We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class but quiet museum” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dordrechts Museum

Dordrechts Museum
Museumstraat 40, Dordrecht, The Netherlands
+31(0)78-7708708
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 12 Attractions in Dordrecht
Type: Art Museums, Museums
Attraction details
the Hague
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“First class but quiet museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

I was given a tour in this museum by the mayor and the director of the museum and it was far above expectation.
The collection is beautiful, very well presented. The building is lovely and just renovated. And the restaurant and shop are excellent.
What I liked most was that in several of the rooms they have the studies and sketches the artists made before the final oil painting. It gives you a nice view of how the artists work.

I would highly recommend going to this museum.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    29
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dordrecht, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Old Dutch Masters”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Not too touristy, but worth a visit as it has some interesting paintings of the old Dutch masters! Museum has recenltly been renovated and looks very good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Dordrecht doesn't disappoint”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Newly renovated. It is small compared to the musea of the big cities, but it is worth seeing and the terrace in the garden of the museum is an oasis of green in the heart of this old brick city, where one can enjoy tasty bites; the service is good, too.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
131 attraction reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Overwhelming experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

My main reason to visit this museum was the exhibition of master drawer Jan Van Der Kooi who is strongly inspired by Leonardo Da Vinci. And I enjoyed it very much, what an awesome talent and dedication, all those wonderful drawings of elephants, gorilla’s, orang oetan’s, horses, lions and tigers. Often Jan Van Der Kooi exercised in the famous Rotterdam Zoo Blijdorp, for hours and hours he continued making sketches. An unique style, highly recommended to experience! After visiting this exhibition, I took a look at the many other rooms of this renovated museum (2010). To be honest, I didn’t know what to expect, it was a kind of surprise. But soon I was delighted about the huge collection featuring many known and famous painters and artists, from Breitner, Mesdag and Bol to Toorop and Corbijn, amazing! Not to be missed by any serious lover of art!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Interesting museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Staff of the museum is very friendly and helpul. Restaurant staff was also doing an excellent job and always with a smile, food is ok but a bit small portions.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dordrechts Museum also viewed

Dordrecht, South Holland Province
Dordrecht, South Holland Province
 
Dordrecht, South Holland Province
Dordrecht, South Holland Province
 

Been to Dordrechts Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dordrechts Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.