We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“satisfied customers to” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Best Western Plus City Hotel Gouda

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Best Western Plus City Hotel Gouda to your Saves list
Best Western Plus City Hotel Gouda
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hoge Gouwe 201, 2801 LE Gouda, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Gouda
blantyre scotland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“satisfied customers to”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

We were in Gouda for a family wedding ,we had 5 double rooms at this hotel and everyone of the 5 couples would recommend staying here Staff were very helpful reception check-in especially. The food at breakfast had something to suit all states

Room Tip: Rooms away from canal side
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWGouda H, Front Office at Best Western Plus City Hotel Gouda, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Dear Ms. Blantyre5,

It is good to hear that your stay was a nice tail piece to the wedding.
I remember talking about the weather (rain :( ), I hope it actually stayed dry and that it was a memorable day for all of you.
We would love to have you stay with us again the next time you are visiting your family.

Kind regards,

Laura
Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    51
    14
    3
    0
See reviews for
16
75
5
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Very modern hotel in a brilliant location. Trendy & spotless. Elegant, stylish, friendly. Only downside I would say is that the bar doesn't start serving drinks till 5pm or food till 6pm. Other than this I couldn't fault the place.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWGouda H, Front Office at Best Western Plus City Hotel Gouda, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Good afternoon AHB1,

Thank you for sharing your experience here on TripAdvisor.
I have passed your comments onto the manager and we will be looking at where improvements can be made regarding the opening times of the bar and restaurant for the future.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back another time here in Gouda!

Kind regards,

Rens
Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

Very well located within walking distance from the lovely typical Dutch town center of Gouda. The staff is friendly, breakfast is great and has everything you will want to start the day. The stroll to the center of town allows you to admire the typical Dutch facades built along the canals.
The train station is within 10 min. walking distance.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWGouda H, Front Office at Best Western Plus City Hotel Gouda, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Dear Jean L,

We are very grateful that you took the time to write about your stay with us!
Whenever you would like to experience the Dutch kindness again, please do not hesitate to stay with us again.

Kind regards,

Rens
Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

We had not been able to book in Delft, so I decided that Gouda was centrally located enough to allow me to visit Haarlem, Delft, The Hague, Utrrecht... Good choice ! But the best choice was still that of the Best Western Plus City Hotel in Gouda: it is located at the entrance of the city on the way from the Hague and has a reasonably priced (10euros per 24h) enclosed parking lot beneath it. The rooms are perfect, wifi works very well. The hotel is extrememly quiet. The price is extremely reasonable.
The only downside is the really prohibitive cost of breakfast (14 euros) : I know some people like to stuff themselves at breakfast but for the less greedy it looks like a waste of money.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWGouda H, Front Office at Best Western Plus City Hotel Gouda, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Dear ParisandVenice,

We are delighted to learn about your experience with us through your review here on TripAdvisor!
Gouda is very central located and a perfect fall out for visiting other cities. The special tickets available at the reception desk make it easy to drive in and out of the garage and from the hotel you will find yourself on the highway within a matter of minutes.
I will make sure to share your experience with our colleagues.

With kind regards,

Sanne
Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

My wife and I recently stayed here for one night. We checked in early in the afternoon and were given lots of helpful infomation by the desk staff. The room was very stylish, spacious and comfortable, although not much of a view. Other rooms will have canal views - luck of the draw, I suppose. A slight down side is that the very modern bar lacks atmosphere and the drinks are very expensive. The hotel location was great, in the old part of town at the confluence of two canals. It was a very pleasant and scenic 5 minute walk to the historic centre, with its abundance of atmospheric cafes and restaurants. Gouda is quite compact, with a wealth of interesting streets, canals and historic buildings. I would highly recommend a visit and suggest you look no further than this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWGouda H, Front Office at Best Western Plus City Hotel Gouda, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Mark B,

Thank you very much for these kind words about our hotel. We are glad to hear you have enjoyed our hotel this much as well as the lovely Centre of Gouda.
When you visit us a next time you can always let us know if you have room perforations, we always try our utmost best to meet your preference requests.

Hopefully see you then!

Kindest regards,

Daniëlle
Front Office

BEST WESTERN PLUS City Hotel Gouda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We got a nice welcome on Friday afternoon at reception and a lovely room with a view over a canal at the back of the hotel.

The breakfasts were great and the breakfast chefs were very efficient replenishing the hot food.

Despite it being very hot weather the air condition kept our room at a comfortable temperature throughout our stay.

Just 5-10 mins walk from the station and the centre of town it is the ideal base for a stay in Gouda or even Rotterdam if you prefer to stay I a quitter location.

We look forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWGouda H, Manager at Best Western Plus City Hotel Gouda, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear guest,

Great to hear you have had a pleasant stay at our hotel! Please do come again and visit the beautiful surroundings of Gouda, such as "Reeuwijkse Plassen", "Krimpernerwaard" or the city Utrecht! (Gouda is also beautiful in Fall and Winter, we will then heat up the room for you)

Kind regards,
Hubert-Jan van Catz,
Operational Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRUXELLES, Belgium
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

You will have all the expected comfort and a direct access to the center of this typical and beautiful town, Gouda. We were with our little child (16 months) and everything was very simple thanks to these ideal position. Besides, the staff of the hotel was very responsive to our needs

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWGouda H, Manager at Best Western Plus City Hotel Gouda, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Good morning!

Thank you very much for your beautiful words!
We hope to welcome you and your family again in our hotel.

Kind regards,
Leonieke van Cuijlenborg
Banquet Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Best Western Plus City Hotel Gouda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus City Hotel Gouda

Address: Hoge Gouwe 201, 2801 LE Gouda, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Gouda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Gouda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus City Hotel Gouda 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Best Western Plus City Hotel Gouda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Best Western Plus City Hotel Gouda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.