We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent family run central hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de Emauspoort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel de Emauspoort to your Saves list
Hotel de Emauspoort
Vrouwenregt 9, 2611 KK Delft, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Delft
Cardiff
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Excellent family run central hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012 via mobile

We paid 99 euro b&b. Lovely room overlooking quiet side street. Large bathroom. All very clean. Excellent buffet breakfast. Friendly service, would highly reccomend.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    106
    10
    0
    0
See reviews for
63
191
12
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

This hotel had a lot going for it. The location was great, each breakfast on the three days we stayed there was different and the staff were very helpful. What let it down was the bed. We had requested a double and usually you get a queen size or king size bed. This bed was definitely a standard small double. When I asked if we could have a room with a bigger bed we were told that all their doubles were that size. They did, however, offer to change us to a room with twin beds but by that time we had already climbed up 3 flights of stairs with our luggage so decided we would put up with it. The first night we didn't sleep very well but after that we got use to it. However I do feel for a hotel like this and being rated as 3 stars should have at least queen sized beds.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with twin beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

My husband has stayed in this hotel on many occasions over the years, and has always raved about it, especially the croissants at breakfast! I therefore had high expectations, and have not been disappointed. The rooms are well kept and full of character, the location is excellent, as is the service. The breakfast is the highlight, definitely the best hotel breakfast I have ever had (with Honeymoon Guesthouse in Ubud, Bali, coming second). Excellent coffee, fresh fruit smoothies, fresh orange juice, fresh bread, and perfect croissants! It is hard to find a better croissant in France (my husband agrees, and he is french, so that is saying something!). Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Each room is different with its own features and distinct character.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Kilbride, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for one night as part of a short cycling break in Holland. We arrived late after a long day in the saddle. The staff were very helpful, made sure we were happy with where our bikes would be kept and showed us to our room. The room was perfectly comfortable with a great bathroom, a large deep bath. The breakfast was excellent, a varied choice and very good coffee. As others have said, the location is fantastic. It's in the middle of the town and right next to the main sights. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

Make no mistake, this is not a luxury hotel but a charming little pension. The rooms are extremely basic but are quite adequate although the one we stayed in was nearing refurbishment time. But this is a very old building situated just behind the Markt right on the doorstep of historic Delft. We used it as a base for travelling around the Netherlands and were very happy with our choice.

Yes, the bells from the churches make a lot of noise! If you are worried about this then stay out of town. The narrow streets carry echoing voices but again, this is all part of living right in the heart of Delft. For perfect peace and quiet, and a/c, look elsewhere.

The breakfast was very good with a different egg dish every day during our five night stay to accompany the usual north European cold cuts of meat and cheeses. The bread is baked on the premises (and very good it was too) which, as the building was originally a bakery, is entirely appropriate. Cereals and preserves are available and the coffee is excellent. On sunny days you can take breakfast in the courtyard where you will also find a mini bar with soft drinks and beer charged (on an honesty basis) at 2 euros each.

There is a pleasant lounge with a lovely view across what became our favourite bridge in Delft.

The staff are very friendly, the location is brilliant being steps away from local bars and restaurants and a 10/15 minute walk to the station.. Would we stay here if we came back to Delft? Probably.

Room Tip: The rooms looking over the courtyard will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauritius
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

Parking 1km away on the other side of the river, 3star rooms and poor breakfast. Staff courteous.View from room and position make up for old tired decor.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

My friend and I spent two nights in darling Delft. Fortunate to have had the chance to travel most of Europe over the past few years, we have learned that checking Trip Advisor beforehand is mandatory. Feeling lucky to have gotten two rooms in the No. 1 TA-rated hotel, we were very excited to check out Emauspoort. Disappointed by the unfriendliness of the owner/manager and his wife, we had high hopes as he showed us to our room. Past the gypsy wagons we went...up to our motel-style room. "That one there," he said, with just a point before he walked away. Without fans and A/C the room was H-O-T. Because it was necessary to sleep with all windows open, we were awakened at 5:00am each day to endless church bells. There is little charm to the room, another reason why my friend and I kept asking each other how Emauspoort ever got itself so high on the TA ranking.

The breakfast wait staff was exceptionally friendly and the food was average. They were accommodating to dietary restrictions and took menu requests from guests throughout the breakfast room.

The location is fantastic; just 200 meters from Beestenmarkt, a 10-minute walk to the trains and trams, and right around the corner from a fantastic Saturday-morning antique market. This helped with our experience in Delft, but I would definitely not recommend the hotel as it is over-priced for what you get.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel de Emauspoort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Emauspoort

Address: Vrouwenregt 9, 2611 KK Delft, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Delft
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Delft
#1 Best Value Hotel in Delft
#1 Romantic Hotel in Delft
#1 Business Hotel in Delft
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cosy hotel in the historic centre of Delft. 24 hotel rooms and 2 romantic Gypsy Caravans in the court-yard. Comfortable parking in the Marktparking located at 400 metres from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel de Emauspoort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boutique Hotel De Emauspoort
De Emauspoort Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de Emauspoort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.