We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent fish restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of De Stroper

De Stroper
Wijnbrug 1-3, 3311 EV Dordrecht, The Netherlands
078-6130094
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 74 Restaurants in Dordrecht
Cuisines: Belgian, Dutch
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent fish restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

Had the four course specialty menu (3 fish courses and dessert) and each course was very good. Service was excellent and helpful. I thought the decor was modern and light, but we were seated by the canal rather than the back dining area.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    40
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zwijndrecht, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“lots and lots of fish”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

a fish restaurant in the lovely historic centre of Dordrecht. I have been here only once, but was not a great experience. The restaurant is kind of dark, tired furniture. We had a 4 course speciality menu, all courses were fish ofcourse, first course was nice, some white tuna with vegetables, but the second (sole) and third course (john dory) were more fish with vegetables, and it was all just way too much, portions too large. The plates were very hot, and this made the fish too dry. The dessert was really nice by the way. What bothered me was the very strong smells from the kitchen (frying/ baking) in the restaurant, my eyes and throat were sore at the end of the evening. We drank some really nice spanish white wine, the sommelier was friendly and knowledgable, can't say the same about the waitress.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Yes, yes, yes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Excellent fish restaurant in the centre of Dordrecht clearly run by people who know what they are doing and who really care about their business. Very limited carte but with interesting menus offering great quality/value. I took the classic four course menu and although portions were small, presentation and flavours were excellent - all explained by the friendly staff. A good and not expensive wine list accompanies the dishes - overall an unexpected gastronomic experience discovered in Dordrecht and one I can wholeheartedly recommend. A great restaurant...

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wivenhoe, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A great fish restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Good location, attentive staff, not rushed. We both had the 4 course speciality menu, food was delightful. Ask for the english menu if you do not understand the dutch one.
Book ahead, the place was very busy.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beveren, Oost-Vlaanderen, Belgium
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

On a city trip to Rotterdam we stayed one night in Dordrecht. We dropped in at De Stroper and we had a near perfect evening (I don't give recommendations away that easy).
First off: personnel was caring and trained, very professional without becoming too stiff and friendly with our two kids.
The Restaurant is simple but tidy, clean and you get out of it without smelling of food... A rarity these days!
About food: this is mainly a fish restaurant that you can approach with confidence, I rarely find such a balance between quality of material and cooking style.
Don't expect very sophisticated cuisine: just very, very good food from starters to desserts.
A small remark: the wine list lacks substance on European wines... Too many Africans and South Americans for an average guy like me.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed De Stroper also viewed

Dordrecht, South Holland Province
Dordrecht, South Holland Province
 
Dordrecht, South Holland Province
Dordrecht, South Holland Province
 

Been to De Stroper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage De Stroper, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.