We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Have you ever slept in a gypsy caravan?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de Emauspoort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel de Emauspoort to your Saves list
Hotel de Emauspoort
Vrouwenregt 9, 2611 KK Delft, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Delft
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York City
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Have you ever slept in a gypsy caravan?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2010

I have! My friend and I stayed in one of the two gypsy caravans (Pipo the Clown) at Hotel de Emauspoort for two nights in early March. At first we were looking into staying in the Hague but found the options to be more expensive and quite bland (lots of chain hotels obviously catering to the business traveler). Only a quick, cheap train ride (I think it was EUR 6 roundtrip) further to Delft was well worth it. The caravans were a great way to combine a unique travel attraction with our necessary accommodations. The experience was further improved with the modern comforts of free wifi in the lobby/lounge and a great breakfast with hot and cold options to suit every taste. The staff was friendly and knowledgeable and gave us a great dinner recommendation to a nearby local bistro (not like those hotels that send you to the major tourist rip-off that they have a "relationship" with). We were comfortable with the two space heaters provided but I'd hesitate to stay in the caravans in the dead of winter (the bathroom was quite a bit colder than the main room). Also, be advised that anyone over 5'7" will have to duck to get in and out of the bathroom and main caravan door and someone over 6' could easily feel too big for the space. We found the hotel to be easily walkable from the train station (wheeling a carry-on size suitcase) and centrally located for the main tourist attractions.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    112
    11
    0
    0
See reviews for
65
204
12
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louvain-la-Neuve, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2010

I chose this hotel based on two criteria: the Tripadvisor reviews and the price.
the reviews were all favourable so I assumed I can't go wrong and so it was.
As for the price although it wasn't cheap (99 EUR per night for the room breakfast included) it wasn't the most expensive one either on the 3-4 hotels in Delft that I had previously contacted.
So I stayed for 3 nights and everything was as expected: nice, quiet and spotlessly clean rooms, friendly and knowledgeable service at the front desk and located close to everything (restaurants, shops, railway station).
And very quiet at night. I had a room in the attic and the view was maybe not the most pictoresque (rooftops and backsides of buildings) but this made the room very quiet
The only potential minus: the breakfast room had no windows so I guess if you are in for a romantic getaway maybe you won't spend a lot of time eating your breakfast which is delicious by the way.
If I travel again to the Netherlands I will seriously consider this hotel. And Delft is a great location as well wherefrom you can basically visit the entire country (Amsterdam, The Hague, Rotterdam).

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2010

This hotel was recommended to me by a friend who lives just a few doors down in Delft. We were not disappointed. The location is second to none, the service friendly and the rooms very pleasant.
It's not a cheap hotel, at 99 euros for the room per night, but certainly not overpriced.
Highly recommended for either work or leisure.
Next time, I'd make more effort to get one of the gypsy caravans in the back yard, which you can also stay in, but apparently they're booked up quite a long time in advance.
Don't miss the pub on the corner, which serves 120 types of Belgian beer, but be sure to check the alcohol percentage, or you'll be staggering the few steps back to your room.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2010

Nice little hotel, centrally located in Delft. It's about 10-15 minutes walk from the train station.

The room I got was one of the attic rooms which was spacious and clean, breakfast was exceptional (especially by Dutch standards) with fresh bread, fruit, meat cheese and a cooked option every day.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2009

This is a really lovely small hotel. Its location is simply perfect, a stones throw from the main square – you could not hope to be more central. Delft is also such a wonderful place, a sort of mini Amsterdam. We reached it by train from Schipol. Dutch trains are fast, regular, clean and cheap. If you have bags, best get a taxi from the railway station (around 10 euros) – it’s about 10/15 minutes walk if you prefer. It’s also a really good location to visit other towns in the area (we went to Leiden during our short break) but you can easily spend a couple of (lazy) days in Delft. Do the canal tour and the town walk (arranged through tourist information), plus the Vemeer centre which is great for art lovers. Really good market on Saturdays which is huge. Huge number of great places to eat, to suit all tastes. Busy during the day, quiet during the evening. You will not meet more friendly people anywhere than here. Really proud of their town.

We couldn’t fault the hotel. We had an apartment (although had only booked a double room). The bedroom was spacious with a good bathroom and shower The lounge was ok, but the furniture was not too comfortable and the t.v. had limited English speaking channels (CNN and BBC1). But hey! You don’t go to Delft to watch the t.v. We also had good kitchen facilities – but the hotel has numerous restaurants within 5 or 10 minutes walk (loved the Mediterranean tapas about 5 minutes right from the hotel – not expensive) so you don’t really need these either. There is a nice lounge which also has free internet access. A good selection of guide books to peruse and there are also some English books left by previous guests. All in all, extremely comfortable.
The breakfasts were really good and served in a very relaxed atmosphere. All incredibly fresh – especially the bread and croissants. Real fresh orange juice. All the staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful.
What are the minus’s. They only have three car parking spaces – otherwise it’s at a nearby car park (5 minutes) walk – with reduced rates through the hotel. It’s so central that the church bells (fantastic for the first few hours, then a bit trying!!) are a bit too close.

Nice rooms, exceptionally clean, perfect location, lovely people. Good prices. Not sure we would describe it as luxurious, rather than extremely comfortable and friendly but a great place. We are going back soon. All the previous reviews are spot on. Go to Delft and go to this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2009

Nice big rooms, peaceful location but still close to the market place.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, Kansas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2009

My husband and I stayed in the Hotel de Emauspoort for one night while in Delft. It was a very nice hotel in the middle of the historic center of Delft. Our room overlooked the canal and a side street and included a loft. Noise was not a problem. Breakfast the next morning was excellent as well. We would definitely return to this hotel and Delft. It is a beautiful town in which to relax and take life at a slower, more peaceful pace.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel de Emauspoort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Emauspoort

Address: Vrouwenregt 9, 2611 KK Delft, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Delft
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Delft
#1 Best Value Hotel in Delft
#1 Family Hotel in Delft
#1 Business Hotel in Delft
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cosy hotel in the historic centre of Delft. 24 hotel rooms and 2 romantic Gypsy Caravans in the court-yard. Comfortable parking in the Marktparking located at 400 metres from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel de Emauspoort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boutique Hotel De Emauspoort
De Emauspoort Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de Emauspoort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.