We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Picture-perfect Netherlands experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de Emauspoort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel de Emauspoort to your Saves list
Hotel de Emauspoort
Vrouwenregt 9, 2611 KK Delft, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Delft
DC
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Picture-perfect Netherlands experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel de Emauspoort for 3 nights, in the heart of friendly and picturesque Delft. The hotel is charming, with specialty suites and caravans. It is right next to the Nieuwe Kerke, you walk easily to any site in Delft (even a visit to the porcelain factory outside of the center made for a pleasant walk). You spend your time crossing bridges over canals, eating little pancakes in the market, and enjoying this relaxed city.
Breakfast in the hotel was terrific and the staff are friendly and knowledgeable in this family-run hotel. Delft made a great base for exploring, we took a fun 20-minute ride on Tram#1 to the Hague and visited Amsterdam via train. We certainly preferred Delft as a base to previous experiences in Amsterdam -- Delft has no hustles or hassles (but is not dull, lots of young people, lots of great coffee shops, restaurants and locals). I can't recommend the Hotel de Emauspoort enough. Cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    103
    10
    0
    0
See reviews for
63
191
12
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, NY
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2009

I stayed at the Hotel de Emauspoort for one night in early Dec 2008 on my way from Brussels to Amsterdam. I especially wanted to visit the Vermeer Center and to see where Vermeer painted. Delft is charming and the hotel is centrally located, an easy walk to all of the major sites, restaurants, and the train station. My room was on the second floor in the front with a view of the back of the new church, canals, and charming street scenes.

The hotel is in a historic building that has been well maintained. The entrance is through an automatic door on the side of the building that opens into the lobby. It was a cold rainy afternoon when I arrived and the entrance to my room was outside and around to the front of the building where there was a locked door that guests were given a key to open. As is typical of Holland the stairs to the second floor were long and narrow, more like an enclosed ladder. Fortunately the receptionist showing me the way took one of my bags or I wouldn't have made it to the room. People with stair issues will need to request a first floor room. Once I got to the room it was large and pleasantly furnished in a historic inn sort of way.

Breakfast was a small buffet but with sufficient choices. The breakfast room had the same view as my room which was very pleasant. The staff were helpful getting tea, hot chocolate or whatever anyone wished.

The staff were very helpful with directions and suggestions for restaurants. I enjoyed both restaurants they suggested for a late lunch and for dinner. The next morning they were also very helpful when the lobby computer's Internet was down they allowed me to use their own computer to write a quick email home that they would send later when the Internet was up again. As it happened the Internet came up when I hit send but it was nice of them to offer to assist me in this way.

I would definitely stay at the Hotel de Emauspoort if I visit Delft again.

  • Liked — the location and the town
  • Disliked — narrow and long flight of stairs to second floor
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2008

Everything about this hotel was wonderful! The service, the cleanliness of the rooms, the staff, and its location. Delft is such a quaint and beautiful town and our experience at the Emauspoort was fantastic!

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milano
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2008

We spent 103 euro for 2 people for 1 night.
The room was nice, the city fantastic.
The breakfast was very EXCELLENT (buffet with various croissant, bread, cakes, jellies, yoghurts, fruits, juices, ecc ecc).
The price is expensive.

  • Liked — Staff, position, city, breakfast
  • Disliked — expensive price
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2008

The Emauspoort is a real find. It sits right behind the city's major basilica and main square in a block of atmospheric buildings. The staff are welcoming, the breakfast is good, and the hotel's interior courtyard is a delightful place to relax in after a day of sightseeing. The price is very reasonable given the hotel's undeniable charms.

Please don't think of this little gem as a full-service hotel, however, or you will be slightly disappointed. If you are sitting in the lobby at 10 p.m. the staff asks you politely to leave so they can lock up the room. The lobby bar was closed on Sunday and Monday nights, the nights of my visit, or perhaps I needed to ask at the front desk for bar service--I wasn't sure which was the case and I wasn't offered a drink as I sat working in the lobby. It is not possible to get a wake-up call prior to 7 a.m., and the rooms have no alarm clocks or newspapers in the morning. I needed to ask for a tiny shampoo packet the second day, which was cheerfully supplied (either the housekeepers had overlooked leaving me a new packet or the original, miniscule packet was intended to last for two nights). These aren't necessarily problems: they're simply evidence that the owners aren't trying to run a full-service hotel. Instead, if you think of the Emauspoort as a large (25 room) and comfortable bed-and-breakfast in historic buildings, you will be in the proper frame of mind to enjoy this charming establishment.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — No alarm clock in the room
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Perry
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2008

Found a jewel in a wonderful old city, very quiet for a city center,lots to see, hotel staff were great, rooms kept clean, good breakfast with lots of fresh bake goods, owners very helpful and all staff spoke great english, will stay again in a heartbeat.

  • Liked — The great personal service
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2008

A historical little place to take you back in time...

We were welcomed by the owners of this charming little hotel in the centre of the historic town of Delft!

Look no further this place is a real little find.

The room we had was a quad room over looking the canal and the church.
(It was very clean) The breakfast was a highlight with lots of yummy "Dutch Treats" and great coffee!
I have recommended this place to all my travelling friends, if you want something typically Dutch...look no further!
(The only comment I would like to point out, which didn't really worry us, is that they have no garage, however a public secured garage is a 10 minute stroll 'through the canals' away)

  • Liked — Clean, very comfortable and being in the centre of Delft
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel de Emauspoort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Emauspoort

Address: Vrouwenregt 9, 2611 KK Delft, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Delft
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Delft
#1 Business Hotel in Delft
#1 Best Value Hotel in Delft
#1 Family Hotel in Delft
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cosy hotel in the historic centre of Delft. 24 hotel rooms and 2 romantic Gypsy Caravans in the court-yard. Comfortable parking in the Marktparking located at 400 metres from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel de Emauspoort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boutique Hotel De Emauspoort
De Emauspoort Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de Emauspoort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.