We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel on a quiet street” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Malie Hotel Utrecht - Hampshire Classic

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Malie Hotel Utrecht - Hampshire Classic to your Saves list
Malie Hotel Utrecht - Hampshire Classic
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Maliestraat 2, 3511 SL Utrecht, The Netherlands (Formerly Sandton Malie Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Utrecht
GreenLeadersSilver level
South Florida
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Nice hotel on a quiet street”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

We rxplored Utrecht from here. It was a nice location and had some nice restaurants in the area. The staff very helpful. They have bicycles for rent if you are willing to brave the bike lanes...we decided that walking was more our speed.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SharonvanderBurgh, Manager at Malie Hotel Utrecht - Hampshire Classic, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Cat,

Thank you kindly for your nice review. It's always good to hear our guest appriciate our hotel and the service we offer. We hope to see you again in the future!

Kind regards,

Sharon van der Burgh
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    57
    39
    11
    5
See reviews for
19
57
13
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Georgetown, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This hotel was fantastic. Situation about a 20 minute walk from the central train station, it was close to shopping, restaurants and a landrymat. Facilities were great, we stayed in the family room which was really two adjoining rooms. The rooms were spacious and comfortable. Staff was very friendly and all spoke English. We were able to rent bikes at the hotel for a day trip - very convienent.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SharonvanderBurgh, Manager at Malie Hotel Utrecht - Hampshire Classic, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear Brett,

Thank you so much for your amazing review. We highly appreciate your enthusiastic words and we are very happy to read you've enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We certainly hope to welcome you again to the Malie Hotel.

Kind regards,

Sharon van der Burgh
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Our bicycling tour company booked us here for the end of our trip. Reception was friendly. I had emailed beforehand about getting a room with a balcony, they informed me at check-in that it would be an additional 20 euros which I had read was worth it and indeed it was...the room was spacious with a private balcony (room 234) with a view of the garden. The hotel is situated on a side street which makes it quiet and peaceful, but not any opportunity for a "view" so to speak, which was actually quite fine by us. The hotel is about a 15 minute walk from the town center and about a 30 minute walk to the train station. Breakfast (which was included for us) was good- various breads/croissants, yogurt, granola, scrambled eggs, fruit, coffee, juice with the option to eat outside.
Wifi was free and reliable.
Bikes were available to rent- we didn't rent them though since we had bikes from our rental company still to use.
I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SharonvanderBurgh, Manager at Malie Hotel Utrecht - Hampshire Classic, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Thank you so much for your 5-star review! We highly appreciate this and we are very glad to hear all your good words regarding our breakfast, our new wifi network and the location, the bike rent and our service. We do look forward to see you again in the future, you are More Than Welcome!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

I haven't stayed anywhere else here, but the old-world charm met my expectations both on the outside and inside. It's comfortable, and well equipped for business or pleasure as there is a bike rental stand right outside the main lobby. You are also not a far walk to Utrecht's main canal, among other shopping and dining amenities. Good breakfast too, I would stay here again!

Room Tip: My room overlooked some gardens, so I recommend facing that way - but I can't remember which dir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SharonvanderBurgh, Manager at Malie Hotel Utrecht - Hampshire Classic, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear John,

Thank you kindly for your good review. We are very happy to read you've enjoyed your stay to our charming hotel. We certainly hope to see you again when you're visiting Utrecht!

Kindest regards,

Sharon van der Burgh
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht Province, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

I spent 4 nights at this hotel with my partner in April 2014. This hotel is located in one of the best neighborhoods of Utrecht (Wittevrouwen). The building is beautiful. The hotel is located in a tranquil street in beautiful surroundings. The hotel is unique; it is not a modern standardized hotel, but has its own character, which I liked. The staff are very helpful and friendly. There is a bar where you can buy beer and other alcoholic drinks. The WiFi is free and works well (good connection and good speed). Our room had an excellent balcony with a view of the Dom Tower. The balcony was large enough that you could sit comfortably outside enjoying the quiet neighborhood. The bathroom in our room was clean and modern. The room itself needs to be renovated. There were two stained and shredded leather couches in which I refused to sit. The rest of the furniture was old but in good condition. The two beds had very small and soft mattresses. Despite this I slept well. Although the room was clean, the carpet was not vacuum cleaned properly (not everywhere at least) and the furniture surfaces were dusty. There was a Nespresso machine available and two complimentary coffee capsules.

Room Tip: My room was on the first floor toward the back (125). I had an excellent balcony where we could sit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SharonvanderBurgh, Manager at Malie Hotel Utrecht - Hampshire Classic, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear João,

Thank you kindly for your lovely review. We are very happy to read you appreciate the location and the uniqueness of the hotel.

We have renovated several rooms already. Judging by your story, I assume you've stayed on the first floor. These rooms are not renovated yet. The rooms on the second floor are renovated in 2012. I am very pleased to be able to tell the remaining rooms will be renovated this year.

We hope to see you again!

Kind regards,

Sharon van der Burgh
Assistent Hotel Manager
Malie Hotel Utrecht - Hampshire Classic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights. Very nice value for money, kind staff that provided all useful information. Cheap bikes! Coffee offered for free in room.Also great cleaning and reception service. I totally recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SharonvanderBurgh, Manager at Malie Hotel Utrecht - Hampshire Classic, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Popi, <br>
Thank you very much for your lovely review. We are very pleased to read your stay was perfect. It is always good to see our hard work and passion for hospitality is appreciated. We hope you've enjoyed Utrecht as well and we look forward to welcome you again. <br>
Kind regards, <br>
Sharon van der Burgh<br>
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannover, Germany
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Quality dropping
Describe the service you experienced: poor, they did not have info relative to my booking, or try toconvince me I had breakast when I did not.
Tell us how you liked the

The service experienced was poor. Recepcionists did not have right info relative to my booking. Even though I inquired about a certain room which it turn to have terrase, I never confirmed I wanted it. Later they tried to make me paid the additional fee for having terrase. Surpisingly, I was asked to pay a breakfast I never booked and I never had.
The room was ok.
Although not central, the location was fine.
Disappointing the lack of parking space...., or availale at crazy prices (23€/day). This info should be available when booking hotel, it might visitors to think twice wheher going or not.
16€ per breakfast sounds a bit expensive.

Room Tip: Info about what it was booked
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampshire Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SharonvanderBurgh, Manager at Malie Hotel Utrecht - Hampshire Classic, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear sir,
<br>
although we thought the information on our website and the other websites that mentioning us is accurate, we will seek in to it directly. When we send confirmations all necessary details are mentioned regarding parking and public transport, we will verify this information as well. Thank you kindly for informing us so we can make sure all the given information is clear to all our appreciated guests. Again, thank you for helping us to make sure we provide the best information and service we can,
<br>
Kind regards, <br>
Sharon van der Burgh <br>
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Malie Hotel Utrecht - Hampshire Classic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malie Hotel Utrecht - Hampshire Classic

Address: Maliestraat 2, 3511 SL Utrecht, The Netherlands (Formerly Sandton Malie Hotel)
Location: The Netherlands > Utrecht Province > Utrecht
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Utrecht
#6 Luxury Hotel in Utrecht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Malie Hotel Utrecht - Hampshire Classic 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charming four star hotel, appreciated for its excellent service, is beautifully situated at the Maliestraat, in the green district 'Buiten Wittevrouwen'. It's a 15 minute walk to downtown. From the bus stop Oorspronkpark you're quickly in the city center, the Central Station, the Uithof or at the Jaarbeurs. It is also possible to rent a bike at the reception. The surrounding area offers excellent running routes. The interior of the Malie Hotel Utrecht - Hampshire Classic reflects the authentic look and atmosphere of the 19th century building. All rooms have air-conditioning, a flat screen TV and, of course, free access to the WiFi. The lovely Charme rooms, Executive rooms and the Junior Suite are recently refurbished to provide comfortable rooms with double beds. The Cosy Classic, Classic Deluxe and Classic Superior rooms have two twin beds, equipped with shower or bath / shower and are equipped with all comforts needed. Our lounge has a warm, relaxing atmosphere where you can relax in the large armchairs and enjoy a drink or snack. In the morning the day is starting with a wonderful breakfast, fresh coffee in the breakfast room overlooking the idyllic city garden. The hotel proudly announced the achieving of the sustainability certification Green Key Gold. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Malie Hotel Utrecht - Hampshire Classic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malie Hotel Utrecht

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Malie Hotel Utrecht - Hampshire Classic, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.