We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and comfortable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Tulip Leiden Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Golden Tulip Leiden Centre to your Saves list
Golden Tulip Leiden Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Schipholweg 3, 2316 XB Leiden, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Leiden
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“Convenient and comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Booked this hotel as it was so convenient to the Leiden Central Station, which is on a direct line from Schipol - 20 minutes away. The welcome was friendly and efficient.
The rooms very comfortable after a day of travelling, with modern furnishings and a good shower room. A kettle with tea and coffee was available, plus minibar, but even the mineral water was charged for.

I didn't have dinner in the hotel, but I saw that quite a number of people did. I arrived during a two day festival in the town - celebrating the breaking of a Spanish siege in the 16th Century. The city centre was a fairground with street food and bars.

Breakfast was good, with a cold table and hot food buffet.

I certainly would recommend this hotel, and would rebook if in Leiden.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    80
    57
    16
    4
See reviews for
13
46
16
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The hotel is signposted from the road which is helpful and there is a car park. Its great attraction is that it is near the station making it possible to visit Delft (trains there run every 15/20 minutes)and elsewhere. Reception was intelligent and we had a good room. The restaurant had a fancy menu with a mixture of recipes called "fusion cooking" which we decided to avoid. Breakfast was very good with an excellent variety. Wi-fi was free and good.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed here for 2nd time this year...........room big, bedding spotless and crisp - shower facilities and bathroom excellent - staff all very helpfull - very close to station and walking distance to shops - great for romantic break or business highly recommended

Room Tip: All rooms are good but the newer part of the hotel is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

I arrived at 9:30 AM, and check-in time was 3 PM. I asked the hotel if possible to have an early room.. Not only did the hotel have a room ready early, but I was upgraded. The room was very clean, and I always had four towels. My only objection is soap that was not bottled by squeezed from a wall device. Breakfast was excellent, fresh and constantly replenished. The staff was courteous and helpful. The hotel is 5 minutes from the station, which could be reached one flight down from Schipol Airport Baggage--all very convenient.but fifteen minutes from downtown, which was a confusing series of intersecting streets. Since most restaurants close early (9 PM), the hotel is an option but is pricey.

Room Tip: No spa, no pool. Rooms not facing the street were quieter but there was no view. A swimming pool and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

I stay here regularly for work purposes and it is a decent hotel. The rooms are a good size and the breakfast is very good. The location is great - only a few minutes from the train and bus stations. I only really have two issues:

(i) sometimes the hotel reception could be doing with another member of staff. It can be busy at checkout time. The staff themselves are very helpful. They do have electronic checkout but I prefer to wait for an invoice.
(ii) only the new rooms, and the ground floor get wifi. It is also possible to get wifi in the first floor rooms of the old part of the hotel (I presume because it's near the ground floor). I have a tablet computer and therefore the wired connection in the old rooms is useless for me so if I don't get upgraded, I ask for an old first floor room, which I can't always get. It would be great if they could upgrade the old rooms to wireless too.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, England
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
217 helpful votes 217 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Although this was a very convenient stay - very close to the train station, which in turn is very easy to get to from Schiphol - and the room was comfortable too - there were some fundamentals which really let this down.

1. The toilet had not been cleaned when I went into the room for the first time. Unforgiveable really.
2. I went to the restaurant hoping to get some dinner at around 7.30pm. The place was packed, though there was plenty of free seating in the bar area adjacent to the restaurant. I would have been happy to eat in the bar area, but I stood there completely ignored for around 10 minutes in spite of making eye contact with several waiting staff. Also not on.

Conversely I found the reception staff to be excellent - very friendly and helpful. A shame they are let down by the restaurant staff.

Room Tip: There are some excellent restaurants just a 5-minute walk away, starting at Stationsweg just round t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pully, Switzerland
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Was here for 4 nights while in Leiden for a conference, and it was the recommended conference hotel. Was perfectly fine and comfortable, on the soulless business side but I spent very little time actually in the hotel. Very comfortable bed and although room was on the 1st floor overlooking a car park, did not hear a thing during the night. Free wifi - (if you are staying in the "Golden Tulip" side of the hotel, which also means some other little luxuries like in-room safe.) Breakfast adequate, not stellar. Exceptionally close to the station which made leaving early on Saturday morning very easy! I booked a long time in advance and got a very good deal - about 120 euros a night, which compared even to their normal online rate was a bargain!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Tulip Leiden Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip Leiden Centre

Address: Schipholweg 3, 2316 XB Leiden, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Leiden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Leiden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Tulip Leiden Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star Golden Tulip Leiden Centre is located next to the Tulip Inn Leiden Centre. With Leiden Central Station directly opposite the hotel and many freeways within easy reach, Golden Tulip Leiden Centre is ideally situated. The hotel has an ideal location in a beautiful historical city, full of museums and picturesque vistas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Golden Tulip Leiden Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Leiden
Leiden Golden Tulip

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Tulip Leiden Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.