We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place to spend evening” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spijshuis de Dis Restaurant

Spijshuis de Dis Restaurant
BeestenMarkt 36 | Spijshuis De Dis, 2611 GC Delft, The Netherlands
015-213 1782
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 148 Restaurants in Delft
Cuisines: Dutch
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Vilnius, Lithuania
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“nice place to spend evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

we went there in the middle of week happy to have booked in advance as it got full soon.It is located on a nice square with lots of restaurants around. Traditional dutch food means big portions, so if you are not a big eater or want to save some space for a dessert it is good to share let's say a starter. We tried smoked mackerel for a start, it was lovely, melting in the mouth. For main we took lamb leg, really outstanding dish. Also tried season's speciality asparagus, they seemed a bit overcooked. Worth to try local Delft dark beer. Reasonable prices. Would recomend.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    34
    10
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Look Out masterchef”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

This little restaurant was absolutely fabulous. I had the traditional beef stew and my wife had the chicken breast. When the food came there was plenty of it and the way it was displayed on the plate was great. It came with red cabbage, mashed potato, courgettes, peppers, carrots and a very tasty gravy. Would highly recommend a trip to this friendly little restaurant.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great meal and a wonderful host (owner)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

we strongly recommend this restaurant. The food was outstanding and we were able to have a wonderful visit with the owner. Reservations are a must. Great Dutch food at reasonable prices.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Europe Trip 2013”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Absolutely great food. Found it reading Trip Adviser. Ate there two nights. First night service was wonderful. Food incredible. Kids loved their kip snitzel (chicken tenders). Met the chef whose parents live in Pasa Robles CA. Second night was Friday and they were very busy. Service a bit less helpful but again food was wonderful. We were welcomed in as old friends. We won't forget this wonderful place.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willemstad
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice Cozy Restaurant with Good Dutch Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I visit Delft in The Netherlands once or twice a year. At least once I have to dine at
Spijshuis de Dis. It's a cozy restaurant that serves great Dutch Dishes. Their Tomato
Soup is the best, served in a Hollowed Bread.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spijshuis de Dis Restaurant also viewed

Delft, South Holland Province
Delft, South Holland Province
 
Delft, South Holland Province
Delft, South Holland Province
 

Been to Spijshuis de Dis Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spijshuis de Dis Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.