We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where my parents were married.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stadhuis (City Hall)

Stadhuis (City Hall)
Markt 1, Gouda, The Netherlands
088-000-15-05
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 20 things to do in Gouda
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The city hall of Gouda was completed in 1450 and is the oldest gothic city hall in the Netherlands.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Where my parents were married.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Of course I have special feelings about this building! My parents sat in the chairs there to be married. I attended the ceremony when my aunt was married there. I stood outside 10 years after WWII finished, as a schoolboy with fellow classmates to hear the mayor speak. I love Gouda by Candlelight around the (now former) town hall. There's so much history! I was pleased to take my then teen-age children there (born in Sydney). (We visited much earlier than 2012)

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    57
    13
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, FL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Gouda, Netherlands”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Great anno 1500 style homes and market place. Nice boat fare thru old Gouda.
Historic and good views of old Holland prior to invasion of other cultures.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A really Dutch City Hall”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We drove from Kinderdijk along the Lek river and took the ferry for only 2. 45 euro across the river for a short drive to Gouda. A lovely Dutch town with nice shops, St John s Church and the old City Hall . You can visit the Gouda cheese shop which sells the best local cheeses. Walk through the old town with delightful houses on the canals.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
225 reviews
214 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
“Stadhuis”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

The Stadhuis is unmissable, located right in the middle of the Markt in Gouda. Walk around the entire exterior to appreciate the detailed architecture of this lovely old building and the great photo opportunities provided. Unfortunately there was a wedding in progress when I visited and I couldn't go inside to view the interior.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mons, Belgium
Level Contributor
243 reviews
156 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Town Halls don't come like this anymore...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Breathtaking view on any given day, this piece of architecture seems more like sculpted stone lace. Make sure you have a beer or the amazing french fries across the facade to fully understand what makes the Netherlands such a unique place...

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stadhuis (City Hall) also viewed

Gouda, South Holland Province
Gouda, South Holland Province
 
Gouda, South Holland Province
Gouda, South Holland Province
 

Been to Stadhuis (City Hall)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stadhuis (City Hall), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.