We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great town square” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Markt

Markt
Markt, Delft, The Netherlands
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 23 Attractions in Delft
Type: Landmarks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Västerbotten
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great town square”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

A great place in Delft with a lot of atmosphere and thing to see and taste. The view of both church and other buildings are really something

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    45
    7
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We found a spot in the Markt to try the local specialties. I had the coffee and apple tart, while others tried the tomato soup and the salads.

The service was good, the food was ok, but the atmosphere was wonderful.

I would do it again.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
50 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“A must see”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

To get anywhere else special in town, you pretty much need to cross through here. You'll hit all the touristy places and get a good feel for the town. Don't miss this if you're visiting town.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Connecticut
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
103 attraction reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Stop at a "real" Delft factory to know the difference”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

We did a walking tour around this neighborhood, and square. Our tour ended at one of the few remaining Delft factory that still produces Delftware. Learn why some blue and white pieces are less expensive, while other pieces are quite pricey. After our lesson, and a small purchase I retraced my steps to a small antique shop to buy a pair of vintage ice skates. Nice man, great prices. Then a little shopping within the square took me to cheese shops and souvenirs spots. End your time at the church square to take it all in with photos and memories. Beautiful, just beautiful.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
501 reviews 501 reviews
249 attraction reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
180 helpful votes 180 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Wonderful Large Open Square. Loads of seats to sit and eat and enjoy the sun. New church at one end, town hall at the other. The canals just on the outside. Really nice place to enjoy.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Markt also viewed

Delft, South Holland Province
Delft, South Holland Province
 
Delft, South Holland Province
Delft, South Holland Province
 

Been to Markt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Markt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.