We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Museum Speelklok ( Nationaal Museum van Speelklok tot Pierement)
Steenweg 6, 3511 Utrecht, The Netherlands (Lange Elisabethstraat Mariaplaats)
+31 30 231 2789
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 39 Attractions in Utrecht
Type: Children's Museums, History Museums, Specialty Museums, Museums
Attraction details
Long Island NY
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
93 attraction reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
“Unique”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

I am sure there is no place like this in the world. If you are in the area, don't miss it. Be sure to take the tours. The day we were there, there were 2 different ones.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    64
    14
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Quirky and interesting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We took refuge here early on a very wet Sunday morning and was surprised to really enjoy this museum. There was no tour available when we arrived but the young attendants were enthusiastic and I enjoyed my turn "playing" a pianola as they showed us how some of the exhibits worked. Generally all rather good fun and a welcome distraction from the rain.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Something completely different”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

There's a tour aroud all kinds of bell and organ related items (clocks for example). Very interesting, with explanations by a guide in Dutch and English. It something you will find in very few places.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wroclaw, Poland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very recomended for children”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

It is very nice museum, for childre special, for me ( age around 30 was a little boring ) I don't recomended for people in my age guided with tours, our guideman was very boring and he looks he didn't like this job, but for children speeklok presentation was for sure very exciting, its nice museum with nice gofts in the shop:)

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haydon Bridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Surpassed my expectations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

I'm afraid I was not expecting to enjoy this museum but it ended up being one my favourites in Utrecht. The exhibition is really interesting and very interactive. I would recommended this to anyone visiting Utrecht.
I think it would have been expensive if I didn't have a MuseumKaart.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum Speelklok ( Nationaal Museum van Speelklok tot Pierement) also viewed

Utrecht, Utrecht Province
 
Utrecht, Utrecht Province
Utrecht, Utrecht Province
 

Been to Museum Speelklok ( Nationaal Museum van Speelklok tot Pierement)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Museum Speelklok ( Nationaal Museum van Speelklok tot Pierement), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.