We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a must visit in Utrecht” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St. Catherine's Convent (Museum Het Catharijneconvent)

St. Catherine's Convent (Museum Het Catharijneconvent)
Nieuwegracht 63, Utrecht, The Netherlands (Lange Nieuwstraat)
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 49 Attractions in Utrecht
Type: History Museums
Attraction Details
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“a must visit in Utrecht”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

very interesting, beautiful museum of church history and history of Christianity in the Nederlands. Loved the dark treasury exposition where only the exponents were illuminated and other expositions with magnificent artifacts and multimedia couches where you can sit and watch movies on related subjects. Very beautiful and inspiring! I only regret I had not much time

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    25
    4
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Religious-Inspired Art”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Next to the Dom and Rietveld Huis, the Catharijneconvent is Utrecht's premier attraction. The site has an adjacent Church worth a glance, but the former convent - now a museum - is why visitors come in droves.

And it's not for the architecture, but for the religious art assembled inside. Quite simply, it's hard to imagine a better display of Christian art anywhere.

There's too much to absorb in a single visit. If you only have a couple of hours, accept what I did: you have to focus. Is your main delight pre-12th century? Do you like the Renaissance? Or are you a diletant who wanders the aisle and stops when a piece strikes your fancy? The older the better is my usual starting point, but some triptychs just halted me in my tracks. And the succession of related pieces slowed me to a crawl as I took in the similarities and differences wrought by time.

The descriptions are only in Dutch. I've wavered in my approach to this. Part of me wanted more English, but Dutch really isn't impossible to understand with patience and some German in your quiver. The trouble is that there's too much art to linger over language. Fortunately, the museum provides a free English guidebook to the core works in its collection. Many objects that caught my eye weren't included, but enough were to make my visit memorable. And there simply wasn't time for more. The lesson was not to be greedy, to accept the limits imposed by fatigue, and recognize that this art takes a lifetime to assimilate. I was content with the guidebook.

You can trace the history of religion in the Netherlands if you want, dwell on the Catholic items, or study the changes that occurred when Luther's influence prevailed.

There are modern items in the collection; this isn't entirely old stuff.

Most importantly, you learn that not all crucifixes are the same, that artists made important choices about what they enfigured and how. You start to see religious images as sculpture, not just symbol.

I was mesmerized.

Getting there? It's a five minute walk south of the Dom. If you've walked more than five minutes, check your map again.

Special exhibitions? I saw the Russian Icons from Moscow. This was a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity. Someone with a clever brain mounts these. If you read the booklet quickly before you enter, your enjoyment will skyrocket. I learned more in five minutes than across many years. And there's no extra charge for the special exhibits. No need to eat or drink at the attached cafe; but if you're tired, it offers a welcome respite to the feet.

The objects are displayed in clear light, though the rooms themselves are dim. I had no trouble navigating, however, and there's an elevator for those who wish or need it.

On the whole, it's tough to find fault with this museum. I wish I could read Dutch better, but that's the point of travel isn't it? To enlarge yourself?

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Most beautiful Christian Art museum in The Netherlands”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I love the Catharijneconvent Museum, which is great in every way: beautiful location (based in a medieval convent), excellent collection (with objects dating from the eight century until today) and good exhibitions (be sure to check the site). Definate downside is that none of the signs for the main collection are in English. This is mostly due to the fact that Utrecht is not yet very touristic and thus not too many non-Dutch speaking people visit the museum. I'm not sure if they provide English information upon request, be sure to e-mail the museum about that before your visit. Signs and texts for exhibitions are usually provided in both Dutch and English, or handouts will be available with translated texts. Enjoy!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Step back in time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Museum 'het Catharijneconvent' is a wonderfull building to start with. A medieval convent in the heart of the city. Thick walls and a mysterious atmosfere.
The collection is something special as well. It ranges from ancient paintings to contemporary clothing.
The museum is a step back in time with links to the present and a very soothing influence on everyday life.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
313 reviews 313 reviews
117 attraction reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
207 helpful votes 207 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We didn't know quite what to expect, given that this museum has religion as its focus. The collections are well displayed, however, and especially the medieval section is quite fascinating. The building that the museum is housed in, formerly a convent, is also very attractive. I prefer the Central Museum, but enjoyed visiting this one for a change.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Catherine's Convent (Museum Het Catharijneconvent) also viewed

Utrecht, Utrecht Province
Utrecht, Utrecht Province
 

Been to St. Catherine's Convent (Museum Het Catharijneconvent)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Catherine's Convent (Museum Het Catharijneconvent), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.