We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of NH Centre Utrecht

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added NH Centre Utrecht to your Saves list
NH Centre Utrecht
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Janskerkhof, 10, 3512BL Utrecht, The Netherlands (Lange Nieuwstraat)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
€15 for your next stay
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Utrecht
Hillsboro, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great location...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

This was a very nice accommodation centrally located for the train station and exploration of the city!! The rooms were very clean. There is a restaurant available onsite. We did not eat there as we were in the city for a wedding. The staff was extremely polite and helpful. Nice amenities in the room. We are from the US.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    70
    49
    16
    10
See reviews for
18
39
14
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel many times over the past 20 years. The rooms could use a bit of updating and more light, but are kept very clean. Room location can be a roll of the dice, front facing rooms receive a lot of noise from the street below and back facing room sometimes receive smells from the bar and resteraunts below.

Be aware free internet is throttled back and you'll need to upgrade for more bandwidth.

Overall I continue to come back but also continue to look for a hotel a cut above.

Room Tip: Try to get fast internet included
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Midlands
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Stayed here for business - it fuses traditional with modern. Rooms are large, but roadside ones are noisy.

Great WiFi. Did not try breakfast, which is served in the adjacent bar.

The cliental appear to be mainly are business customers.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, Usa
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

The hotel is on a busy street with constant bus traffic. They provide ear plugs as a solution, but that doesn't work if you need to get up early to catch a train. Some of the lights in the room didn't work, which helped them hide the fact that the room wasn't very clean. The drain in the shower also didn't work well. I'll try another hotel on my next trip.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Whilst many have had good experiences in this hotel mine was not. Bicycle dodging is a great skill to have but trying to find the car park at this Hotel is next to impossible. Given that you cannot park outside to find out where it is I resorted to parking on a meter about 1km away. Driving around to find a space took around an hour. I suspect the best plan is to opt for public transport and normally this is what I would have done however I had covered over 400 kms across the country and needed to have the car to hand.

Given that I had been travelling all day I was looking forward to a simple bowl of pasta and a glass of wine. I was informed that the Brasserie is open until 2200. Okay so pitching in at 2115 and only to be told that the kitchen is closed. Even when challenged the bar staff stated that it closes at 2100. So the reception desk information is wrong and the hotel directory in the room is also wrong. Ordered a beer and the staff were then busy putting tables and chairs away and shutting the doors at 2130. Feeling really welcome at this point.

So up to the room. Lift doors open and we have peeling wallpaper and loo rolls in the corridor. I almost went back downstairs to check that Basil Fawlty isn't running the place. So access corridors are a bit messy and it feels tired. Also lots of suspended ceilings which are usually there to cover up all sorts of nasty things. The room is a bit dark and the windows look out on to the vent ducts. You can just hear the bells over the hum of the ventilation system ... just. Also I couldn't work out if one end of the room looked like a waiting room in a cheap office suite or not - sorry to be a bit harsh. There is a huge rub mark across the centre of the door as well, it just looks a bit trashed really - interestingly on the coasters in the bedroom reads the following: "We avoid stains on the tablecloths, the tables and even on your clothes, and, despite this, we still get unnoticed. Just the way we want it to be." So whilst this applies to the coasters I think you would want the room to either really please/wow you or be unremarkable so that you can concentrate on your enjoyable day?

Overall you come to Utrecht to be outside the Hotel and savour the atmosphere and culture of the place. However your Hotel room needs to be a little oasis after a long day surely? This is not really that and I am hoping that breakfast is better than the other reviews otherwise a motorway service station calls ...

Room Tip: Firstly, maybe consider somewhere else? If not avoid room 218, I guess something on floor three mig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

A very friendly hotel in good location for central Utrecht. Pleasant environment with access to WiFi. Good breakfast selection. Staff helpful and attentive. Would recommend for visiting this interesting city in the Netherlands.



  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Connecticut
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Get ready to dodge bicycles! Located in s wonderful section of Utrecht the hotel is a short walk from the restaurants lining the canals. The room was large and friendly though a bit dark. That was a minor thing though and I definitely recommend a stay to anyone looking to enjoy Utrecht.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to NH Centre Utrecht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Centre Utrecht

Address: Janskerkhof, 10, 3512BL Utrecht, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > Utrecht Province > Utrecht > Lange Nieuwstraat , Neude Janskerkhof en Domplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Utrecht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — NH Centre Utrecht 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3-star NH Centre Utrecht hotel, set inside a charming historical building dating from the 1870s, offers old world atmosphere combined with modern facilities and amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, NHHotels, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your NH Centre Utrecht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotels Utrecht
Nh Hotel Utrecht

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Centre Utrecht, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.