We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strange and not brilliantly thought out for children” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Dick Bruna House

Dick Bruna House
Agnietenstraat 2, Utrecht, The Netherlands
+31 (0)30 2362362
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 49 attractions in Utrecht
Type: Museums
Attraction Details
guernsey
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Strange and not brilliantly thought out for children”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Basic play area although all descriptions in Dutch. Upstairs a strange and basically weird attic. My 9 and 5 yr old couldn.t interpret the work there. Really weird and would if not for the rain and entertaining kids, wouldn't recommend.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    14
    9
    8
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Dissapointing and overpiced”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Nothing much to see here. Quite a long walk from the centre and overpriced at 11 euro's I wouldn't advise anyone but a real "Nijntje" fanatic to go here. Only 3 exposition rooms with a handful of original drawings and a playing room for the children.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Would be better with a 3 year old”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

An interesting experience, although a bit trippy. Would probably make a bit more sense if I borrowed a child.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Wake me when the little one is done”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

The review by Ed Sanders was spot on. There is not much to see ...lots of open space and likely best suited for super young kids that need a play area for 30 minutes or so.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uden
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

This was not what I expected. I expected to see a large collection of Nijntje/Miffy artwork in a nice setting but found that there is very little to see here. Half of the place is basically a children's playroom; nice for the little ones but not for those of us who come to admire Dick Bruna's work. There's a few bits and pieces in the place that have information on Bruna's work and Miffy/Nijntjes origin and popularity, but overall you can run through these in 10-15 minutes. The exhibition in the attic about the use of rabbits and fairy tales in art was not really what I came here for either. Some of the floors were closed for renovations, but this did not result in a cheaper ticket price (more about that later).

What is left are a couple of grumpy guards and overpriced merchandise.

Talking about price, the Dick Bruna House is basically an exhibition that is part of the Central Museum across the street. The ticket you buy covers both, even if you have no interest in the Central Museum you still have to pay a hefty 11 Euro to see the Dick Bruna House, which is way too much for what it is. We visited the hodgepodge of collections of the Central Museum (after all, we'd already paid for it) but found little of interest (unless you are a connoisseur of furniture design and classical paintings, which we are not).

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dick Bruna House also viewed

Utrecht, The Netherlands
 

Been to Dick Bruna House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dick Bruna House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Dick Bruna House to your Saves list