We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In Veere, you eat fish” 4 of 5 stars
Review of De Peperboom

De Peperboom
Kapellestraat 11, Veere 4351 AL, The Netherlands
0118-501307
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 10 restaurants in Veere
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Herent, Belgium
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“In Veere, you eat fish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

During a weekend of R&R, my family and I went to visit Veere. Not so far from our hotel and a must place to visit. After we checked the city, we decided to take our diner in De Peperboom.
There are a number of restaurants in Veere and basically, they all serve the same menu. And because the main course is fish and the fish is (really) fresh, you can't make a big mistake.
It is the surroundings and service that makes the difference. And with regards to service, you can't go wrong in De Peperboom.
Service is good and quick and you feel directly welcome. Children are no problem and to be honest... not much negative to say about the restaurant.
That simple

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    7
    24
    5
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Hidden treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

A great restaurant hidden away down a lane. big room decorated with dark wood and nautical theme, with a local crowd rather than tourists. fabulous food - the goats cheese, walnut and lardon starter was sublime.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Far and away the best restaurant in Veere (for the money & atmosphere)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We spent a long weekend in Veere and discovered "de Peperboom" our last evening there. Great service, great food, great ambience, great value. The place was packed --- mostly with locals but some tourists. We were lucky to get in without a reservation. Compared to the other restaurtants and brasseries in Veere, "de Peperboom" stands out as the best.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Sophisticated cuisine, delightful interior and garden”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Away from the crowds and the smell of French fries and smoked eels, this restaurant is a haven of calm, attentive service, and modern cuisine. They have just opened a shop opposite selling locally made products in traditional packaging.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palermo
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
336 helpful votes 336 helpful votes
“A good choice in a "time-capsule" town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2009

Very good cuisine with many fish and meat dishes and great soups.
The service maybe improved because we wait for more than half an hour before to receive our plates.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed De Peperboom also viewed

Veere, Zeeland Province
Veere, Zeeland Province
 
Veere, Zeeland Province
Veere, Zeeland Province
 

Been to De Peperboom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage De Peperboom, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.