We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good thai food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sabai Sabai

Sabai Sabai
Noordeinde 27, Leiden, The Netherlands
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #57 of 195 Restaurants in Leiden
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $24 - $31
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good thai food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

This lovely little restaurant in the centre of Leiden serves good Thai food for acceptable prices. The service isn't always perfect but the food definitely makes up for that: good selection of dishes and generous portions. Note for disabled people: they only have a small number of seats on the ground floor and a steep staircase leading up to the next floor so making reservations specifying you would like a table on the ground floor is advisable.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    34
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Poor service, huge wait between the courses - avoid!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We went to this place based on Tripadvisor reviews - wish we hadn't!
Food is average - honestly had better Thai food in loads of other places.

Worst part is wait between the courses - in 1.5 hours all we had was a starter and an initial round of drinks.
No communication from staff until we queried and then they got someone else's courses.
Finally left the place after an hour & 40 min without mains.

All the time manager was chatting up with his buddies; FBing - absolutely unprofessional behaviour.

Avoid this place if all you want is just a good dinner after a day out!!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, The Netherlands
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Best Thai in Leiden”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We have been to this place quite a few times during the last 10 years.

The food is very good, prepared using high quality original Thai ingredients. Be warned: the dishes are very generous ! Be aware of this when ordering !

The service is very friendly, but sometimes a bit slow. But then why should we be in a hurry, when enjoying a nice Thai meal :).

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
“Good tasting exotisch food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

The ambiance is good and the food is deliciues,
I was there a couple of times, with friends and the people are really nice and friendly.
The food is really good, lots of Thais recipes from hot to mild and excelent taste,
I don't remember any more if we had to wait long, but it was really nice.
I love thais food and this is very authentic food!

When I have the opportunity to go I certanly will go back again!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, The Netherlands
2 reviews
“Gorgeous food! Best place in town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

I try NOT to go too often as the food is to die for...
Don't want to spoil it by using it like your local take away restaurant or after a night on the piss...
Good thing is,you DO have to book a table for weekends...

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sabai Sabai also viewed

Leiden, South Holland Province
Leiden, South Holland Province
 
Leiden, South Holland Province
Leiden, South Holland Province
 

Been to Sabai Sabai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sabai Sabai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.