We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Utrecht - Papendorp

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Utrecht - Papendorp to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Utrecht - Papendorp
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Van Deventerlaan 10, 3528 AE Utrecht, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Utrecht
Rome, Lazio, Italy
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

very very good. best value for money.
free breakfast, abundant and good.
clean modern silent room.
very comfortable beds.
free parking.

lacks four bad rooms good for family travels.
far away from city center (but we had a car...).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    61
    16
    3
    1
See reviews for
14
51
3
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Lovely new Holiday Inn Express with modern decor, accessible to Utrecht by bus or car. We were traveling on foot, so relied on public transport mainly, which in the Netherlands is excellent. The taxi there was about 10 Euros which we took from Utrecht. A limited free shuttle bus service.

A small range of breakfast options in a self-service setting. All breakfast choices were well-stocked and breakfast tables very clean. Breakfast was included in my rate having booked in advance! This was very pleasing as several hotels I looked at did not include this!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I had to stay here for extended business, almost 4 weeks, and got to know the area very well. Utrecht is beautiful, more so than Amsterdam in my opinion. Staff is great, they have a good breakfast. No lunch or supper facilities but you can order take-away and they have a nice little bar for drinks. Best of all, rent a bike from the Hotel and cycle around. Lots of places to go and if you go into Utrecht, plan for a lot of fun. Nothing beats cycling in Holland in the city! Bike to the train station, take the train into Amsterdam for the day, it's a 20 minute ride.

Driving here, as I did, is a bit of a pain. My GPS had outdated maps so navigating the A2 was a bit problematic, but we managed. Turned out I didn't use the car much (the company I was visiting was right next door), if I had to do it again, I'd have taken the train from Schiphol and a cab from the station to the hotel (~20 euros).

Rooms were comfortable, they could be improved if they had a fridge. Like I said, I was on extended business and eating out/take-away all the time gets tiresome. So I would bike to the local Albert Heijn (grocery chain) across the river, pick up some food and bring it back. A fridge would have allowed me to keep some meat/cheese on hand to make sandwiches. (not to mention a few cold beers).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenosha
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

I usually stop here before catching my plane in Amsterdam. Good prices, clean room, quiet place but average breakfast.
The downside is that it seems there are not so many restaurants close by.
Overall great experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Had a great stay here when we were over the timewarp festival. Friendly staff, love the new holiday inn express modern decor, apart from the bathroom door abit strange to as its abit see through, not good for privacy if your sharing with a male friend! Breakfast great and bar area great with acesses to the internet which was very handy.

Room Tip: One thing i would say is allow your self enough time to get to airport using taxi as we hit traffic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here during first week of July. I found the hotel's location in Papendorp not to be a problem at all (I tend to do a bit of research beforehand via Google Street Maps, etc). Sure it's located outside the town (it's in the middle of a IT business park) but I found it to be very pleasant.

The quality of the hotel room for me, was very fine. It was spacious and everything worked. I had a bit of an issue with the shower drain on my last day only as it didn't drain water quickly enough and as a result, leaked onto the floor.

The breakfast i found satisfactory but a lot of the meat slices are in packets. This took a bit of getting used to but wasn't a problem overall.

What you have to remember is that this is a Holiday Inn Express and with regard to food, only serves breakfast. There is no restaurant per se on-site but one is located about a 5-10 min walk
away.

Transport links are fine. I like the free shuttle service they provide (it was a real help for me getting to Utrecht Central station in the mornings). In addition, the bus stops are located within a 2 min walk away.

I found the staff to be very helpful overall bearing in mind that I am from England and some of the terms I used they were unsure of (a fault that resides solely with me). Though we had quite a few laughs when I told them about ordering a pint of beer when they refer to it as large.

Overall I am very happy with my experience at HI Papendorp and if in Utrecht again, would be more than happy to book there again

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

I use these hotels quite a lot, this one is new and above average with all you would expect.(not a lot)
The location is a bit strange, it is on a business park and if you get there in the evening as I did it is dead. There is nothing there and as there is no food available at he hotel in the evening you have to get a take away or go out to a restaurant.
The breakfast is ok.
Typical of the chain.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Utrecht - Papendorp, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear David T,

We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. Nevertheless, we’re sorry for any inconvenience you experienced because we did not live up to your expectations. Though we would prefer you had a better experience, we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts, and hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Utrecht - Papendorp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Utrecht - Papendorp

Address: Van Deventerlaan 10, 3528 AE Utrecht, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > Utrecht Province > Utrecht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Utrecht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Utrecht - Papendorp 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Holiday Inn Express Utrecht – Papendorp is ideally located within the main business district of Utrecht. With direct access from highway A2 and A12 the hotel is easy to reach and parking spaces are available. Companies like CapGemini, Mercedes, Siemens, KPN and ATOS are within walking distance of the hotel. Visitors of Congress and Meeting Center Domus Medica will be delighted to experience that the hotel is located at less than 10 minutes’ walk. Also the Jaarbeurs (Congress Center of Utrecht) is in easy reach at only 10 minutes’ drive from the hotel.The soundproof, well-furnished and spacious rooms offer modern equipment like LCD TVs with satellite TV, free Wi-Fi, coffee/tea facilities and a walk in shower. On top of all these facilities, our guests are served a complimentary Continental breakfast. The hotel offers a modern decorated lobby and bar, where our guests feel at ease and can relax with friends and colleagues.With close proximity of the A2 and A12 you can easily travel to many main destinations in the Netherlands (Amsterdam, The Hague and of course Utrecht city center). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Utrecht - Papendorp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Utrecht - Papendorp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.