We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Delft Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hampshire Hotel - Delft Centre to your Saves list
Hampshire Hotel - Delft Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Koepoortplaats 3, 2612 RR Delft, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Delft
Belgium
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We booked a weekend for two via www.weekendjeweg.be and chose this hotel. We were not disappointed and enjoyed a room for two incl. breakfast for just under 100 Euro per night.
This is a new hotel, not too big, not too small within a 5 minute walking distance of Delf's city centre. The hotel (like most inner city hotel, did not have parking facilities, but we parked for 7 Euro's (a day) at a new parking garage opposite the hotel.
We explored Delft, a beautiful old town with nice shops and restaurants. We did not dine at the hotel and chose one of the many restaurants downtown. We enoyed some live piano music while we enjoyed breakfast. There was a buffet with plenty to choose from including champagne, smoked salmon and some cooked options.
We found staff at this hotel polite and very helpful and have no hesitation in recommending this hotel, spot on.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    79
    13
    5
    4
See reviews for
21
79
9
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Stayed here for 8 nights after arriving from Amsterdam. Since our booking was done online, check-in process was easy. Small eats and candies at the reception was a great idea.We were given a room on the 8th floor. This room comes with a balcony and a great view of the city. Delft is a nice small town and much less crowded compared to Amsterdam.
The room was big with a large bed, comfy pillows and clean sheets. Complimentary water and sparkling water provided. A complimentary wine bottle in the room was a pleasant surprise. Bathroom had all the toiletries necessary. The shower cubicle was small but okay. Breakfast buffet had a good selection. But my only gripe was - the breakfast menu was almost the same everyday (for 8 days!!) and hence was boring. I wish they could make some changes to the menu...maybe some stir-fried vegetables one day, a noodle dish another day, some hash browns, omelettes etc.
We had dinner at the restaurant one night. It was great but expensive!! Make sure you reserve in advance or the some days the earliest you can get a table is only at 8.30pm! We preferred to have dinner at the various eateries lining the Market Square (just a 5 mins walk from the hotel). It had a great atmosphere and it was wonderful to just sit there and relax and watch the world go by.
Reception staff were very helpful. My husband needed a cab to go to his workplace everyday and the request was promptly met. House-keeping was fine. Iron is not provided in the room, however one can get it when required from the reception.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the high floor with a balcony. It costs more but is definitely worth the price!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Easy to find and well situated just a short walk from the town. It is a modern and rather stylish hotel with an easy familiarity from the staff although on check-out with a ferry to catch, this jarred somewhat as we were kept waiting. Our room was clean and modern with a very nice bathroom. We enjoyed the evening meal which cost about 50 euros and the room rate was 99.50 euros. The car-park is across the road and not behind the hotel. Having just read 'The Girl with the Pearl Ear-ring' it was a delight to wander around Delft, a charming little place, and see places mentioned in the book. I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
316 helpful votes 316 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Contemporary, new, stylish 90 room hotel. A chain, but feels unique, chic, attentive to guests. My many pre-stay inquiries were answered promptly and helpfully by Arjan and Laura, who both went above and beyond. We opted for a “Double Deluxe Room” - check-in was smooth, with hors d'oeuvres and candies at reception. Excellent value for money.

Because we were staying 3 nights in a slow month, we were given a corner room on the 8th floor - room 815, on the small side, but with excellent amenities and an absolutely perfect layout. Note that the rooms with balcony are smaller than those without, so determine what is more important to you - we would always choose a balcony over more interior space. Ours was a corner room with windows that opened on two sides, allowing for best views and cross breezes. It had a (European) king bed, mini-fridge containing a bottle of still and sparkling water, complimentary small bottle of wine with glasses - a nice touch even if the wine was bit sweet, coffee-tea facilities, separate shower and deep soaker tub, and grey bathrobes and slippers. All furnishings were attractive and comfortable - a bed I never wanted to leave, high quality linens, plump duvet, cream leather chairs and side table for feet, laptop or food, roomy closet, full-length mirror, great TV, stylish fixtures, and convenient lighting. Deep plush carpeting and concrete floors made for absolutely silent moving about and no need for slippers. The water seeping from under the shower stall doors did not bother us as the floor slope is designed to minimize its spread onto the bathroom floor and maximize it flowing into the drain.

Music motif and colour scheme throughout was delightful - a spiffy, clean, modern, attractive little establishment, with gorgeous lounge and breakfast room.

Breakfast was plentiful, varied - lots of selection in breads, cereals, fruits, yogurts, beverages, scrambled and boiled eggs and bacon, even two types of sparkling wine/champagne in silver buckets.

A unique dining feature was the young piano player, Vitautus, who provided the most exquisite background music, sometimes for dinner, sometimes breakfast, and sometimes in the lounge. With his extensive repertoire, he played everything from swing, to Broadway, jazz, and Chopin and created such a welcoming and luxurious ambiance.

Dinner at the restaurant is highly recommended. The food was wonderful and great value for money compared with restaurants in town, and our server, Michael, with his friendly, positive demeanor, delivered prompt and generous service with a smile.

Quibbles: wifi ws available in lounge and breakfast areas but not in room (we brought our own wireless access point, so no issue for us); no clock radio.

If you are looking for a hotel that delivers long on amenities, is 6 pleasant minutes’ walk to town, is deliciously free from the nighttime sounds of party goers and late night revellers AND other guests and hotel staff, and offers comfortable surroundings at every turn, I can't recommend the Hotel Hampshire highly enough. We would never stay anywhere else in Delft.

Room Tip: Note that the rooms with balcony are smaller than those without, so determine what is more important...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We spent two nights here after a cruise from Rotterdam. Could not be happier about the choice. Delft is a great little city and this hotel was immediately 'like home'. Not the plushest or best appointed but modern and comfortable with uniformly helpful, welcoming and pleasant staff.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waalre, Netherlands
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed with a 6-persons group for a weekend in the Delft Hampshire Hotel. If you are visiting Delft by car, this hotel is likely the best location you can chose: only a few 100 meters from the "Delft" motorway exit, on the verge of the city center but no need to venture into it with your car, excellent underground car parking across the street from the hotel, only 5 minutes walk from the hotel to the historic town center. Parking anywhere in the city center is very limited and expensive, the car park offers you a clean and safe spot for only €7 per 24 hours. However if you come to Delft by train, you probably have to take a taxi or public transport to this hotel, it's quite a walk if you're carrying luggage.
The hotel rooms are roomy and nice, equipped with flatscreen TV and airco system, and offer an adequate bathroom. The rooms have large sliding windows, allowing plenty of fresh air into the room if you want. Beds may be a little hard to some travellers' liking, but for us they were great. Best of all: the rooms have incredibly good soundproofing, the silence will make you think there aren't any other guests in the hotel. There is free WiFi in hotel lobby and restaurant, didn't get connection in the room though.
Breakfast is good with decent food selection, is being replenished regularly. All hotel staff is extremely friendly and helpful.
Would certainly recommend this hotel to anybody visiting Delft by car.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Most hotel's i've visited in Delft are much older, the Hampshire Hotel - Delft Centre is much newer with larger rooms, more floors & a modern (and musical) theme about it!.

Situated close to the A13, and ten minutes walk from the Markt (central Delft) the hotel has very good rooms, with first-rate staff. The 'Restaurant Swing' menu is decidedly lacking for vegetarian options, and the inclusive breakfast serves its basic purpose, but not much else. Overall a nice hotel for Business travel, however in a city such as Delft, there are many old/authentic hotels better suited for a romantic weekend away.

Room Tip: West facing rooms 4th floor & above have a great view of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampshire Hotel - Delft Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Delft Centre

Address: Koepoortplaats 3, 2612 RR Delft, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Delft
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Delft
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hampshire Hotel - Delft Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Delft Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampshire Hotel - Delft Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.