We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, lots of great menu options & great value for the money.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dragonfly Cafe

Dragonfly Cafe
413 Railway Avenue, Salmo, British Columbia, Canada
250) 357-2867
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 5 Restaurants in Salmo
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Restaurant details
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent food, lots of great menu options & great value for the money.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Stopped in at this little place on a whim with 4 friends around noon on a Saturday. We ordered grilled panini sandwiches & had our order in about 10 mins. The sandwiches were better than any sandwich I have had in Vancouver. Best if all, they had vegan options & kicking horse, kickass coffee! Wow!
Big thumbs up to this little kootenay gem!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    5
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Coffee and Cake -perfect rainy day diversion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Great cheesecake - hot coffee - friendly staff and lots of local colour - what a great way to pass away a rainy afternoon on the road between Creston and Nelson

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B.C.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Friendly, fast service and a great breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We found the Dragonfly several years ago one snowy day when we needed a coffee break after a grueling drive over the Salmo Creston Highway. Since then we make a point of stopping there several times a year when we are travelling Hwy 3 to visit our family. Every server we've had at the Dragonfly has been friendly and a hard worker. We are greeted when we walk in and served in a personable but effecient manner. We particularly like to have the farmer sausage breakfast which comes with a generous link of farmer sausage, two eggs, toast and hash browns. This breakfast eaten in the late morning lasts us for most of the day on our long drive back to the Fraser Valley. We like the homey atmosphere at the Dragonfly and the interesting nature photography that graces two of its walls. Besides the good service and food, the prices are reasonable.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castlegar
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A pleasant stop for breakfast or lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Located on Railway Avenue in Salmo this small cafe, (about 10 tables and a counter area) serves only breakfast or lunch. A one page menu lists sandwiches, wraps, paninis and salads and some breakfast items. Food is well prepared and tasty and the staff friendly. The walls are covered with artwork by local artists. Prices are reasonable and in line with other cafes in the West Kootenays.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dragonfly Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Dragonfly Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dragonfly Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.