We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of De Stroper

De Stroper
Wijnbrug 1-3, 3311 EV Dordrecht, The Netherlands
078-6130094
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 74 Restaurants in Dordrecht
Cuisines: Belgian, Dutch
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Veldhoven
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A hidden gem!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

We went there with our family of 5 and had a wonderful dinner experience. We all took the 4-course specialty menu, consisting of 3 fish course + desert. All of the course where well prepared, each being a tasteful pallet of flavours. Presentation was a feast for the eye. We were somewhat afraid that 4 courses were too much, but in this kind of restaurant it is not about food as in stashing your stomach. We were there for 3 ours and had a good spread of servings. The fish dishes were succulent each time, accompanied by fantasy-rich veggie combinations, either prepared mashed, or e.g. grilled. Choice of wine was excellent, also having enough options for per glass ordering. While we dine out very frequently, this dining experience was among the best we had in while. Prices are on the higher side, but that can be expected for this kind of quality. Staff is very friendly. Not suitable for smaller children, as waiting time between courses may be too long. Advise too book in advance, to grab a table at the waterfront.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    40
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Great seafood in a six course package. Culinary entertainment for the entire evening with great service.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dordrecht, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Amazing food in a intimate atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

We had a wonderful dinner at the Stroper, 4 courses of fish and a dessert. The food is amazing, the dishes are well thought out, surprising and the ingredients super fresh. The staff is very helpful and friendly and the room is bright and cozy. We had a great time and will absolutely be back!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Nice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

This restauarant is located in a nice area of the old town. Food is really good and, very important, was original enough. Was happy with the service and price / quality ratio. Can recommend a menu at any time and will definately go back at some point.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mons, Belgium
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Gastronomy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

The practice or art of choosing, cooking, and eating good food. We had an awesome lunch experience at De Stroper. Although we had a late lunch and was only able to order a two course meal, we departed very satisfied. The service was top notch, very attentive waiter who described each dish. The meal was very well prepared and presented; amazing flavors. When being back in Dordrecht, I would definitely choose this restaurant again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed De Stroper also viewed

Dordrecht, South Holland Province
Dordrecht, South Holland Province
 
Dordrecht, South Holland Province
Dordrecht, South Holland Province
 

Been to De Stroper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage De Stroper, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.