We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“short trip but nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bridges House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Bridges House Hotel to your Saves list
Bridges House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oude Delft 74, 2611C Delft, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Delft
Certificate of Excellence
Detroit Lakes, Minnesota
Level Contributor
95 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“short trip but nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

I had a friend that was in need of cheering up so my husband and I stayed at the Bridges House hotel for only $66 per night. We stayed 2 nights and had a wonderful time. The hotel staff checked us in very quickly, the room was spacious and clean. We were very happy with a large bathroom and shower. We were not in the hotel for anything but sleeping. As for the breakfast, I am not able to comment we didn’t eat there.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tabitha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Allen, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

My husband, our two adult children and I stayed here in July 2012. We had two rooms next to each other. This was the only hotel that was not going to earn me points, but it was so worth it! The Delft train station is not far, and even though it was sprinkling, we walked with our drag bags. Delft is such a wonderful haven of calm. We found this hotel in the Rick Steve's guide books, a necessity when traveling in Europe! We found out later that our rooms were recently converted from being space in the attic. They were modern and just lovely! We had the best view of the church clock tower. It glowed in the night and was wonderful to look at. This is the historic home of the artist, Jan Steen. We were able to see his works in the Rijksmuseum and later in Vienna. I don't have words to describe standing in front of one of his paintings and knowing that you slept in his house! The owner and staff were amazing. We really enjoyed the open air market in the square the day that we left. We also took the tram to Den Hague, where, although we did not get in to the Peace Palace, (it is only open on the weekend for tourists, we did go through the little exhibit and felt like we had the update.) It was well worth it!

Room Tip: We stayed in the attic rooms. Just know that the stairs are a bit...well....small and tight. The v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LindaRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

A belated review. We spent a night in early July 2012. The hotel is probably a three star but no more. The room was very large with tired furniture. It was quiet (despite being a Saturday night), it had a quiet working Air Conditionning system, a super toilet with large bath-shower (very clean), a small fridge, and a decent TV. Despite having such super large room; the beds were the usual width as double but extra long while they could have had a King Size bed. There was no bed head as the bed contacted directly the wall giving the room a cheap look: this could be fixed so easily (you lost points here).

Breakfast was simple despite the fact that we learned that I could have had eggs, bacon and other warm choices... as another customer ordered it later... bummer. With only a max of one croissant per customer; I felt that the owner was rather "Cheap".

The town of Delft is absolutely lovely... We will go back again. Do the canal cruise as it is charming and a real good value for money... it is just a block or two away. For supper, we found a fantastic restaurant with a huge covered garden terrasse named Eet & Proeflokaal de Kurk on Kromstraat 20 (www.dekurk.nl).

The hotel is near the train station (note that it is under renovation and the large street in front is an awfull mess). Don't bother for a taxi.

Room Tip: Use google map with actual satellite picture... it makes finding easier given names of street change...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HeronDevou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for five nights during a trip to TU Delft as a visiting researcher. Because I was staying for a few days, they gave me a cute little self-contained apartment instead of a room which was incredibly convenient. The owner, Jan Willem, and the staff were helpful, friendly and hospitable. The location of this hotel is perfect for those who want to explore Delft. It was also only a 25 minute walk to the university. The only aspect which can be improved is the lighting; it was quite dim. If I visit Delft again, I'd definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blindpsykhe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

Rooms were great with a wonderful big ensuite bathroom. Staff was extremely helpful and very, very nice. The location was perfect for walking to the market square and not that far of a walk from the train station (which was slightly confusing due to the renovation of the whole station). Very enjoyable visit.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jeaabq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

This is a nicely maintained, classic small European hotel, overlooking a canal in Delft. Our room was small, but clean and comfortable. The proprietor was friendly and caring.

The only negative was the yelling and party sounds of young people in the streets around the hotel at various points during the hours between 2 am and 5 am. Delft is apparently a college town and the students were definitely out in party force during our stay. Overall we chalked this up to part of the local experience.

Parking was moderately convenient as we were able to drop off our luggage and then park in a public garage within walking distance.

The classic parts of Delft that tourists will want to visit represent a relatively small area and all of it is within easy walking distance from the Bridges House Hotel.

The continental breakfast was tastefully done in the small lobby. In contrast to the previously mentioned behavior of the local student population, we very much enjoyed speaking with the local college age students employed by the Hotel during our breakfasts.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Ganymede77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rye, ny
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

The Bridges is mis-identified as a three star. It is two star and might work out fine for readers except it is at a four star price. Terrible continental breakfast and a push bottom coffee maker. Our room was big that is true but with beat up furniture and a dismal lighting. It is close to the train station and the general staff was cordial though the manager refused to help my 67 year old husband carry his bag to the room.

Room Tip: Look elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hhj26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Delft hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Leeuwenbrug
Hotel Leeuwenbrug
#4 of 17 in Delft
4.0 of 5 stars 276 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampshire Hotel - Delft Centre
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Museumhotels Delft
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Johannes Vermeer
0.2 mi away
Hotel De Koophandel
Hotel De Koophandel
#5 of 17 in Delft
4.0 of 5 stars 74 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel de Plataan
Hotel de Plataan
#6 of 17 in Delft
4.0 of 5 stars 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bridges House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bridges House Hotel

Address: Oude Delft 74, 2611C Delft, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Delft
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Delft
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Bridges House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Bridges House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bridges Hotel Delft

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing