We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was closed...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Slot Zuylen

Slot Zuylen
Tournooiveld 1, Oud-Zuilen, 3611 AS Utrecht, The Netherlands
030 2440255
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 49 Attractions in Utrecht
Type: Castles
Attraction Details
Clearwater, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“It was closed...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

It was closed when I arrived so unfortunately I couldn't take a tour, however I did walk the grounds and it was beautiful!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    15
    5
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Estepona, Spain
Top Contributor
297 reviews 297 reviews
99 attraction reviews
Reviews in 166 cities Reviews in 166 cities
202 helpful votes 202 helpful votes
“Ancient memories”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Slot Zuylen is well preserved and maintained. Strolling through the many nicely decorated rooms and romantic venues, you feel how live has been in this era. The garden is worth a walk, even as the weather doen't permit it. We had the luck to watch a falconer.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Not that special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We passed here on our way to the lakes (direction of Amsterdam) and though I always appreciate a nice castle, I think I would probably not have bothered as a single destination. I appreciated to read up on the history, and the castle looks very elegant from the outside, but other then a quick look inside and a nice walk around the beautifull garden, I do not think it was worth it. Special warning; do not drink the coffee in the cafe section. You might not live to tell. So all in all: pass by if you have a chance but do not bother to make this a special destination. Do as the locals (we did not), rent a bicycle to go there. Just as the famous poem of Konstantinos Kavafis says (Ithaka): the journey is more important then the destination :-)

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
utrecht
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Feel like a knight or a princess”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

I only saw it from the outside. it's quite a nice athmospere and you can take beautiful pictures. It is located on on my run route

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Wyoming
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Slot Zuylen”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We didn't tour this castle as it had just closed but it had the traditional mote and bridge. The castle was more traditionally square in shape. We plan to return and see the inside which was occupied by the first woman feminist of the Netherlands. She wrote many letters which are now on display in resin for visitors to follow along her paths and walkways.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Slot Zuylen also viewed

Utrecht, Utrecht Province
Utrecht, Utrecht Province
 

Been to Slot Zuylen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Slot Zuylen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.