We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top class hotel. Great rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Best Western Plus City Hotel Gouda

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Best Western Plus City Hotel Gouda to your Saves list
Best Western Plus City Hotel Gouda
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hoge Gouwe 201, 2801 LE Gouda, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Gouda
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Top class hotel. Great rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Stayed here with a group of friends and I highly recommend. The staff are very polite and helpful. Stayed in some top hotels but this is everything you need clean modern and very comfortable. Room was immaculate with a big bath, robes provided at request. Great location. Best in gouda by far, they even found a shirt of mine in the room and will mail it home. Stay here!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWGouda H, Front Office at Best Western Plus City Hotel Gouda, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Good afternoon Jamcr,

How kind of you to leave us a review, thank you for your wonderful feedback.
It is good to read that you and your friends have had such a enjoyable stay with us and that you loved the center.
We hope to see you back at BEST WESTERN PLUS City Hotel Gouda for your next stay.

Kindest Regards,

Laura
Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    38
    11
    3
    0
See reviews for
14
59
4
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

The hotel is very well located, on the outskirts of the old city and only a five-minute walk from the centre. The outside construction blends in with the traditional architecture of the area but the inside is very modern and open. The room was spacious but, in my opinion, favoured design over function. While the toilet was enclosed, the bath and wash basin was separated from the room by a low partition and the noise of the shower was very disturbing in the room. Both the washbasin and the bath were very high and difficult to access without the step provided – not an ideal solution. The choice of English-language TV channels was poor, with only news being available. However, there was a good choice of BBC radio stations. The bed was extremely comfortable and there was tea and coffee provided.

My major criticism concerns the reception staff, who provided us with misleading information and were very unhelpful in resolving an issue. When we arrived, we were told that the room-rate did not include breakfast, which cost an extra €14.50; we therefore elected to take breakfast elsewhere. When we checked out, however, I saw on the bill that our second night rate, being a weekend, did include breakfast.

The second issue concerns the parking charges, which are advertised as €10 per day in the public garage under the hotel. I presented my entry ticket when we checked in and was told by the receptionist that if we did not intend to use the car during our stay, it was best to request the exit ticket when we left. However, when we came to leave, we were told by a different receptionist that we could not have the hotel rate since we did not have a “value” ticket. She said she could not help and I would therefore have to pay at the machine in the lobby and negotiate the special rate over the intercom with the car park attendant. The machine gave us the hotel rate for one night but charged the rest of the time at the public rate, which is higher. We spoke to the attendant via the intercom, with great difficulty, but he did not seem to know about the special rate and wanted to charge even more than the machine! We returned to the receptionist and explained the situation. She said that we should not have paid at the machine but should have come to her. When I reminded her that five minutes previously she said she could not help, she denied this! The amount of money involved was not great but I dislike being ripped-off and lied to and this left a bad taste in the mouth.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWGouda H, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus City Hotel Gouda, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear Jonnymonny,

Thank you very much for your useful feedback, we were very disappointed to hear that you have had some issues during your stay. Because of this reason we have contacted you by e-mail, whenever there is anything else please do not hesitate to contact us again on the known e-mail address or telephone number.

Besides this, we are delighted to hear you have enjoyed you stay at BEST WESTERN PLUS City Hotel Gouda and hope to welcome you back in our hotel.

Kindest regards,

Sylvia Hamersma - Fokker
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Lovely new hotel, very clean. Staff unfortunately very unfriendly! They don't make you feel welcome at all. Rooms a good size, beds big and comfy, showers great. There are no bottled water in the rooms. It is close to the central market, beautiful view of the canals.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWGouda H, Front Office at Best Western Plus City Hotel Gouda, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear 236TanaD236,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review of your experience. We are very sorry to hear that you didn’t feel welcome at our hotel, this matter has been discussed with our front office team.

However, it is very good to hear that you have enjoyed our hotel and the wonderful center of Gouda.
Whenever you are back in Gouda, please do stay with us again and we will do our utmost to make you feel welcome.

Kindest regards,

Linda
Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pipe Gate, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Great position, lovely room. One member of staff at the front desk not very friendly or welcoming at all but all other staff were delightful, very helpful, very friendly. So more than made up for her. The position of the hotel is excellent. The food in the hotel was fantastic with great service especially the bar waiter . Would definitely stay there again

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWGouda H, Front Office at Best Western Plus City Hotel Gouda, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear Liz and Steve,

First of all thank you very much for leaving us a review, your opinion/experience is very important to us.
It is a delight to read that you have enjoyed the hotel and the city and regret to read about your experience with one of our staff members.
We always tell our staff the importance of hospitality, therefor we are looking forward to give you an extra warm welcome the next time you are in Gouda.

Kind regards,

Laura
Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

If you have the need to stop in Gouda, the Best Western provided a convenient location within walking distance of Old Town. The hotel is relatively new and rooms are thoughtfully appointed with the basics.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWGouda H, Front Office at Best Western Plus City Hotel Gouda, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for leaving us a review, your experience is very important to us.
It is good to hear that you find our location convenient as it is only a five minute walk to the center, we hope you got to enjoy the charmes of our old town.

We hope to welcome you back sometime!

Kind regards,

Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

We had booked at a local B&B, which just didn't work out bad we were able stay a day earlier, this place is wonderful, nice staff, good rates and very clean! Easy walk to the city center. You will not be disappointed !

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWGouda H, Front Office at Best Western Plus City Hotel Gouda, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear Alexandria,

Thank you very much for leaving us a review. It is very good to hear you have enjoyed your stay with us, we enjoyed having you.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back on another family visit!

Kind regards,

Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

Great hotel with nice sized and modern decorated rooms. Gouda is a great place to visit and the hotel is ideally situated on the canal in the town centre. Staff were friendly breakfast was good and varied

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Best Western Plus City Hotel Gouda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus City Hotel Gouda

Address: Hoge Gouwe 201, 2801 LE Gouda, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Gouda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Gouda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus City Hotel Gouda 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, EasyToBook, Hotel.de and Tingo so you can book your Best Western Plus City Hotel Gouda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Best Western Plus City Hotel Gouda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.