We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Zany, wacky, comfortable and AWESOME” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Augustus

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Augustus to your Saves list
Villa Augustus
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Oranjelaan 7, 3311 DH Dordrecht, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Dordrecht
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Zany, wacky, comfortable and AWESOME”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

I stayed at the Villa Augustus while traveling on business. It is truly the most unique and zany hotel I have stayed at – this is a good thing! The hotel is built into an old water tower and is surrounded by crops, used in the onsite restaurant. Rooms are all decorated in very abstract ways, the particular room I stayed in was painted in fluros with pop culture art all over the walls. The fridge was built into an old crate. The room itself was the cheapest available – but was still generous in size with an excellent shower.

Wifi was fast and reliable and a desk and lamp were provided making pre/post-meeting work nice and easy.

The only downside of rooms on the ground level is the constant foot traffic walking past. Each room has a huge window, so if privacy is needed curtains must be drawn. The keys were also very hard to use (old large metallic keys).

The biggest positive of all at this hotel were the staff, who were INCREDIBLY friendly and helpful.

Would highly recommend this to all who visit Dordrecht.

Room Tip: Avoid staying on the ground floor if possible - lots of foot traffic with little privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    51
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
32
66
8
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
173 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

This hotel is an excellent choice for a weekend together. We stayed on the fifth floor what used to be the water reservoir. The rooms are nicely decorated and the bed is very comfortable. The bathroom is downstairs with big tub and walk in shower. The city is within walking distance, for dinner however you could stay on the premises since the restaurant serves excellent meals with good service.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Very good weekend! The hotel is very "special" totally different from other ones but in a positive way. Large rooms, king size beds, large bathroom. Everything was perfect: the view, the gardens, the restaurant and what to say about the breakfast! excellent.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culemborg, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

This hotel has great views, clean rooms and very helpful staff. The garden we saw from the third floor, but didn't visit because of the weather. That is a must for next time, because it will look awesome in spring. What a great stay we had! Lunch, dinner and breakfast next door was also very nice.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
106 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Having stayed in Dordrecht before, I was pleasantly surprised by Villa Augustus. Quirky and different in a positive way, my room was large and furnished with shabby chic recycled furniture, but the bed was great; big and comfortable with nice linen. Large bathroom with good overhead shower and double sinks. Good breakfast, with eggs to order and above average croissants.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the back garden, as it is really quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederikshavn, Denmark
Level Contributor
70 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Very special hotel it's a rebuilt watertower and quilte charming place. I had a "small" loft room, that's was not that's small it was fine for me and it would be fine for two also. The rebuilt has been done with respect for the old building. TV is very small.
I liked it a lot.

Downsides are the location in the middel of an industrial neighbourhood and sometimes long waiting time in the restaurant. Three is a 20 minutes walk to the old towncenter.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Thought this hotel was fantastic. Very different, very quirky! Just outside of Dordrecht old town with good transport links to Rotterdam and other towns by boat, train (15/20 minute walk) bus, car or bike! It is a converted water tower with fittings made from recycled material. Sound a bit strange but it really works. We had a great view room on the third floor overlooking the gardens and river. Very comfortable bed and good sized room. We were there in the winter and guess it could get warm in the summer as there is no air conditioning. Restaurant is in a separate building (converted pumping room) and we thought the food and service was a very high standard and not too expensive. It is very popular locally and again a great experience. Nice to walk in the gardens where they grow some of there own produce. Everything about this hotel, restaurant and gardens was different, staff were very friendly. Overall a very enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dordrecht
3.2 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Dordrecht
1.9 mi away
Hotel de Watertoren
Hotel de Watertoren
#4 of 8 in Dordrecht
4.0 of 5 stars 13 reviews
3.2 mi away
Postillion Hotel Dordrecht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Dordrecht
Hotel Dordrecht
#5 of 8 in Dordrecht
3.5 of 5 stars 30 reviews
4.5 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel ARA
Van der Valk Hotel ARA
#1 of 1 in Zwijndrecht
4.5 of 5 stars 306 reviews
1.4 mi away
Apollo Hotel Papendrecht
Apollo Hotel Papendrecht
#1 of 1 in Papendrecht
4.0 of 5 stars 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Augustus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Augustus

Address: Oranjelaan 7, 3311 DH Dordrecht, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Dordrecht
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Dordrecht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa Augustus 3.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In 2006 the 1.5 hectares of Dordrecht's former drinking water companysite has been transformed into a large kitchen garden, an italiangarden, an orchard and a flower garden. In the middle of the kitchengarden you will find two monumental buildings. The former pumpingstation (from 1942) which has been reconstructed and now accommodatesa restaurant seating 200 people and a market.The restaurant is open seven days a week for breakfast, lunch anddinner in which predominantly organic products are used; right fromthe garden onto your plate! The menu follows the seasons.In Villa Augustus's own bakery sourdough bread, cakes and biscuits arefreshly made and an afternoon tea is being served daily.The water tower (from 1862) now is a hotel totaling 37 rooms; some ofwhich have a magnificent view and some which are situated in thegarden. All rooms have wonderful beds and the informal atmospheremakes you feel completely at home; as if you are staying with friends! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Villa Augustus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Augustus Hotel Dordrecht

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Augustus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.