We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thoroughly recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Augustus

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Augustus to your Saves list
Villa Augustus
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oranjelaan 7, 3311 DH Dordrecht, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Dordrecht
Grantham, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Thoroughly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed here a couple of times, both times in Garden Rooms. The rooms are eco-friendly and very comfortable.

The bathroom is magnificent with a huge wetroom area and a couple of washbasins, the bed is huge and very comfortable. I also appreciated the abundance of power points for all my phone and computer chargers.

The staff are very friendly and approachable and the restaurant on the other side of the garden is excellent. I have never seen the garden in summer but the discipline and attention to detail I have seen during the winter months suggests that it would be spectacular.

The location on the waterfront is excellent and I understand they operate their own ferry in the summer months. It is within a good walking distance from the railway station, but probably not if you have much more than an overnight bag..

I look forward to my next trip.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    35
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
22
47
8
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Schagen
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

What a great place. We stayed one night in the Lantern Room. I cannot comment on the other rooms but the Lantern Room is well worth booking if you can. Access to the viewing area is via a spiral staircase. The Bedroom is large and like the rest of the property a strange mix of styles which seems to work so well. A great experience, good staff, equally quirky and enjoyable restaurant. Good value and I can only recommend the whole establishment.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basra
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

This is one of those hotels you either love or hate. I am firmly in the first category. It is situated in a unique building with wonderful grounds. The food is fresh, local and wonderful. The rooms are basic but have all the necessary conveniences and I enjoy that they all seem to have different characteristics. For seasoned road warriors whose second homes are hotels that are the same anywhere this is a breath of fresh air. Go and enjoy.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

My business takes me to a lot of different hotels.. some better some worse than others..

Villa Augustus is an exception. It is like staying with friends in an awesome building and nice gardens right on the river.. The staff are very friendly and always give you a smile. But like friends the staff at the restaurant are.. let's say not overly attentive, I had to get up and ask for a second cup of coffee which I didn't mind. You just take what you need in their open kitchen restaurant. Sort of like staying at a friend's place.. I like to stay here during the summer and whenever I have clients in the eastern Rotterdam area. This stay was in the winter and we had about two inches of snow. I had a giant room for myself and a giant bed with great duvets..

I gladly stay here during all seasons and recommend this hotel to all my friends and colleagues..

Room Tip: Any room is nice. The upstairs rooms in the main building have very narrow stair steps
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The moon
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We are Australians touring this wonderful country and the unique water tower of Villa Augustus was our favourite accommodation for our holiday. A brilliantly clever water tower renovation results in expansive rooms, very high ceilings, chic modern bathrooms, practical bedroom decor - very comfy beds. If you are lucky, you get a view overlooking the river, or the mega-million euro dollar formal Italian garden and organic vegetable garden. All veges grown on-site supply the wonderful restaurant where you can have breakfast, lunch and dinner - in a huge converted space that was formerly the industrial pump room that supplied water to the town. If you are scared of heights you can stay in the ground floor cottages in the stunning gardens BUT the water tower is best for views and originality - including the open glass elevator that leaves you gasping as you rise into the clouds surrounded by a mosaic of green expertly manicured gardens. Easy parking, friendly English speaking staff, good wholesome food. Well worth staying here as part of your tour of The Netherlands. For the brave, try using the solid and safe fire stairs down the side of the tower instead of the elevator - and just enjoy the hard work the gardeners do to create such a stunning natural space.

Room Tip: Forget the ground garden rooms (unless you are scared of heights) - and go for the water tower rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

An experience for people who love design, and a sustainable lifestyle. Villa Augustus, a modest name for a Hotel, restaurant and market/shop in one, is the kind of eco-chic place that's still rare in the world. The venue, on the edge of the small harbor city Dordrecht, used to be a water tower and wetlands. The tower hosts now two dining rooms, and a 20+ hotel rooms. The wetland are reshaped in an organic garden, and a traditional English style garden with view over the river. I adored the view from my tower top room. The decoration and the authentic elements in the spacious room, made my stay a delight.
My suggestion: enjoy the room till check out time, and have lunch in the restaurant. The huge restaurant can be loud if large groups are hosted, next to that I enjoyed the grilled veggie's served with delicious bread, and the good choose of art magazines on the reading table.

Room Tip: choose a room in the tower with view over the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beveren, Oost-Vlaanderen, Belgium
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We lodged in Villa Augustus with two kids for two nights (Family rooms).
The biggest rooms are located in a wooden cottage in the garden, they are spacious and sport a castle bunk (kids were loving it).
The Hotel has a dependance where they built a large restaurant, a shop where bio products are sold and a cafe. Stylish and nice to the eye.
However, we noticed that the room wasn't totally clean, you won't find hairs under your sheets, especially if they are not yours.
The Restaurant is neither bad nor great, service is above average however.
Personnel in the hotel and in the restaurant was extremely kind, to be fair, we found that everybody in Dordrecht is kind.
Besides the flaws, we recommend the hotel, it's a nice staying.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Augustus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Augustus

Address: Oranjelaan 7, 3311 DH Dordrecht, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Dordrecht
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Dordrecht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Augustus 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In 2006 the 1.5 hectares of Dordrecht's former drinking water companysite has been transformed into a large kitchen garden, an italiangarden, an orchard and a flower garden. In the middle of the kitchengarden you will find two monumental buildings. The former pumpingstation (from 1942) which has been reconstructed and now accommodatesa restaurant seating 200 people and a market.The restaurant is open seven days a week for breakfast, lunch anddinner in which predominantly organic products are used; right fromthe garden onto your plate! The menu follows the seasons.In Villa Augustus's own bakery sourdough bread, cakes and biscuits arefreshly made and an afternoon tea is being served daily.The water tower (from 1862) now is a hotel totaling 37 rooms; some ofwhich have a magnificent view and some which are situated in thegarden. All rooms have wonderful beds and the informal atmospheremakes you feel completely at home; as if you are staying with friends! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Villa Augustus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Augustus Hotel Dordrecht

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Augustus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.