We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and helpful staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of WestCord Hotel Delft

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added WestCord Hotel Delft to your Saves list
WestCord Hotel Delft
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Olof Palmestraat 2, 2616 LM Delft, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Delft
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Great location and helpful staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

The Westcord is a hotel that is owned by IKEA and operated by the Westcord. It is next door to the EMEA IKEA Innovation center/store. It is about 1.2km from Delft City Center and the hotel has bikes and motorized scooters for rent. The bicycles are only for adults and no children's bikes or bike's with child seats are available at the time of this writing.

The parking is free, and plentiful which is rare. Most hotels either don't have parking, or is for a daily fee!

What makes the hotel exceptional is the staff and their willingness to accommodate the guests. Another nice option is the availability of a "suite" where a combination microwave/oven is in the room with a wall divider between the bedroom and the living area. A nice option if you are traveling with a family.

The hotel restaurant had a kitchen staff change when they went from being a Tulip Inn to a Westcord, and the quality of the food has improved. The Westcord also offers a wide variety in the bar and a nice wine selection.

A breakfast plan is optional for 10 euro per day, and well worth it. They have a nice selection of breakfast options at the buffet.

If you are looking for the "Old world charm" of a European hotel, the Westcord is not for you. It is modern and not in the old City Center. I have been to Delft more than 20 times in the last four years and first stayed in the City Center hotels and ended up at the Westcord and haven't moved since. I find that the walk to the Center is so easy that I don't feel the need to be "IN" the Center to enjoy it.

Unless something changes drastically to the hotel, it will continue to be my top choice.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    181
    28
    2
    1
See reviews for
33
152
12
121
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ottersum
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
110 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
237 helpful votes 237 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

In addition to my review of August 3rd. 2010, I have to inform you that nowadays the airconditioner is centrally swichted-off from 11 pm till about 7 am daily. These are the hours that an airconditioner is needed at most on warm days. So I lowered my rating with one dot to 4.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, Scotland
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for three nights on our way from a holiday in the Harz to Ijmuiden for the ferry. Delft is a magnificent little town and well worth a stop.

The Westcord suited us as it lies right beside the motorway and avoids hotel-search problems. It is kitted out IKEA style but don't let that put you off. It is is a lovely hotel with great rooms (soundproofing is brilliant, and the beds so comfortable!). But above all in this calming hotel is the quality of the staff; they are all young folks but are so cheerful, so helpful and without any hang-ups - just good staff wanting to help.

We will be back; cannot recommend this hotel highly enough.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
intrepid traveler
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

Clean, nice staff. On the downside, no cooktop..only equipped with micro/convection oven. If you don't drink instant coffee, best to take your own French Press or a small coffee burner and your own pot. Alternatively you can buy a coffee maker for about 10Euros. Restaurant a bit expensive. We'd definitely stay here again though.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2011

What I disliked about the hotel is that bathroom door is transparent above 1.7metres so you could see the inside but you get used to it. The bathroom door is lockable from the inside but during our stay, my room mate locked himself in because the lock broke and we had to call maintenance to get him out. Our room has windows which faces the opposite room windows so you could see what your neighbours on the opposite side are doing! But there are curtains to block your view. The airconditioning sometimes is not powerfull enough. The room trashbins are too small so we throw large stuff near the elevator bins. The breakfast is a buffet style with a wide variety. No scrambled eggs on Saturday and breakfast starts at 8 on Sundays. Only bathing soap and hand soap is provided. No toothbrush or toothpaste or shampoo. There is no convenience store at the hotel but there is a vending machine which sells drinks. Apart from that, everything else is terrific. There is free WIFI in every room. There are English channels on TV including cartoons. The beds are comfortable but only 1 pillow. There is a safe and a kettle. The location is good. For lunch we ate at nearby IKEA 2nd floor or hotdogs and ice cream at 1st floor at Ikea. For grocery, its a 15 minute walk to Zuidpoort in Delft City Centre. There is also a Mcdonalds there. Local attractions include Delft Science Centre. There is a large playground somewhere south of Delft City Centre.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

Pleasantly surprised by clean room, modern, cheerful & space-saving decor, & friendly service. Food is good, location convenient (next to Ikea), 15 min walk to city centre & Delft train station, can also take a bus to city centre (bus stop just outside Ikea).

Room Tip: Get a room facing Ikea
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2011

Spent many nights during last few months, food is easy but tasty, fresh stylish atmosphere with friendly and helpful crew. Decorated in IKEA style. Rooms are located in H-form floors around central hall, giving is a very sacial effect. Easy to get there (by car, along A13) but still only 15 min walk to town.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to WestCord Hotel Delft? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WestCord Hotel Delft

Address: Olof Palmestraat 2, 2616 LM Delft, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Delft
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Delft
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — WestCord Hotel Delft 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WestCord Hotel Delft (4-stars) is ideally situated on the A13 between Rotterdam and The Hague, next to IKEA. Delft is certainly the place to stay and enjoy the city: Delftware, Orange (Royal family of Orange), Vermeer and enjoy a stroll alongside historic sites or even take a cruise.Hotel Delft has 140 contemporary designed hotel rooms with air conditioning. 17 of these rooms are long-stay apartments with facilities, especially for the business guests. Free wireless internet is available throughout the hotel.For your meeting or reception, the 11 modern banqueting rooms offer excellent possibilities. The atrium can host a reception or presentation for up to 250 persons!Relax in the fitness area with sauna. And afterwards, unwind even further with a drink in the bar, the heated terrace or have a bite to eat in the restaurant. Our open and contemporary ambiance will make you feel at home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and getaroom.com so you can book your WestCord Hotel Delft reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage WestCord Hotel Delft, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.