We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“for design and art lovers” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rietveld Schroder House

Rietveld Schroder House
Prins Hendriklaan 50, Utrecht, The Netherlands
0031 30 2362 310
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 84 things to do in Utrecht
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
45 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“for design and art lovers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Being an architecture student I can say I have been that amazed in my life only a very few times.
If you enjoy architecture and art definitely don't miss it.
You will admire the spirit of Rietveld and Schroder and realize how genius the design and the structure are given that the house was built in the begging of the 20th century.
It would be better to book before you visit as only guided tours are allowed in groups >=12 people in order to protect the building.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    33
    3
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wroclaw, Poland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Remember about reservation!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We were trying to book our visit 1 day before but it was to late :( so we couldn't come into the hose. But still this is very interesting place to see, build in 1924 ( it makes impression) it wasnt easy to find this place for us :( There are no signs in the area.!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haydon Bridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not my favourite visit in Utrecht”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

The information on the audio player is interesting and the house is unusual.
However, it was a good half an hour walk from the city and it would have been expensive if I didn't have a MuseumKaart.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht
Level Contributor
66 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“First-class experience of a revolutionary way of living”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

This place really shows the genius that Gerrit Rietveld was. He had a revolutionary view on how a living space should and could be. The nice thing is also that you can visit the rooms and experience it in person. Although the house was designed a century ago, the concept is still very modern.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Interesting visit!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

I visited the Rietveld Schroder house as part of my language course and it was an interesting visit. In our group we had a Dutch guide who took us through the two floors and described the features of the house and why it was designed the way it was.

Everything was created to maximise efficiency and space.Considering the time when it was built, it most have been very strange to see. Indeed an architectural masterpiece.

This is certainly worth a look for Utrecht visitors.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rietveld Schroder House also viewed

Utrecht, Utrecht Province
Utrecht, Utrecht Province
 
Utrecht, Utrecht Province
Utrecht, Utrecht Province
 

Been to Rietveld Schroder House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rietveld Schroder House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.