We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, bit far from the center” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mitland

Save Saved
You added Hotel Mitland to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Mitland
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Arienslaan 1, 3573 Utrecht, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Utrecht
GreenLeadersBronze level
Helsinki, Finland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, bit far from the center”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Hotel Mitland is located in the nice & quite neighborhood next to the large park/forest, on bank of the river. Hotel consist of several buildings. Rooms (with a river view) were a bit wornout but still do they job nicely.

Breakfast buffet was great and the bar was ok (at least the beer was cold).

Location is aprox. 5 kms from the center, so if you dont have your own car you need to take a taxi (cost approx 10€) or take a bus. Bus stop is 1 km from the hotel so be prepared if carrying heavy luggage.

Room Tip: There are sheeps on the other side of the river, and they may be bit noisy from 5AM. Earplugs might...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    109
    20
    9
    3
See reviews for
35
59
16
102
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

I stayed in a "Superior" room which had the usual accoutrements and was of a decent size. It was clean and fairly comfortable, though a fair way short of what you might expect from the 4 star rating. I'd call it decent 3 star accommodation. Breakfast and dinner were more than acceptable and not especially overpriced by hotel standards - baring in mind that I've yet to meet a hotel that doesn't overprice their restaurant fare.

The cost of accommodation was very reasonable through an online booking agent - substantially less than I usually pay for a more centrally located Utrecht hotel. This may have been a particularly good deal though as I've seen much higher prices for this hotel on other websites, so it might pay to shop around if you're planning on booking a stay here.

The hotel is equipped with a small gym and pool - which I'd originally planned to use but didn't get around to in the end so I can't comment on their quality.

The area around the hotel is pleasant - parkland and lakes - though if you want anything else, such as shops, bars or restaurants you're definitely in the wrong place.

I wouldn't recommend it to a tourist visiting Utrecht, as it's not ideally located for exploring the town, but I had a pleasant stay and I won't hesitate to book here again if I'm working in the neighborhood.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

This is an excellent place to meet for a business lunch. The hotel is situated in a quiet area surrounded with trees green and a small river. While dining you can enjoy the peace of the river. There is a nice choice of light and lunches and fresh salads. The restaurant and reception personal are very friendly and helpful.
As I have not seen the rooms I cannot make any statement. It seems a very good place for conferences.

Room Tip: Choose some of there lunch salads.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Based on the location on the outskirts of town and on the odd layout/design of the hotel, I was a little apprehensive about this choice but it turned out to be a pretty good one. I had to go into the university everyday for an academic conference and it proved to be pretty easy to walk to the bus stop and ride the bus for 5-10 minutes into town. It did cost close to $4 each way though, which over five days added up. The hotel itself was very modern, very clean, and very professional. And the service was lightning fast. When I had a problem with the safe, the serviceman was at my door within 2 minutes. The room was huge as was the bathroom. In fact the bathroom was bigger than my own. Breakfast was expensive at about $20, but it was very good. My only complaint is that the minibar sent out periodic 15-second buzzes that woke me up on a number of occasions, despite the fact that it's supposed to shut down overnight, I should say also that they started cleaning the rooms awfully early (by about 8); I don't know what that was all about but it was a little annoying.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMitlandUtrecht, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Mitland, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear Michael,

Thank you for sharing your experiences about your stay at our hotel. How nice to read that we have exceeded your prior expectations. Regarding your remarks about the minibar we are happy to inform you that all our minibars are replaced for quieter and more eco-friendly ones. The early cleaning will be discussed with our housekeeping to keep the nuisance to a minimum in the early hours. Thanks again for your review which gives us the opportunity to improve our services. We hope to welcome you again in the nearby future.

With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

this was our second time.
the hotel is situated in a very quiet area.
we walked to the centre (it is ca. 20 min walking).
the rooms are very clean and big enough.
the ducks are so cute!!!!

the breakfast very divers!

staff is friendly!

so.....we are going back to this hotel!!
really a recomendation!!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMitlandUtrecht, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Mitland, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear Kriden,

Thank you for your kind review regarding your stay at our hotel. We are very pleased that you recommend us and that you loved our location. We hope to welcome you again soon.

With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

The hotel is a little bit dated, feels a little bit soviet style with sugar on top. The gym was a disappointment and also the room, this is a place for a corporate event where you lodge 50+ people who don't stay much in hotels. On the plus side, it's clean and staff is friendly but the room standard and is too low.

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We've stayed in this pleasant hotel on several occasions. We find it convenient when bringing the car as we can navigate easily and park, yet it is set in excellent surroundings for jogging, cycling etc and easy to bus into the centre of the city. It is clean and comfortable with a lot of business clients and the staff have a very good attitude.

Room Tip: check out on the website as different people will have different needs at different prices
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Mitland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mitland

Address: Arienslaan 1, 3573 Utrecht, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Utrecht Province > Utrecht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Utrecht
#2 Family Hotel in Utrecht
#2 Green Hotel in Utrecht
#3 Romantic Hotel in Utrecht
#3 Business Hotel in Utrecht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mitland 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the outskirts of Utrecht near the city centre offers Hotel Mitland a wonderful view of the old De Bilt fortress. Enjoy our quiet location in a speldid park, our luxuriously furnished hotel rooms and our restaurant, swimming pool, sauna, fitness and bowlingcentre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsNL, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Mitland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mitland Hotel Utrecht

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mitland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;