 2332 KG Leiden, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Leiden
Sydney
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Solid mid range hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

The Holiday Inn Leiden is a solid mid range hotel which if you have access to a car or bicycle is a good choice. If you are relying on public transport the location may be a problem as it is on the outskirts of Leiden and a long walk from the main sites and railway station. It is in good proximity to the university.

I believe that a shuttle to the main station (easy walk to the old town) operates on weekdays however it did not seem to be available on weekends.

The rooms are motel style with the doors giving onto a covered outdoor walkway. This is also the location of the carparking which makes it useful if arriving by car.

The rooms were renovated and in good condition. The bathroom deserves particular praise for being modern, clean and functional. The beds were comfortable and there were a number of different pillow options so you could get comfortable.

The breakfast was relatively simple continental breakfast however, the produce was fresh and there was lots available. The only drawback for coffee lovers is that you had to help yourself from a machine.

The staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    125
    58
    21
    8
See reviews for
134
43
18
71
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond-upon-Thames, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

we weren't there for the dining experience, breakfast wasn't brilliant, but I have had much worse. restaurant staff courteous and helpful.
Distance from centre of Leiden - there is a bus service, no taxis outside the hotel and it's a 20 minute walk to the centre - not good if you are unfamiliar with the area.
No complimentary wi-fi

Now the good stuff:
ample parking
clean room with comfortable beds - I appreciated the pillow options
sufficiently far enough away not to be disturbed by the Ontzet.
Efficient service at the front desk

Room Tip: Rooms face either outwards or inside looking into the main atrium. Inside rooms might suffer from n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011 via mobile

Comfortable clean rooms and a range of pillow options - like that.
Dinners consist of buffets which are normally crowded with noisy kids so that a culinary experience is reduced to cleaned out bowls of food and sticky surfaces. There are also bar snacks in the bar, but it's not quite the same, is it?
You are beyond walking distance to the city centre, and the hotel only runs a shuttle bus during "rush hours", so otherwise you'll have to get a taxi.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petah tiqva
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011 via mobile

Car location accessible hotel rooms spacious food excellent hotel recommended for families too

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

Attended a conference here. Hotel staff could not be more accomodating or friendly. Bartenders were great. Guest rooms are large and comfortable. Our rooms included the massive breakfast buffet. Entire hotel is enclosed so if the weather is not so nice you are away from the elements. Hotel is a 20 minute walk to the city of Leiden - 2 hours if you get lost. Only the guest rooms near the children's play area might be affected by noise.

Room Tip: High floor with doorways to outside (which is glass enclosed)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
123 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
183 helpful votes 183 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

It wasn't until I arrived that I realised that I had stayed here previoulsy a couple of years ago.
The reception area is spacious but the check in process was slow and the receptionist was not clued up on basic information such as the price of breakfast.
The room was nice enough but the carpet was badly stained and the ensuite was not very clean; I do not expect to find the last person's hairs on the bathroom floor or in the bath.
The light in the bathroom is a motion sensor light, which launches one into pitch darkness within 5 minutes, so if you're having a shower or a bath you should be prepared for this.
I ate at the buffet on the first night of my two-night stay; the absence of a price should have been a warning; 34.95 euros for tasty but luke warm food, limited vegetarian choice unless you llike cream based pasta sauce.
I avoided breakfast the first morning because the shock of 19.25 euros removed any sense of hunger! Seriously over priced unless you plan to spend several hours devouring all offerings to get your money worth. The garden restaurant has a fish pond and terrapins as a feature, which is probably quite relaxing if you like pond fish and aren't put off by what I am sure were terrapin faeces on the rocks.
I ate in the Ocean bar on the second night of my stay and the prices were again on the expensive side but more reasonable than the buffet.
The rooms are on 3 floors with floors 2 and 3 overlooking the large garden restaurant. I had a room at the back of the hotel, away from the restaurant and on the top floor. There was barely any noice from adjoining rooms or passers by. I wasn't woken during the night and slept reasonably well.
The hotel is located out of the Leiden town centre but there is a shuttle service (surprisingly free of additional charge!) until about 6pm between the hotel and the central station.
CHECK YOUT BILL CAREFULLY! I was charged twice for my meal in the Ocean Bar, but the two sums were lumped together on the invoice and it was only because I was taken aback at the price that I asked to see the receipt - and even with two receipts in front of her the receptionsit at check out argued that my bill was correct. The fish starter was nice, but not so nice that I would have ordered it twice in a very short time! This made the check out process very slow.
As a business hotel Holiday Inn Leiden fails because the interet access is an additional 15euros for 24h. In fact, there are additional charges for pretty much everything; internet, car parking, some of the leisure facilities, etc. My bill for 2 nights' accommodation, 1 breakfast, 2 meals including water and a glass of wine each night, 2 short phone calls to book taxis and 2 internet access was a little short of 500 euros. This is very over priced for the hotel and to be honest, the standard of the hotel wasn't up to the Holiday Inn brand.
Hopefully next time I will remember not to stay here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not overlook the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

Alwas get a upgrade becos of my platinum priority club. the rooms are very bright all with a nespresso machine. food in the bar is also ok have a smal card also the restaurand is not bad at all. the outside of the hotel is not that great but inside is good and at the reception the are alway frindly and helpfull. and if there is a problem the solve it.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Leiden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Leiden

Address: Haagse Schouwweg 10, 2332 KG Leiden, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Leiden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Leiden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Leiden 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Leiden is located in Leiden which is best known as Rembrandt's birthplace. Famous for her cobbled streets, beautiful canals, Pilgrim fathers and museums ( Corpus, Naturalis). We are centrally located between Amsterdam and The Hague, near North sea beaches, Leiden University and Bio Science Parc. Holiday Inn Leiden offers 200 comfortable Superior, King- and Executive hotel rooms with air conditioning, a variety of leisure facilities, a stylish Garden restaurant, Ocean bar, gift shop and meeting facilities. Hotel guests have free access to our private parking For the necessary relaxation our mini gym, indoor swimming pool with sauna, kids play area and bike rental are at hand on our own property. Please note all public areas are non smoking. Our comfortable standard rooms are provided with 2 double beds and can accommodate a maximum of 4 guests. King rooms and Executive rooms (max. 2 persons) are also available. We guarantee a successful meeting in one of our 14 meeting rooms. All meeting rooms are provided with air conditioning, wireless high speed internet (at a surcharge) and comfortable seats. All technical equipment upon request. Thanks to the combination of all these ingredients, Holiday Inn Leiden can provide lively and stylish accommodation for you in the heart of the Randstad conurbation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Leiden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Leiden Hotel Leiden
Leiden Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Leiden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.