We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good business hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Utrecht - Papendorp

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Utrecht - Papendorp to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Utrecht - Papendorp
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Van Deventerlaan 10, 3528 AE Utrecht, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Utrecht
Hertfordshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good business hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

A little out of the way from the hotels near the city center but worth it if you are able to get a form of transport as walking is probably not an option. Cycling can be a small challenge but there is a free courtesy bus to the station. The rooms are always clean, comfortable and well kitted out. This is worth the trek from the city center as the hotels in the center are aged and overpriced. The prices for the HIE are creeping up from when it first opened so it pays to book well in advance if you are able. Breakfast is slated as complementary and quite nice but now this seems to be reflected in the price. Overall this hotel is a pleasant experience and one of my favourites in the city when on business.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    70
    17
    4
    2
See reviews for
18
52
4
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I've stayed in many budget hotels including a number of Holiday Inn Express (my preferred choice). This place took me by surprise however. For a start, prices were very cheap even for the budget hotel market. But disregarding the price, the hotel is incredibly well presented. Really relaxed, full of comfortable designer furniture, welcoming and professional staff even on arrival at 11.30pm. Rooms were equally lovely and comfortable. Everything new, clean and of a good, even generous, quality. In many respects it is a boutique hotel with all the conveniences and benefits of an efficiently run business travellers hotel. Will definitely be staying again.

Just one word of warning - Utrecht town centre is a 10 minute taxi ride away. There is a free shuttle bus service.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Lazio, Italy
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

very very good. best value for money.
free breakfast, abundant and good.
clean modern silent room.
very comfortable beds.
free parking.

lacks four bad rooms good for family travels.
far away from city center (but we had a car...).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Lovely new Holiday Inn Express with modern decor, accessible to Utrecht by bus or car. We were traveling on foot, so relied on public transport mainly, which in the Netherlands is excellent. The taxi there was about 10 Euros which we took from Utrecht. A limited free shuttle bus service.

A small range of breakfast options in a self-service setting. All breakfast choices were well-stocked and breakfast tables very clean. Breakfast was included in my rate having booked in advance! This was very pleasing as several hotels I looked at did not include this!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I had to stay here for extended business, almost 4 weeks, and got to know the area very well. Utrecht is beautiful, more so than Amsterdam in my opinion. Staff is great, they have a good breakfast. No lunch or supper facilities but you can order take-away and they have a nice little bar for drinks. Best of all, rent a bike from the Hotel and cycle around. Lots of places to go and if you go into Utrecht, plan for a lot of fun. Nothing beats cycling in Holland in the city! Bike to the train station, take the train into Amsterdam for the day, it's a 20 minute ride.

Driving here, as I did, is a bit of a pain. My GPS had outdated maps so navigating the A2 was a bit problematic, but we managed. Turned out I didn't use the car much (the company I was visiting was right next door), if I had to do it again, I'd have taken the train from Schiphol and a cab from the station to the hotel (~20 euros).

Rooms were comfortable, they could be improved if they had a fridge. Like I said, I was on extended business and eating out/take-away all the time gets tiresome. So I would bike to the local Albert Heijn (grocery chain) across the river, pick up some food and bring it back. A fridge would have allowed me to keep some meat/cheese on hand to make sandwiches. (not to mention a few cold beers).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenosha
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

I usually stop here before catching my plane in Amsterdam. Good prices, clean room, quiet place but average breakfast.
The downside is that it seems there are not so many restaurants close by.
Overall great experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Had a great stay here when we were over the timewarp festival. Friendly staff, love the new holiday inn express modern decor, apart from the bathroom door abit strange to as its abit see through, not good for privacy if your sharing with a male friend! Breakfast great and bar area great with acesses to the internet which was very handy.

Room Tip: One thing i would say is allow your self enough time to get to airport using taxi as we hit traffic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Utrecht - Papendorp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Utrecht - Papendorp

Address: Van Deventerlaan 10, 3528 AE Utrecht, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > Utrecht Province > Utrecht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Utrecht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Utrecht - Papendorp 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Holiday Inn Express Utrecht – Papendorp is ideally located within the main business district of Utrecht. With direct access from highway A2 and A12 the hotel is easy to reach and parking spaces are available. Companies like CapGemini, Mercedes, Siemens, KPN and ATOS are within walking distance of the hotel. Visitors of Congress and Meeting Center Domus Medica will be delighted to experience that the hotel is located at less than 10 minutes’ walk. Also the Jaarbeurs (Congress Center of Utrecht) is in easy reach at only 10 minutes’ drive from the hotel.The soundproof, well-furnished and spacious rooms offer modern equipment like LCD TVs with satellite TV, free Wi-Fi, coffee/tea facilities and a walk in shower. On top of all these facilities, our guests are served a complimentary Continental breakfast. The hotel offers a modern decorated lobby and bar, where our guests feel at ease and can relax with friends and colleagues.With close proximity of the A2 and A12 you can easily travel to many main destinations in the Netherlands (Amsterdam, The Hague and of course Utrecht city center). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Utrecht - Papendorp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Utrecht - Papendorp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.