We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing wrong, but no "wow" either.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Tulip Leiden Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Golden Tulip Leiden Centre to your Saves list
Golden Tulip Leiden Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Schipholweg 3, 2316 XB Leiden, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Leiden
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
116 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Nothing wrong, but no "wow" either.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

It is very hard to be truly objective on just a single night's stay, but based on only that, I can say that the Golden Tulip is a good hotel located in the heart of "business" Leiden, and about a 10 to 15 minute walk from the older "historic" town.

I couldn't make the "free" internet to work, parking was extra (12 euros a night) and despite having a superior room, it was very "average." That said, there was tea and coffee in the room and the bathroom was clean (shower only, no bath) and spacious.

Breakfast was good, but 16 euros extra and the restaurant in the evening was to a high standard, but had a price tag to match.

Whilst there is nothing wrong with this hotel, it felt a bit like a budget airline, the bed was included in the price, but everything else was extra. I usually mark against 5 key areas, Room : Average | Location : Average | Breakfast : Very Good, but at and extra charge | Pool & facilities : Don't know, didn't have time | Overall value : Average.

Would I stay here again. Probably.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    72
    50
    15
    3
See reviews for
11
38
14
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, Norfolk
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We didn't choose the hotel but were booked here on a cycling holiday. When we saw the hotel we weren't too enamoured: It's a typical large corporate soulless city centre business hotel. But.... the rooms were large, comfortable and quiet, there was secure storage for our bikes, the staff were friendly, the location excellent for the city centre of Leiden (don't miss the Leiden Loop app!) and the "soulless" restaurant was friendly and served excellent food. No complaints!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We stayed here twice on a cycling holiday. Decent sized rooms, nice breakfast, good location and comfortable beds. Very near the station and close enough to the main town square which is a 10 minutes walk.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veldhoven, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Stayed here a couple of times for business. The hotel is fine: you should not book a room because of the fancy design of it, but if you are looking for a good hotel that offers a central location and a large selection of breakfast, this is a hotel you should consider.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back, it is less noisy I understand.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Its my 7th time at the Golden Tulip. Great location close to the city centre and the station. Good staff and nice rooms. A little bit old fashioned and it is a good idea to avoid the rooms facing the street (noise). But otherwise: Recommended

Room Tip: Choose rooms not facing the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterrey, Mexico
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Dear Traveler,

I recently stayed at the Golden Tulip. My suggestion is to indicate that you want to stay in the new rooms when you are doing the booking. Besides being new, the rooms are more spacious. I was here during business travels and was asked to dispose my deodorant bottle and my shaving cream at the airport so when I checked in (late night) I asked for a deodorant and shaving cream and they provided. The bar is really nice, Wouter (multi-lingual) takes good care of you and rooms are clean. The hotel most valuable asset is the location, which is near to Leiden Centraal.

Room Tip: Ask for the new refurbished roooms. It does make a difference in your stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

You can't hide a little frustration by entering the Lobby. This hotel has the charme of the seventies with used up carpets and it continues by entering the room. Except the bath room. this relatively new revamped. Make-up or Razor mirror is missing. Room temperature is controlled by air conditioning for the whole house but, can't be separately adjusted. Windows cannot be opened. And, last but not least the breakfast buffet is not worth its name. Golden Tulip "goodbye"

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Tulip Leiden Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip Leiden Centre

Address: Schipholweg 3, 2316 XB Leiden, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Leiden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Leiden
#5 Luxury Hotel in Leiden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Tulip Leiden Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star Golden Tulip Leiden Centre is located next to the Tulip Inn Leiden Centre. With Leiden Central Station directly opposite the hotel and many freeways within easy reach, Golden Tulip Leiden Centre is ideally situated. The hotel has an ideal location in a beautiful historical city, full of museums and picturesque vistas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Otel, Despegar.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Golden Tulip Leiden Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Leiden
Leiden Golden Tulip

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Tulip Leiden Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.