We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dom Tower

Dom Tower
Domplein 21, Utrecht, The Netherlands (Neude Janskerkhof en Domplein)
+31 (0)30 236 00 10
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 35 Attractions in Utrecht
Type: Religious Sites, Historic Sites, Observation Decks/ Towers, Cultural
Attraction details
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We took al steps to the top of the Domtoren and enjoyed the magnificent view. We could see almost 50 miles - we heard that on days the air is dry and skies are clear, the Euromast in Rotterdam is visible. On the way up you can see the rooms in the tower and learn about the history of the Dom (including the part that's no longer there). Loved it! This tower is one of the reasons Lonely Planet voted the city as one of the hidden gems of Europe.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    141
    26
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
81 attraction reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Great views over Utrecht”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

The point of this "tour" is to get to the top and enjoy the view. It definitely delivers in that aspect. The views over the city are great and it's also interesting to see the bells en learn a little bit about the history. I am not fit and was able to get to the top without any issues.

Negatives: €9/person is too expensive for the experience. Our group was very large, I think about 30+ people and this slows things down to get started, than we were in a bit of a rush as we had to get down on time for the next group. So there was no time to really ask any in depth questions.

I've climbed the Westertoren in Amsterdam which was a much better experience.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woerden, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A nice view on the history of the diocese of Utrecht”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We visited the Domplein and the Dom tower via the tourist information. We were accompanied by a guide, which was quite essential to fully appreciate the history and the little details on the Domsquare.
This square is really worth while, and it is surrounded by lots of cafes, which makes this part of town a very nice and cozy meeting place.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wroclaw, Poland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The best place in Utrecht”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

I'm not catholic but this place U have to see, special the gallery near the catedra it has to be seen. The entance is on the right from the catedra. We were lucky, there was a choi singing ( bautifull ...)

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haydon Bridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Not for the claustrophobics (me)”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

The talk from the guide was really interesting, he was enthusiastic and able to answer all questions.
Unfortunately I did not make it to the top because I am not a fan of enclosed spaces. My boyfriend, who did make it to the top, said that there were fantastic 360 degree view of the city.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dom Tower also viewed

 
Utrecht, Utrecht Province
 

Been to Dom Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dom Tower, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.