We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money & a lovely modern hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Star Lodge Hotels

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Star Lodge Hotels to your Saves list
Star Lodge Hotels
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Biltsestraatweg 92, 3573 PS Utrecht, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Utrecht
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great value for money & a lovely modern hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

A small'ish modern hotel blending hi-tech with recycle. In a nice park setting. A bit difficult to find, but once you do, it is great & excellent quality for the money. Staff were friendly & helpful, great breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    20
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
21
3
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ghent, Belgium
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Nice hotel, clean and spacious rooms, helpful staff, good breakfast, parking space in front of the hotel, easily accesible but also good connection with city center, ...
Only downsides are the noisious roofs when it is raining, the light switches which spread an annoying blue light at night and the fairly impersonal character of the use of access badges for the doors and also in the bar.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Initially, with all the door locking and buzzing on opening, it did feel a tad "prison like" as we entered the room.

I was sharing with a colleague for a conference and it was very embarrassing that the only thing that separated us while showering was a clear glass window! We had to discretely look away while one bathed, taking it in turns to hide our modesty. So be warned if you are sharing with someone not so close as a partner…

Another word of warning, the mosquitos. Located close to lots of slow flowing water, meant the first night we were eaten alive by darn bugs. So bring your Anti Brum anti mosquito spray with you.

The breakfast was good, as was the free WIFI in the room. The lobby area was clean and with people packed in to watch the football, had a nice friendly atmosphere.

The hotel smelled new and was definitely very clean. Worth what we paid, but wish we had known the bathroom situation so we could have booked single rooms.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holte, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Total new, and nice interior. Very clean. Very helpfull reception and easy selfservice in barconcept.
Easy access to city center by car or bus.
Highly recomended!
Nabour resto Lot88 is also highly recomented.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

Brand new hotel, so all the furniture etc. was new. We had a good room with everything we needed in the room. I found the beds comfortable, the shower was excellent, the bathroom area was small but adequate. Breakfast was plentiful and had a good variety of food. There is a self serve bar for drinks and a large screen tv. There are two restaurants nearby, one next door. Bike hire is available and there is a bike track to the city that passes by the front of the hotel. There is a regular bus service to the city and busses comes frequently and get to the city in about 10 minutes.The staff were very friendly and helpful at all times.Good hotel that I would stay in again.
Ron, Sydney, Australia

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, UK
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

As hinted elsewhere this is a very new hotel, we found it excellent value for the money. The hotel is about a 20 minute walk from the town centre, but there are regular buses from outside the hotel, and bikes can be hired if wanted. The hotel is surrounded by forest with walking paths, so a late evening or early morning walk is possible.
The staff deserve a special mention - I was taken ill on the morning of our departure, but the staff were fantastic, calling an ambulance immediately and sorting out any problems, besides reserving us a room for the following night - which we needed.
Parking (important for us) is 5 euros per day for those staying.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Brand new hotel, bar has no licence yet so no alcohol. Breakfast is good basic continental style, no hot food.
Staff helpful and friendly, rooms are basic...hard lino floors, wooden pine furniture, and the beds are all memory foam which you have to fight to get out of, but being new its all very clean and bright.
Equestrian centre next door so you get to see horses trotting about at breakfast which is nice, 2 restaurants adjacent offer good food, and there is bike rental available.
About 80 euro per night inc
breakfast.
Overall good but basic

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Star Lodge Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star Lodge Hotels

Address: Biltsestraatweg 92, 3573 PS Utrecht, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Utrecht Province > Utrecht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Utrecht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Star Lodge Hotels 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Star Lodge concept entails a three-star designer hotel with 80 double/twin rooms and 5 single rooms on the outskirts of the beautiful and historic city of Utrecht. The concept is based on low budget, hospitality and relaxation, where guests and their expectations come first. Stay with us, breakfast included, for a very affordable price. You can also enjoy a drink on one of our outdoor terraces. When the weather is less permitting, you can take a seat around the fireplace or in the lounge. Drinks, both alcoholic and non-alcoholic, are also reasonably priced. The adjacent Restaurant Loft 88 and Brasserie Vink are also ideal restaurants for lunch or dinner. The hotel offers guests attractive, spacious rooms measuring 21 m², with a walk-in shower, a private toilet, a comfortable top-quality bed, a 32 inch smart TV and free high-speed fibre optic internet throughout the hotel. Our aim is to provide guests with good value for money in a wonderful setting. In addition to the hotel's natural surroundings, its green character is also reflected in its interior. Sustainability and reducing CO2 emissions were a top priority during the construction of the hotel and throughout its operation. This is evident from the use of LED lighting, energy-efficient switches, water conservation, waste management and sustainable building materials. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Hotel.de, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Star Lodge Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Star Lodge Hotels, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.