We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Entertaining” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Railway Museum (Het Spoorwegmuseum)

Railway Museum (Het Spoorwegmuseum)
Maliebaanstation, 3581 XW Utrecht, The Netherlands
030 2306206
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 49 Attractions in Utrecht
Type: Specialty Museums, Museums
Attraction Details
Perth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Entertaining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I have been to several railway museums, my other half liking the things, but this one I actually enjoyed. The trains and exhibitions themselves were as usual, but what saved this for us was the addition of a couple of rides which although we had to queue for them were good fun and added to the overall experience. "Trial by Fire" especially had us laughing as we tried to work out (not understanding Dutch) what on earth we were supposed to be doing and beyond that I will say no more so as not to spoil it for anyone else thinking of going.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    68
    12
    7
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Impressive history of Dutch Railways”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We visited the museum when part of it was dedicated to railway history during wartime (WW I, WW II, ...). It hlds an impressive collection of historical trains. There's a lot of background information. We were especially impressed with the trains holding cannons and that were used to transport people to the concentration camps in WW II. It give us goosebumps hearing the stories of the survivors.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fun and interesting museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We visited this museum around Sinterklaas and it was a lot of fun - they had an indoor skating area and seasonal food and drinks. The museum has a lot of interesting collections and some impressive engines. Fortunately we had with us my boyfriend's grandfather, who used to work as a mechanic on German trains during the WW2 and knew everything about the trains we saw. Overall, an interesting museum for all ages and with a lot of fun things to do.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
Top Contributor
228 reviews 228 reviews
65 attraction reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Wonderful history of Netherland Railroads”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We first visited the museum in 2003 at which time they were getting ready to close for a complete rebuild of exhibits. They did a great job. Beautiful displays of equipment, models, and lots of artifacts. Two exhibits are very interactive - one where they provide English head sets takes you from an English coal mine all the way through steam engine history to the first train in the Netherlands the other exhibit is like a Disneyland ride with a crazy train driver. Nice store & cafe
Pay to park.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noordeloos, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
344 reviews 344 reviews
85 attraction reviews
Reviews in 143 cities Reviews in 143 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
“Cool for kids - and adults, too!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

The Railway Museum is located in a former train station of the city of Utrecht, still in the center of town but a bit out of the true heart of the city. As a streetcar and railroad lover, I expected a rather amateuristic collection, but nothing was less true. This museum is being run really professionally. There are 5 permanent themed exhibits, from the one celebrating the pioneering work of the British who invented the locomotive, via the romantism of the great European rail connections (such as the "Orient Express") to a kind of cakewalk contraption that has something futuristic in it, but is mainly fun for the train-fans-in-spe. This year, the temporary exhibit was dedicated to "Trains during the war", in which an impressive collection of war machinery was exhibited, designed to roll into the battle (several exhibits never had to deliver this service, and were still brand new). You may reach the museum via a dedicated train delivering a shuttle service to Utrecht's Central Station. For me, it was an afternoon well spent!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Railway Museum (Het Spoorwegmuseum) also viewed

Utrecht, Utrecht Province
Utrecht, Utrecht Province
 

Been to Railway Museum (Het Spoorwegmuseum)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Railway Museum (Het Spoorwegmuseum), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.