We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very central” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Best Western Plus City Hotel Gouda

Save Saved
You added Best Western Plus City Hotel Gouda to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus City Hotel Gouda
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hoge Gouwe 201, 2801 LE Gouda, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Gouda
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
“Very central”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Lovely new hotel, very clean. Staff unfortunately very unfriendly! They don't make you feel welcome at all. Rooms a good size, beds big and comfy, showers great. There are no bottled water in the rooms. It is close to the central market, beautiful view of the canals.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWGouda H, Front Office at Best Western Plus City Hotel Gouda, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear 236TanaD236,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review of your experience. We are very sorry to hear that you didn’t feel welcome at our hotel, this matter has been discussed with our front office team.

However, it is very good to hear that you have enjoyed our hotel and the wonderful center of Gouda.
Whenever you are back in Gouda, please do stay with us again and we will do our utmost to make you feel welcome.

Kindest regards,

Linda
Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    55
    31
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
13
46
4
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Pipe Gate, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Great position, lovely room. One member of staff at the front desk not very friendly or welcoming at all but all other staff were delightful, very helpful, very friendly. So more than made up for her. The position of the hotel is excellent. The food in the hotel was fantastic with great service especially the bar waiter . Would definitely stay there again

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWGouda H, Front Office at Best Western Plus City Hotel Gouda, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear Liz and Steve,

First of all thank you very much for leaving us a review, your opinion/experience is very important to us.
It is a delight to read that you have enjoyed the hotel and the city and regret to read about your experience with one of our staff members.
We always tell our staff the importance of hospitality, therefor we are looking forward to give you an extra warm welcome the next time you are in Gouda.

Kind regards,

Laura
Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

If you have the need to stop in Gouda, the Best Western provided a convenient location within walking distance of Old Town. The hotel is relatively new and rooms are thoughtfully appointed with the basics.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWGouda H, Front Office at Best Western Plus City Hotel Gouda, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for leaving us a review, your experience is very important to us.
It is good to hear that you find our location convenient as it is only a five minute walk to the center, we hope you got to enjoy the charmes of our old town.

We hope to welcome you back sometime!

Kind regards,

Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

We had booked at a local B&B, which just didn't work out bad we were able stay a day earlier, this place is wonderful, nice staff, good rates and very clean! Easy walk to the city center. You will not be disappointed !

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWGouda H, Front Office at Best Western Plus City Hotel Gouda, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear Alexandria,

Thank you very much for leaving us a review. It is very good to hear you have enjoyed your stay with us, we enjoyed having you.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back on another family visit!

Kind regards,

Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

Great hotel with nice sized and modern decorated rooms. Gouda is a great place to visit and the hotel is ideally situated on the canal in the town centre. Staff were friendly breakfast was good and varied

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Above the expectation ...

I was warmly welcomed to the hotel, since me and my wife arrived early we left the luggage in the deposit and went for a walk and lunch.

The check in was done and all I had to do was sign and get my key cards. The hotel is brand new. We had a very good room, facing the canal and part of a park.

Staff was very good, we even regret spending only one day at the city.

Breakfast was excellent, espresso coffee and the works. I definitely recommend!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the canal!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belgium
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

This new hotel is in the little city centre of Gouda. The rooms are "happy" designed. The lobby and the bar, breakfast room a nice to stay.
The service was very good and helpful. A parking is in the hotel. The hotel is about 500m from the market of Gouda.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Best Western Plus City Hotel Gouda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus City Hotel Gouda

Address: Hoge Gouwe 201, 2801 LE Gouda, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Gouda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Gouda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus City Hotel Gouda 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotel.de, Venere and Otel so you can book your Best Western Plus City Hotel Gouda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Best Western Plus City Hotel Gouda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.