We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Helpful & Friendly Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Delft Centre

Save Saved
You added Hampshire Hotel - Delft Centre to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampshire Hotel - Delft Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Koepoortplaats 3, 2612 RR Delft, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Delft
Sydney
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Location, Helpful & Friendly Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

We stayed at the Hampshire for 3 nights in April.We arrived quite early and understandably our room wasnt ready. The friendly trainee staff member offered to store our luggage and made us a lovely cup of coffee, complimentary. Unfortunately, the Hotel does not have its own car park. The parking area at the back is for coaches and is owned by the Council. Rather than run the risk of parking in the street, we opted to use the parking station just across the road @ 14 Euro per day. On advice form other travellers we had reserved Room 809, definitely the best in the Hotel. it's spacious and has an excellent view of the town. We ate at thr restaurant that night and enjoyed a lovely meal, good wine and good attentive service. We wanted to travel to The Hague and Rotterdam and the friendly staff at reception advised that we were better to use public transport and avoid the high cost of parking in those cities. They printed train and tram timetables for us and provided additional information which made our journeys easy. We enjoyed our stay ver much..

Room Tip: Request Room 809, Consider Parking
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janine H, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Delft Centre, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Sir / Madam,

Thank you for writing this review. Glad to hear that you had a good time at our hotel. The cities of Rotterdam and The Hague are easy to visit by public transport. Parking fees in Delft are much lower and your car is safe in the parking lot opposite the hotel.
Room 809 is a beautiful, spacious room indeed, with a unique view of the historic center of Delft.

We hope to see you again.

Sincerely,
Janine Hoogwerf
Hampshire Hotel Delft Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    68
    10
    5
    4
See reviews for
18
70
8
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gold River, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

When we arrived at the hotel we were unable to enter the parking lot due to eight tour buses in the lot. When we fimally arrived at the desk we were greeted by a rather abrupt youg lady. I asked if all the bus travelers were staying in the hotel. She responded that they were not and she didn't know why they were in the parking lot. I later found out that the hotel is renting parking to tour buses, while hotel customers pay to park a block away. Throughout our stay there were always buses in the parking lot, sometimes extending into the street, always spewing diesel fumes around the only hotel entrance, which is from the parking lot.
When we checked in I was told that if I had any needs to let them know. However, every time I went to the desk there was either no one there or they were with someone else. Usually I would waite for about 2-3 minutes and leave . On one occasion I asked someone at the desk if they had a map of The Hague. The response was an abrupt "no". Not "there is an information center downtown and you can find a map there", or "you can find one...", etc. On another occasion I went to the desk for some ice. The youg lady who had checked me in was in front of the desk and said she would get it when she returned. The person behind the desk, who was helping someone, heard this and said she would get the ice, which was about five meters away.
The only saving grace was that we had a room with a balcony, albeit not overlooking tne old town. However, the only furnature on the balconey was a metal bench which was chained to the divider between balconies, and could not be moved to avoid the sun or for a better view.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janine H, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Delft Centre, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

We are sorry to hear that you have had a bad experience in our hotel. Our employees are generally very helpful. Therefore, we are surprised about your review. Of course we will discuss your review with our team. Obviously we want to avoid this in the future and we apologize for the inconvenience you have experienced.

Best Regards,
Janine Hoogwerf
Hampshire Hotel Delft Centre.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

The room was ok. A bit noisy.
The service was not good. Very unfriendly staff.

We also had dinner at the hotels restaurant.
The menu was very limited and quality of the food of low standard.
Also the service was poor and extremely slow

For free parking; don't park across the street in the parking garage (this is what the hotel advised us) but park your car behind the hotel in the streets but make sure you are not in the P-zone.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampshire Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janine H, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Delft Centre, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Sir / Madam,

Glad to hear that the room you stayed in was as required. Too bad that our employees were not friendly. This is something we're not used to hear. We are usually valued for their kindness. Your review will be included in a team meeting to prevent this in the future.
Indeed, we always advise you to park in the garage. Parking in the neighborhood is at your own risk.

Hope to see you soon in Delft.

Kind regards,
Janine Hoogwerf
Hampshire Hotel Delft Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

modern, bright hotel. Stayed here with small group from England for 5 nights. everyone found the staff extremely friendly and helpful and thought the food excellent: good choice at breakfast,
and varied, beautifully cooked dinner menu. hotel is only 5 minutes from picturesque centre of Delft, and a good centre for touring this area of Netherlands - Hague, Amsterdam etc.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janine H, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Delft Centre, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Sara H,

Thank you for this review. Good to hear your stay was to your liking. I will tell our team about your compliments. Our hotel is indeed centrally located within walking distance to the city center and close to the highways to The Hague, and Rotterdam Amsterdam.

See you in the beautiful Delft!

Best Regards,
Janine Hoogwerf
Hampshire Hotel Delft Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham UK
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

This was a really nice hotel in Delft.
Positives - 10 mins walk to the main square; excellent restaurant (not too pricey but good food. Menu a bit limited, but enough for at least 2 nights); fridge in room with complimentary wine and water (nothing else but you can fill up any other minbar items by shopping in Delft itself); nice bathroom, balcony if you choose a deluxe room (these are on the 7th floor).
Negatives - none really apart from the fact that there is no car parking on site (its been turned into a bus park) and you have to park in a underground carpark 5 mins from hotel - ok but a bit expensive at €14 a day.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janine H, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Delft Centre, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear Sir / Madam,

Thank you for writing this review. We are often viewed positively because of the convenient location of the hotel. The rooms on the 7th and 8th floor are the deluxe rooms. These rooms are equipped with a mini fridge and complimentary wine and water. The rooms have a view of Delft, are slightly larger or feature a balcony.
Parking in the garage is not free, unfortunately, but near the hotel across the street.
Hope to see you again in beautiful Delft!

Sincerely,
Janine Hoogwerf
Hampshire Hotel Delft Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

what you expect from a modern hotel. We had a better room on a three days for the price of two offer of the hotel itself. Rooms clean, bed comfortable (though no recognisable pillows, only cushions). Quiet - and a good night's sleep, though that of course can be random chance depending on the guests . Breakfast included in the tariff and a great selection. Bit far from the station if you want to wheel your luggage but 3 minutes to the town centre. Our room safe failed (battery issues) locking everything we needed in. After some bafflement at reception they found the answer and saved the day.

Room Tip: Looks like the hotel runs weddings so might be worth checking for weekends if one is booked as those...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janine H, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Delft Centre, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Sir / Madam,

Thank you for writing this review. Nice to hear that the room and breakfast were as desired and the problem with the safe was quickly resolved.
From the train station it is about a 20 minute walk to our hotel. There is also a bus stop right outside the hotel. Perhaps till next time in the beautiful city of Delft.

Kind regards,
Janine Hoogwerf
Hampshire Hotel Delft Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Stayed here in business. Great large room on the seventh floor. Clean, tidy and modern with a good choice breakfast buffet.

Ate in the restaurant one night and thought it was very good would definitely stay again.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janine H, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Delft Centre, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear sir / madam,

Thank you for your positive rating. Great that everything was alright. We hope to see you soon again.

Kind regards,
Janine Hoogwerf
Hampshire Hotel Delft Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampshire Hotel - Delft Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Delft Centre

Address: Koepoortplaats 3, 2612 RR Delft, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Delft
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Delft
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hampshire Hotel - Delft Centre 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Odigeo, HotelsNL, Hotel.de, Agoda, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Delft Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampshire Hotel - Delft Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.