We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good business hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Utrecht - Papendorp

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Utrecht - Papendorp to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Utrecht - Papendorp
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Van Deventerlaan 10, Utrecht 3528 AE, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 21 hotels in Utrecht
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good business hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

This is a modern and efficient business hotel. It is close to my offices so was very convenient. Not sure whether I would stay with a family as there is nothing around the area. Evening meals snacks are only microwave options.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    51
    47
    15
    2
    1
See reviews for
13
37
2
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wiesbaden, Germany
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Top modern, super clean and still friendly hotel in Utrecht. Totally quiet rooms, good free WIFI across the whole property. Free breakfast included which is not typical across Europe. I came by train to Utrecht and took a taxi for €20 to get here. There is a small shop in the hotel with some drinks and eats. The hotel does not have a restaurant but a "hot box" which has some offerings which can be warmed in the microwave. They also have bikes for rent (€16/day) which was lovely to get around as there is nothing really close. But the 3 kilometers to town are easily found by bike. Top place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in Papendoorp, Utrecht, while on a business visit. It was relatively easy to find, after driving from Schiphol airport, but there was very little else nearby except for offices in the Papendoorp business area.
Driving into Utrecht proved to be a problem for me as there were several sets of roadworks in the town, making driving using a sat-nav all the more difficult.
The hotel, itself, was clean and the room quite comfortable.
There was no restaurant in the hotel so evening meals had to be found in the town or you could buy snacks from a chiller cabinet next to the reception desk (though the choice was quite limited).
Breakfasts were buffet-style and were quite good.
The staff were friendly, helpful and efficient.

The hotel was pleasant to stay at but very "basic" so I have rated it as average but, if you have your own transport, it maybe should have been rated as "very good". If, though, you are reliant on public transport or taxis, then this is not such a good place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Utrecht - Papendorp, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear TurnerJP,

Thank you for your comprehensive review. You have covered all aspects of your stay and I am particularly appreciative of your comments about our staff and accommodations. It is always hugely motivating when one takes the time and trouble to acknowledge the staff concerned. However, I am sorry our location was inconvenient for you.

I have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality and services we offer for to our guests.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We like Holiday Inn Express - we can always count on clean, modern rooms, A/C, and good internet. The extra helpful staff were a plus. The hotel is surrounded by lots of open space and other ultra modern office buildings. It was very quiet at night. Probably a great place to have a conference. The only negative was it was a bit tricky to navigate from the freeway. Coming from the South was not too bad, but on our way back from Amsterdam, the navigation system was all wrong, we missed our turn, and had a long detour back. So be sure you have "maps" to help you back home. "CityMaps2Go" is a great app and doesn't need wifi. PS - Never ever ever drive into downtown Amsterdam - take the train.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Super modern and new hotel with good included breakfast that felt beyond average. The room was not large but modern, clever, very bright, clean, tastefully furnished, and offered good WiFi connection for free. The bathroom seemed brand new and boasted a super large shower. The bed was comfortable, as was the room overall.

The location is slightly outside the city center but easy to reach by bus in less than 10 minutes from the central station. Unfortunately, the hotel does not feature a restaurant (but does offer some meals) so that food delivery was necessary. The staff was very helpful, even paying the food out of the hotel's pocket and billing it to the room.

All in all, the stay was very pleasant and the place can be recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The hotel is clean. The rooms are incredibly small, even for European standards, and very cramped. There is no closet in the room or place to store clothing. The beds are uncomfortable. The pillows have some rating (soft to firm) but honestly no matter what they say the rating is, all of them pillows I was given in my room were like bags of cement. The air con does not work either. The bathrooms are pretty decent. All in all, its pretty good value for the money, but dont expect to be well rested after spending a few days there.

Room Tip: Try to stay on the lower floors, as the elevator is not that quick
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Utrecht - Papendorp, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Bobdec,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review about our property. It is always our goal to provide convenient and world class service to our guest. We apologize we were not able to exceed your expectations during your stay. Please be assured that these will be looked into and that your comments will be used to monitor future improvements needed.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to welcome you again soon.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis, Oregon
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

I stayed at this HI Express prior to flying out of Amsterdam. The hotel staff members were very cordial and professional. The room was appointed nicely and very clean. The breakfast met my needs. Car parking was covered, free, and safe. This is one of the better HI Expresses that I have stayed at in Europe.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Utrecht - Papendorp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Utrecht - Papendorp

Address: Van Deventerlaan 10, Utrecht 3528 AE, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > Utrecht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 hotels in Utrecht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Utrecht - Papendorp 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Holiday Inn Express Utrecht – Papendorp is ideally located within the main business district of Utrecht. With direct access from highway A2 and A12 the hotel is easy to reach and parking spaces are available. Companies like CapGemini, Mercedes, Siemens, KPN and ATOS are within walking distance of the hotel. Visitors of Congress and Meeting Center Domus Medica will be delighted to experience that the hotel is located at less than 10 minutes’ walk. Also the Jaarbeurs (Congress Center of Utrecht) is in easy reach at only 10 minutes’ drive from the hotel.The soundproof, well-furnished and spacious rooms offer modern equipment like LCD TVs with satellite TV, free Wi-Fi, coffee/tea facilities and a walk in shower. On top of all these facilities, our guests are served a complimentary Continental breakfast. The hotel offers a modern decorated lobby and bar, where our guests feel at ease and can relax with friends and colleagues.With close proximity of the A2 and A12 you can easily travel to many main destinations in the Netherlands (Amsterdam, The Hague and of course Utrecht city center). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Utrecht - Papendorp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Utrecht - Papendorp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.