We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ikea-tastic” 4 of 5 stars
Review of WestCord Hotel Delft

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added WestCord Hotel Delft to your Saves list
WestCord Hotel Delft
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Olof Palmestraat 2, 2616 LM Delft, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Delft
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Ikea-tastic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

It was like ikea (next door) ran out of space and put its left over stuff in the hotel. It appears to be fully ikea furnished.

Anyway - its a reasonably nice hotel with flexible room sizes and some interesting internal and external social spaces. my room was clean, convenient, nicely designed, and with a view... of well... ikea. and the big glorious ikea sign in the sky. but for a side-of-the-motorway-near-industry-areas, it was pretty nice. its definltey not a place you go for the view though.

we went to visit TU Delft (the university), and it was pretty convenient for driving there and into town. probably could have walked it too. They also have scooters and bikes to rent.

the breakfast etc is nice. the cafe/bar etc is a sort of basic provision of drinks, and some foods (snacks and cooked).

overall - clean, bright, smart, convenient.

Room Tip: they can put a spare bed in if you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    152
    23
    2
    1
See reviews for
29
128
11
103
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lulea, Sweden
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Hotel is located 30 min walk from the city centre, just in front of IKEA. the hotel is beautiful inside, modern and cosy. Generous meeting spaces and sitting areas are great. Breakfast is standard as in many hotels and of good quality, The rooms a spacious and clean.
That said, the hotel has some short comings. We ordered a taxi day before, which never arrived. I was asking in reception to check with taxi and they were replaying that it is on the way. After half and hour I demanded they they should call taxi company and ask, and it turned out that hotel/taxi mixed up the time and no car could would arrive with in half and hour. We came late to the meeting, but it could have been flight...
During check out there was an enormous queue and only one receptionist, it took more then 20 min to check out.
The service, when received, was impeccable but hey have a flow in managing resources which creates a lot of problems for the customers.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Good hotel. Very nice design, and nice feeling with special touches. Rooms very big and comfortable with huge beds. Bathroom nice, clean and big. Breakfast very good. Free wifi and good gym. Restaurant also very nice and convenient. Big parking in front of the hotel. Good sound insulation, very helpfull staff. Location right across from the IKEA store, a couple of bus stations from the city center. Neat lobby with lots of magazines, cozy lounge area and cool fireplace. Great place to stay while in Delft.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Stayed in this hotel numerous times on business trips during 2010-2011 because the company's office is just across the highway.
I quite enjoyed all of my stayings and I prefer this hotel to the ones in the city centre with charming atmosphere but tacky furniture and narrow scales without elevator.
The hotel is located on the outskirts of the city, near to the biggest Ikea in the Netherlands ))
The rooms are impeccably clean, warm, and spacious enough. Amenities are new, bed is comfortable.
The only problem might be to eat out because the city centre with restaurants is around 20mins walk.
There is a restaurant in the hotel, the cafe at Ikea could be an option too ))

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

My partner works freelance for Ikea & this hotel is directly next door to the concept centre. He stayed here for a 3 month project firstly in one of the hotel rooms initially then a suite. The hotel is typical Ikea, rooms kitted out Swedish style with comfy beds & accessories to make the room feel clean & contemporary - you feel as though you have literally stepped into a page of the catalogue. The entrance to the hotel & the reception area feels spacious and welcoming & very stylish. The bar area and restaurant always looked immaculate. The staff were attentive & helpful. Unfortunately I didn't get chance to try the hotel food, but have been assured by others who have stopped here that it is of good quality. The hot chocolate is yummy especially sipping it whilst in a rocking chair by the fire, this adds a nice home from home cosy appeal which I think is needed for the people staying here on business. The centre of Delft is a 5 min bike ride (10 min lesiurely walk) away so the location of the Westcord is convenient. Bikes were also availble to hire fom reception.The suite was spacious with two televisions, a sitting area & kitchenette with a microwave oven. Although helpful, it wasn't really big enough to make a proper meal but adequate for what we needed during our stay. Just be careful to read the instructions on the oven as I narrowly avoided evacuating the hotel by burning my morning croissant! The open communal area between the different floors showcased some of ikea's lighting range dangling like weightless diamonds from the
Ceiling, this looked pretty & gave the hotel an upmarket feel when in reality it is sort of an Ikea inspired travel lodge, but impressive all the same. The hotel also had a gym & sauna on the upper level floor which was useful. Would I recommend this to others? Most definitely. Whether for business or pleasure I'm sure most would be happy with the standard of this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I stayed here for two nights on a business trip to Delft. I was told before arriving "it's the IKEA hotel", and it certainly is. It's located next to the largest IKEA I've ever seen, furnished with IKEA furniture in the rooms (lamps, chairs, etc), and when I visited, full of IKEA staff on a conference.

It's very pleasant for a couple of days; clean, comfy and modern, and I slept well. The rooms and bathrooms are a good size, and there's free Wifi in the rooms, although the signal isn't great. The breakfast was OK - nice croissants and jam, but a bit over priced at €13.50 (I had booked room only).

Because of the Scandinavian decor it can feel a little austere; it's perfect for a short business trip but if I was staying for longer or on holiday then personally I'd stay somewhere with more character. For one or two nights it's hard to fault.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

Very nice hotel decorated with IKEA furniture in a scandinavian modern style.
The rooms are large, beautiful and very clean.
The breakfast is very good, specially the fresh backed croissants ( there goes the diet).
Nice gym. It is on the other side of IKEA concept store and IKEA Business College

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to WestCord Hotel Delft? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WestCord Hotel Delft

Address: Olof Palmestraat 2, 2616 LM Delft, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Delft
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Delft
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — WestCord Hotel Delft 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WestCord Hotel Delft (4-stars) is ideally situated on the A13 between Rotterdam and The Hague, next to IKEA. Delft is certainly the place to stay and enjoy the city: Delftware, Orange (Royal family of Orange), Vermeer and enjoy a stroll alongside historic sites or even take a cruise.Hotel Delft has 140 contemporary designed hotel rooms with air conditioning. 17 of these rooms are long-stay apartments with facilities, especially for the business guests. Free wireless internet is available throughout the hotel.For your meeting or reception, the 11 modern banqueting rooms offer excellent possibilities. The atrium can host a reception or presentation for up to 250 persons!Relax in the fitness area with sauna. And afterwards, unwind even further with a drink in the bar, the heated terrace or have a bite to eat in the restaurant. Our open and contemporary ambiance will make you feel at home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your WestCord Hotel Delft reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage WestCord Hotel Delft, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.