We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An outstanding structure with some flaws” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Augustus

Save Saved
You added Villa Augustus to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Augustus
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oranjelaan 7, 3311 DH Dordrecht, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 hotels in Dordrecht
Beveren, Oost-Vlaanderen, Belgium
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“An outstanding structure with some flaws”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We lodged in Villa Augustus with two kids for two nights (Family rooms).
The biggest rooms are located in a wooden cottage in the garden, they are spacious and sport a castle bunk (kids were loving it).
The Hotel has a dependance where they built a large restaurant, a shop where bio products are sold and a cafe. Stylish and nice to the eye.
However, we noticed that the room wasn't totally clean, you won't find hairs under your sheets, especially if they are not yours.
The Restaurant is neither bad nor great, service is above average however.
Personnel in the hotel and in the restaurant was extremely kind, to be fair, we found that everybody in Dordrecht is kind.
Besides the flaws, we recommend the hotel, it's a nice staying.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    74
    31
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
19
42
7
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Everything about this hotel is excellent - from the reception to the rooms (garden room overlooking the formal garden) to the restaurant to the setting in beautiful gardens. Every member of staff we encountered were professional and friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The food in the restaurant was first class - we experienced breakfasts and dinner on 2 nights. Would thoroughly recommend the whole experience at this fabulous place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Stayed here combining a holiday with a business trip and really enjoyed it. Had a room with patio doors opening onto the garden patio with own seating and table right outside. A walk through the kitchen garden to the restaurant for excellent breakfast and evening meal. Had lunch one day too and that was equally good. Not cheap but you got the best of everything - although very quirky and homely.
Very handy for waterbus to get around - it is a 10mins brisk walk to get there along the canal bank. Well worth using the waterbus to get around in this area, and don't be surprised to see the massive Noah's Ark nearby!?
Would go out of our way to stay again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

This hotel is so wonderful. It was the first time my husband and I had been back to Holland since 1999 and it was a special time for us. The staff made us feel so welcome...we arrived very late with small children and we were fed in the restaurant beautiful fresh food. The garden is absolutely amazing, one of the gardeners showed my son the vegetables which was a delight. We stayed in the garden room - very clean, beautiful bathroom and the best mattress of any hotel I have stayed in (and there have been many). Best of all was to wake up and to look across the bridge to a life size Noah's Ark which we visited and the children and we loved the amazing experience. Cannot recommmend highly enough.

Room Tip: Try a garden room that backs onto your own lawn. Beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ouderkerk aan de Amstel, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

The Villa really is 'the other hotel'. The resemblance with the atmosphere in Hotel New York in Rotterdam is striking. Rooms vary greatly, depending in which part of the hotel you are. Avoid staying in the rooms close to the reception if you are a light sleeper. Super shower in the room, which causes some flooding of the bathroom. Dirty spots on the floor. Great and very helpfull staff. Diner in a very popular (full) and huge restaurant. Breakfast not very extensive, but absolutely great quality. Can recommend this place to everybody

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ganey Tikva Israel
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

An old style tower located between a beautiful Versailles style Garden facing the water and an organic garden with vegetables herbs and flowers on its other side.
There is an organic chef restaurant that serves cold cuts breakfast and a very good dinner a la cart. The hotel has free parking.
The rooms look is nothing to write home about; the furniture and décor are old/basic country side style, there is a small flat TV, in room safe, mini bar, free coffee/tea and Wi-Fi, but the bed and shower were the best we had in a very long time.
The bed was large and comfortable with good homelike pillows.
The shower had a strong rain style above and a very powerful hand shower, the best water pressure I encountered in Holland! There is also a huge bath tab that is even suitable for 2 persons…
The only down side I found is the lack of air-condition in the room. We arrived in a warm day, and even at night we felt that the air in the room was stuffy, so we asked for a fan and only then it felt better, and we could sleep.
About 7 hours after we left the hotel I found out that I forgot all my shirts in the room closet. I was already in Utrecht so I called them and verified that they found them. I asked them how come day did not call me immediately after they found them, and all I got is a lame explanation that they were busy and under pressure with a large group of arriving guests and they intended to call me, but I called them first... I did not like it at all.
The hotel prices are not cheap, and dependant on the room size and location.
Breakfast costs 12.5 Euros per person and the restaurant prices are on the high end, but the food is good.
If you are in Dordrecht this is a lovely place to stay.

Room Tip: Do not trust the rooms' pictures in their web site, every room is different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Have just spent three days at Villa Augustus and would wholeheartedly echo the positive comments from previous reviewers.

We had a large garden room and it was lovely to be able to step out onto the terrace and in to the garden area. We were very fortunate with the weather - later in the year would probably stay on a high level in the water tower for the view.

Although we arrived by car, we didn't use it at all.
We found the local bus service very convenient, went by train to Delft and by waterbus to Rotterdam. We could have easily visited The Hague and even further afield in the same way.
Dordrecht is on the train line from Brussels to Amsterdam.

The old part of Dordrecht is a charming town with lovely, historical buildings and antique/art shops.
Lovely to sit on the waterside for a drink and watch the barges go up and down the river.

We ate several times at the Villa and found the food to be imaginative and very good
We hope to return for the Dordrecht Christmas Market.

Room Tip: Garden rooms are less private but have immediate access to garden and terrace. High level rooms hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Augustus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Augustus

Address: Oranjelaan 7, 3311 DH Dordrecht, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Dordrecht
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 hotels in Dordrecht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Augustus 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In 2006 the 1.5 hectares of Dordrecht's former drinking water companysite has been transformed into a large kitchen garden, an italiangarden, an orchard and a flower garden. In the middle of the kitchengarden you will find two monumental buildings. The former pumpingstation (from 1942) which has been reconstructed and now accommodatesa restaurant seating 200 people and a market.The restaurant is open seven days a week for breakfast, lunch anddinner in which predominantly organic products are used; right fromthe garden onto your plate! The menu follows the seasons.In Villa Augustus's own bakery sourdough bread, cakes and biscuits arefreshly made and an afternoon tea is being served daily.The water tower (from 1862) now is a hotel totaling 37 rooms; some ofwhich have a magnificent view and some which are situated in thegarden. All rooms have wonderful beds and the informal atmospheremakes you feel completely at home; as if you are staying with friends! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Hotel.de, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Villa Augustus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Augustus Hotel Dordrecht

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Augustus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.